We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet little hotel... needs a little freshening.”
Review of Buchan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Buchan Hotel
Ranked #35 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
B.C.
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Sweet little hotel... needs a little freshening.”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

My mother and I just stayed in this hotel for the second time. We went back because we remembered that it was very inexpensive and kind of cute. It IS pretty cute, but not really that inexpensive anymore. But, for a Vancouver hotel in the middle of summer, it's probably one of the lowest priced places you'll find. And it's in a GREAT part of the city.
Firstly, if you are driving, parking will be an issue. If you are very lucky you can find a spot on the street, but it's a residential neighbourhood, so... pretty scarce. Very pretty tree lined street with interesting older apartment buildings. One block off Denman, which is a hopping place. Countless restaurants, shops, bars... It's pretty great. Also you are just a few blocks away from the beach at English Bay. Stanley Park is close enough to walk to, and the buses run to downtown frequently.
As for the room. Hmmm. I really wanted to love this hotel and give it a thumbs up all the way, but in all honesty, I just can't. The front desk staff was excellent and very accomodating. We were given a room on the main floor as there is no elevator and my mother has trouble with stairs. The room was small, somewhat tired, and frankly... a bit depressing. The bathroom was laughingly tiny and cramped, but the shower had great water pressure and everything was clean. This hotel is very old, probably 1930s? so consider that when booking. Lots of character, not too modern or bright. Not all of the rooms have their own bathroom, so be sure to ask if you don't want to share the toilet down the hall.
One very nice feature of this hotel is their lovely sitting room out front. Very comfortable and cozy with a fireplace, free coffee and tea, lots of newspapers, books, and magazines to read and a lovely big window looking out onto the street. I enjoyed that.
Overall, it's a fine place to stay for a night or two, especially if you want to be in the West End of Vancouver. It's the same vintage as the famous Sylvia Hotel down the street, but not quite as pricey. Just be prepared to keep everything in perspective when you get there. And stay out as much as possible.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with stairs, ask for a main floor room. Also, the shared bathroom can be a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsnewtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    764
    238
    57
    27
See reviews for
284
735
338
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in early July this year and found the staff to be friendly and helpful, the location to be ideal for Stanley Park, Coal Harbour and Canada Place BUT ... our bedroom was decoration and furnishings were exhausted, the public areas were shabby, there was no lift to our second floor room and a party of school children were allowed to run riot in the corridors until 11 o'clock at night. A complete rerfurbishment of the bedrooms and public areas is urgently required.

Room Tip: Not aware that there 'good' rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This hotel is located right next to Stanley Park and English Bay, is surrounded by dozens of restaurants, bars and stores. It is also within walking or transit distance of all the downtown attractions. The rooms are small but comfortable, with a sink in the room and shared toilets and showers. The hotel is clean but is starting to show its age with worn rugs, and chipped porcelain in the bathroom. I had read in previous reviews that it could be a bit noisy, so I booked a room on the third floor with the logic being that since the hotel has no elevator it would be quieter since less people would want to stay on that floor. To my satisfaction I found it fairly quiet, with only the occasional sound of a door opening or closing in the hallway. There is a small restaurant in the hotel, it looked nice but I did not get a chance to eat there. I rented one of the hotels four reserved parking spots in an alley behind the hotel at 10 dollars a day. Unfortunately there is no signage in the spots saying "no parking" or "Hotel only" so when I came back late one night I found someone had parked in my spot. Luckily they left when the front deck clerk came out to get their license plate to call a tow truck. The staff was helpful and was able to recommend local restaurants and inform me of the local parking regulations, and transit schedules. The only negative comment I would have to say about the staff is that when I came back to the hotel during a shift change the oncoming clerk was rude to the off going clerk when she was trying to give him a turn over report, cutting her off in midsentence. It was not the level of professionalism one would except to be displayed in general, but especially in front of a guest. The WIFI service at the hotel was advertised at $2 a day but I did not have a chance to use it. There is a nice little lounge on the first floor and the old photos of the area were a nice touch. At $75 a day this hotel is perfect for those travelling on a budget that plan to spend most of their time seeing the sites and only want somewhere to sleep and leave their bags. If you need more amenities in hotel I would recommend somewhere else.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor, in the middle are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank calgaryglobetrotter8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I spent 3 nights at Buchan Hotel in Vancouver. The location is good, close to Stanley park and english bay, and about 20 blocks to downton. If you like walking is perfect but you have bus stop very close too. The hotel was ok, clean, quiet. People in the reception is ok, but not very kind. The bathrooms are shared, though are clean, they are old, the bath with paint in bad condition, it is not a hotel to be inside!!but is ok for sleeping a short time while you enjoy vancouver city.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solemol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

I stayed here in a room with a private bathroom, the location is really very excellent. So close to Stanley Park, near Denman St where you will find a lot of fabulous restaurants to choose from, everything you need within walking distance. Its in a residential area, so its quite lovely and quiet and you get a feel of the 'local' Vancouver. It's on the edge of Downtown Vancouver, so if you're looking to spend more time in downtown, then perhaps this isn't the place for you.
The staff were very helpful and accommodating, and the restaurant next door is just SUPERB!
The only downside to this place, is that the hotel is a little worn out, the private bathroom fairly mouldy, tired and quite small, but it is clean!
If you are looking for a fairly budget hotel, near the park this is perfect. I really enjoyed the stay here, especially the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

If you are single and on a budget then this hotel may feel be fine as it has a good position and the shared bathroom rooms are some of the cheaper places to stay around central Vancouver. We stayed in a private bathroom room which was seedy and horribly expensive compared to what else is available. We payed only $20 more for our room at Barclay House just down the road and no two experiences could have been further apart. I strongly urge you to check out other options if you are beyond your mid twenties. The bathroom was mouldy and dank, and the furniture in the room basic and very tired. The hotel needs a revamp. It's redeeming qualities are the staff who were willing and helpful and its position close to Stanley Park and downtown Vancouver as well as the proximity of a great variety of restaurants. Public transport is close and efficient. The neighbourhood is safe and has a quiet leafy suburban feel. Note that breakfast is NOT included and cancellation policies are heavy handed and they take a pre-authorisation on your credit card as you check in so that you cannot back out of you find it not to your liking.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I think that you get what you pay for here. The rooms are basic and in need of renovation but they are very reasonably priced ,and are clean with plenty of hot water and soft towels.The common room/lounge is very nice and has lots of helpful literature on Vancouver and free tea and coffee. We found the front desk staff to be helpful and friendly. There are no phones in the rooms so a wake up call is a knock on the door which works just as well.
The area that the Buchan is in is lovely being close to Stanley park,a wide variety of restaurants and interesting shopping too. It is also handy for public transport. English Bay is a short walk away.
It is a budget hotel but is perfectly adequate for a short stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teddy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#55 of 92 in Vancouver
402 reviews
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#18 of 92 in Vancouver
1,899 reviews
Gastown
Patricia Hotel
Patricia Hotel
#75 of 92 in Vancouver
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Barclay Hotel
Barclay Hotel
#67 of 92 in Vancouver
492 reviews
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#38 of 92 in Vancouver
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buchan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buchan Hotel

Property: Buchan Hotel
Address: Buchan Hotel 1906 Haro St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1H7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Buchan Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buchan Hotel is an economically priced 3 story walk up hotel ideal for travelers seeking clean, quiet, and comfortable accomodation. The Buchan hotel is located in a residential area of Vancouver's downtown West End, one block from Stanley Park, and three blocks from English Bay Beach. The Buchan hotel is 100% non smoking to ensure your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Buchan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing