We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for groups traveling on a budget”
Review of Buchan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Buchan Hotel
Ranked #36 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great choice for groups traveling on a budget”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My friends and I stayed here our first night after landing in Vancouver and were very happy with our choice. If you're looking for a Holiday Inn, this hotel isn't for you. But if you're looking for a comfortable place to sleep in a quiet, safe, and green area of the city, The Buchan is a wonderful choice. Though there is no air conditioning, the room never felt musty or hot because of Vancouver's ocean-regulated climate. The hotel is located very close to Robson Street (a tourist and shopper's hotspot) as well as Stanley Park. This means that downtown fun as well as quiet walks in the woods were always only minutes away by foot.

The only major nuisance was having to share the facilities with the rooms around us. While rooms with private facilities are available at an extra charge, this is not the rate that the hotel advertises on most websites which was a little misleading. Still, when we called to make the reservation the hotel staff was up front with us about this.

A plethora of restaurants are located nearby, and city maps and other useful tourist info are available for free from the front desk. The hotel was also very nice as to allow my friends and I to stay being that we were all only 18 (most hotels in BC require 19+), and let us check our bags for the day after checkout. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel to small groups looking to travel on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank omgitsaliv55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    729
    224
    52
    26
See reviews for
270
688
320
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Not only was this hotel filthy, it was ridiculously over-priced. It had almost no lighting (there were 2 tiny old dingy lamps that were not plugged - as there were no plugs), there were no outlets to plug in cell phones or any small electrics, the beds were disgusting, the bathroom full of mold, the water lukewarm. I have traveled extensively, stayed in 5-stars and youth hostels and this was by far the worst. I was embarrassed of my husband and my sister and her husband that I talked them out of a special rate at the Westin (which would have been only $50 more) to stay at this flea bag. It was absolutely awful. The quoted price of $139/night did not reflect a historical building tax that surprised us at the end of our stay. On the positive side, the one-man staff was sweet and the hotel was very conveniently located. But I must say in Vancouver that's not so hard to do.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MariaGalifianakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We landed in Vancouver unknowingly on one of the busiest weekends possible. Festival of lights, gay pride, etc... small cities formed around this area. Perfect location- limited parking, no A/C but most of the time isn't an issue. Desk staff was wonderful, we have stayed here for years and found it to be a great jump off spot. Splurge on your own john in the room if available. Getting too old and scary looking at night for wandering down a hallway...

Room Tip: Try to get one with a bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The staff at this hotel was as helpful as one could ever expect. THis is an older small hotel tha operates on the European style. We had two very comfortable rooms and a shared bath. There is no elevator nor A/C, and it was a little warm when we stayed. If you do not mind the shared bath and really no amentites then this is a bargain in Vancouver. It is near Stanley Park but quiet a distance to Downtown. You can probably count on $10 to park overnight.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GENEANDSHERRY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, Oregon
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I can only add my comments to those of other reviewers. You come here because of the price and the location, not for the amenities. Even with sharing a bathroom, I felt I received good value at this hotel. It is so convenient to many restaurants, including the delicious Adesso next door, and an easy ride from the cruise line docks. The desk help was friendly and made sure my cab arrived promptly the next morning. Say what you will, but budget hotels are a necessity for some of us travelers, and you can do a lot worse that The Buchan Hotel.

Room Tip: Just make sure a shared bathroom is acceptable to you, if you are on certain floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelmert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We have stayed at the Buchan before and had a great room, great stay. On the night of the 28th of July our stay was fine but our room was aweful and because of this we may never stay at the Buchan again. We had Room 3. The ceiling is is pealing the carpet was dirty,and the bathroom has had a patchwork renovation where the new fixtures didn't fit and the misfit was not covered up. Also look at the ceiling as it is apparant that mold was not thoroughly washed off. I think it is a shame as this is a lovely hotel in a great location. I was quite disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shark58SSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Buchan was just as described by earlier reviews on TripAdvisor. The floors are threadbare or ravelling, the rooms are tired and dreary, the shared hall bathrooms are very archaic, but functional, no elevator. The location and price are the saving grace of the hotel. More of a hostel, as many of the rooms share the bathrooms on the lower floors. There were 4 of us who shared the room pictured with the shower-only bathroom and it worked fine. No AC, as is customary for Vancouver, but it didn't seem to draw much of a breeze so August there was muggy, even for Texans. The front desk directed us to The XSpot on Denham for breakfast - perfect choice! The staff at the front desk were helpful and efficient. There isn't an icemaker on site. The towels are 4-star - an unadvertised perk. Denman is 2-3 blocks south and just another 4-5 blocks down it to Stanley Park! Haro street is quiet, tree-lined and beautiful. The Adesso restaurant next door to Buchan has a lively patio, which can interfere with sleep before 10:00 pm (remember, no AC, so the windows are open). The parlor was a treat - it kept us from being couped up in the tiny room. There was room to stretch, read and connect to internet on our laptops in there each evening. Although I don't know if I would stay there again, I would recommend it keeping in mind the shortcomings I've noted. It's not a boutique hotel, it's closer to a hostel...but who's in their room while visiting Vancouver?! There's so much to DO!

Room Tip: Room #3. Shower only but great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitzi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 90 in Vancouver
740 reviews
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#15 of 90 in Vancouver
1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#58 of 90 in Vancouver
839 reviews
Robson Street
Barclay Hotel
Barclay Hotel
#66 of 90 in Vancouver
477 reviews
West End
Sylvia Hotel
Sylvia Hotel
#34 of 90 in Vancouver
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buchan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buchan Hotel

Property: Buchan Hotel
Address: Buchan Hotel 1906 Haro St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1H7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Buchan Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buchan Hotel is an economically priced 3 story walk up hotel ideal for travelers seeking clean, quiet, and comfortable accomodation. The Buchan hotel is located in a residential area of Vancouver's downtown West End, one block from Stanley Park, and three blocks from English Bay Beach. The Buchan hotel is 100% non smoking to ensure your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Buchan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing