We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of insights into the people and history of Vancouver”

Museum of Vancouver
Book In Advance
More Info
$27.52*
and up
Independent Bike Tour of Vancouver
Ranked #61 of 352 things to do in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Located just 10 minutes from downtown Vancouver and Granville Island, the Museum of Vancouver shares the scenic Vanier Park with the H.R. MacMillan Space Centre, Vancouver Maritime Museum, and Bard on the Beach (summer Shakespeare festival). We want to deepen your understanding of Vancouver through stories, objects and shared experiences. The museum's programs, exhibitions, and collections bring people together and inspire conversation about the future. Check our website for feature exhibitions and event listings.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lots of insights into the people and history of Vancouver”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This museum isn't huge but it is full of interesting information about Vancouver's development and history. When I visited there were also exhibitions on sex and sexuality in Vancouver, local street photography and neon signs. The staff are friendly, helpful and enthusiastic.Spend two hours here and you will gain a new perspective on the city.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristopherDillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    85
    43
    13
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 attraction reviews
“Nice”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had a few days in Vancouver and figured we do something different. Very fascinating history. We walked around the park around that area and Granville Island is very near.
The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marsh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
261 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Educational Museum but not Tourist City Central”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We attended July 12,2013 after our Vancouver City Harbour Vessel Tour. We did find this museum on our tourist map but was a little difficult to find and took us approx. 30minurtes through many streets, over a water bridge to a point of land near the St. Roche Maritime Tourist Attraction. I wish as others have said on reviews, sort of hidden away and not in down town area where the usual tour vessels park or in Gas Town area where so many tourist seem to walk. You can not walk this distance and need taxi, street cars ect. to get here. The cost for adult admission is 12.00. We visited this museum 4 years ago and just felt that we wanted to see more exhibits and learn more new things of this city and area and history. We sure agree this Museum is geared for adults and not young children. It has a nice view of the city, English Bay and outer entrance harbour where large freighters are moored. While going through the different room with very high ceilings one seems to get lost and wander if you missed some part (which then you go through twice). We did find the same items as years before and would like more history films to sit and watch, more old to up date photo's displayed on screens and some one to be available for asking any questions as we saw no one in 2 hrs. seeing how we were enjoying the tour. There is definitely not enough sitting available for seniors or handy capped or people with pain full backs. During our stay we saw only 3 other adults going through. There seems a lot of vacant rooms with few items for all these years of history in the city area. The exhibits were put together alright but a person must be able to read all English words and be tall enough to stand and read the small printing of most photo's. The museum is the usual quiet place and I would suggest music, folk lore, street car or industry noise to feel the history. I did try the log mill but nothing moved and so did a other gentleman. We are well world travelers and have attend many country museums. I feel a museum tour guide dress up in a older history uniform or just some one to answer questions would be a asset. Because of no obvious changes we will be attending again in years ahead. Hot Sand-7.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lastingmemory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very educational”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Tons to see and very educational and cheap to get in. The museum is also located very close to the beach and parks. After you visit you can go to the beach

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stacey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Summer 2013 exhibits were great!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

While the permanent exhibits were very educational in a more traditional museum way, the Neon, Foncie's Fotos, and Sex Talk in the City exhibits were great! The exhibits were definitely more oriented towards an older audience that would appreciate Vancouver's history. There were activities for younger kids, but most of the material there seemed to be intended for a older audience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Vancouver also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Museum of Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing