We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place for Christmas Lights”

VanDusen Botanical Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
$122.26*
and up
Private Tour: Gardens of Vancouver
Ranked #8 of 349 things to do in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This beautiful garden has 22 hectares of plants and trees.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The place for Christmas Lights”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Awesome is the only way to describe this place for Christmas. Dress up warm as it's all outdoors. The thousands of lights with music makes the place so romantic. Little things like roasted chestnuts make the evening perfect, Gives a warm Christmas feeling even in the cold weather a must see if in Vancouver during Christmas. Parking can be a chore so get there early

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank chezk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    948
    346
    70
    10
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Light Show Festival”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This event is so amazing and should not be missed. So many people have told me to go and I finally went just a few days before the closing date. The music and the corresponding light show is absolutely delightful. You can walk through the gardens and take several paths to see how millions of lights adorn the trees and shrubs. Many of the pathways are blocked, so you don't walk through the entire garden.
This venue is great for the whole family.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vikimor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Visited to see the xmas lights - highlight of the season”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We visited with friends who suggested we go. It was great. Who-ever did all the work was really dedicated and creative.

Hot chocolate was a bit expensive.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ComingFromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Dazzling Christmas Display”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were in Vancouver over Christmas and took in the VanDusen Christmas lights. It was a beautiful evening just after several days of miserable traffic snarling snow - so we were amongst hundreds who headed out to VanDusen that evening. Thankfully we had purchased tickets in advance so were able to head to the 'shorter' line. We were elbow to elbow with people and strollers - but everyone was in great spirits and it was a fun evening. The lights are spectacular, and it was a delight to move along the many pathways to enjoy each section. I thought the masses of drink bottle tulips were particularly clever. It was definitely a family friendly venue with mini donuts, popcorn, and hot chocolate for sale, and the opportunity for photos with Santa. The staff were very jovial and kept things moving along nicely. Magical evening - Bravo!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank diascott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“VanDusen Christmas Light Event”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The garden was beautifully decorated! The entry cost was $15. It was kinda expensive but worth it as it is one of the best Christmas light garden we've ever seen.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed VanDusen Botanical Garden also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to VanDusen Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing