We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money, good service, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #45 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed May 12, 2010

I stayed in this hotel during a conference that took place in the Sheraton across the road in May 2010. Rooms were as good as in the Sharaton, but much better valued. All rooms are large and comfortable and most have a small kitchen. The service at the front desk and the concierge was excellent and all the people I dealt with were very friendly. Wifi is free in the lobby, but charged 9 dollars per day in the rooms. If you happen to stay in the rooms facing Granville Island/Pacific Ocean try catching the signal of the Burrard Inn across the road (which is free). I stayed at the 24th floor and still could catch this signal when keeping my laptop close to the window. In sum, I highly recommend the Century Plaza, for business and family alike!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCL69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,865)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,495 - 3,501 of 3,866 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2010

The Century Hotel (lets leave out the spa for now) is a really well advertised trick. Though it is sufficient for a short stay and looks good in pictures, it might as well be a Best Western (did it use to be a Best Western?). The lobby will trick you into thinking you are in a boutique hotel but once you get to your room it is a different story. The rooms are greasy and the carpet is mossy. The beds seem just a little dirty (I'm sure, like once reviewer said, that bed bugs must be plentiful). The word "Spa" is tacked on loosely at the end. Go across the street to the Sheraton Wall Center spa if you want to relax. But if you're on a budget the Century Hotel will come up in your search as a top pick. Just expect a Best Western, not a Sheraton.

Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
Thank speksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2010

My wife booked the room for $95/night. Her meeting was across the street at a hotel that was $185/night. I thought the Century was a bargain. The rooms were very nice and comfortabe. I think the real key to enjoying the hotel is the Concierge, Abdul. He steered us to several spots for lunch, etc that made our trip more enjoyable.
One dinner place to try is Stephos (sp?) a Greek restaurant on Davie St. Davie Street is a little avante garde or maybe hip but don't miss checking it out. There was a line of about 20 people out the door waiting to get in and in my book that means a great place to eat. It was! I asked a lady in line why there were so many people lined up and she said, "great food and it is cheap." She was right. It was very reasonable and excellent. It is sort of a family run type of place and not fancy but it has great food. I tried the Mousaka and it was fabulous!
Another must visit place is Artegiano's Cafe. This place has the best coffee drinks I have ever had, bar none! I won't go into great detail here but you simply have to try this place if you like coffee. As my wife said, "I don't really like coffee and I thought it was great!"
Both places are a short walk from the Century. Say hi to Abdul and enjoy your stay at the Century!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clear4Takeoff99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2010

The 'Century Plaza' in downtown Vancouver has seen better days, although located in a most central location, within walk distance to the town center and the more 'cool' areas, over all i can say that it is not in a good shape, and don't let the nice renovated and modern lobby trick you, the rooms are in desperate need of massive renovation, and carpet / furniture change, all are old well used and beyond cleaning.
All rooms are extra big and include a nice kitchen space, and a clean bath, but all the rest can make the stay unpleasant, it is clear the the rooms has been in use for years.
On top of that, you are asked to pay for internet use in your room, a basic service that usually is giving for free, for guests, a fact that forces you to go downstairs to the lobby and use the public access.
On the other hand the service personal are all extremely nice, helpful, and patient, whether it's the lady who cleans the rooms, the receptionists or the concierge, all are excellent, but they can not compensate for the management who seem to try and save by maintaining, "vintage" rooms.
Of course we didn't spend too much time in the room, so it was not the end of the world.
If you look and book far enough a head, you can get same price as the 'Century Plaza' for a nicer more updated, cleaner hotel in the vicinity, since we booked last minute trip, we ended up with the 'Plaza' that offered better price, but not a good deal.
Apart from that, Vancouver is an amazing city, so amazing I almost forgot all about the "Plaza Experience".

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovemass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2010

Had extended stay here due to volcanic ash! Staff could not have been more helpful; front desk stff made checking in/out fast efficient and friendly; provided print -outs of routes to various places; stored luggage when we went on overnight stay in Victoria; were concerned at the inconvenience the re-routing of aircraft had caused us. Food was delicious; cafe beyond was cheerful and supplied good coffee and internet facility.
View from delightful room was impressive and tea/coffee replenished plentifully. Comfortable beds and cheerful room maid. Couldn't have wished for a better place to be stranded!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank florian33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

This is a nice hotel nothing special but quite nice. The staff were freindly and helpful and the food in the resturant was tasty. The rooms were large and comfortable. The swimming pool and lesuire facilites were also good. The location was also good for accessing the centre of vancouver. The main thing with this hotel was a needed a good clean in the rooms and the swimming pool and changing rooms also needed cleaning. There was not enough clean towels in the pool area and some days we struggled to find any. But in general it was a nice, comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosa-Grace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

Stayed on the 28th floor in a room with a fabulous view. Very reasonable rate. King size bed with a really cute kitchen. The bathroom could use updating but very clean. The restaurant food was excellent, and the morning breakfast room service was on-time and tasty. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Too bad you have to pay for internet, but that seems to be the norm these days. Room had a window to let the fresh air in, which I certainly appreciated. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BC_island_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,787 reviews
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#52 of 92 in Vancouver
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Plaza Hotel & Spa

Address: Century Plaza 1015 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1Y5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#41 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $109 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Century Plaza Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Century Plaza Hotel & Spa is a landmark destination hot spot right in the centre of downtown Vancouver. From its award winning amenities including a world class spa and comedy club, to the kitchen equipped suites featuring spectacular ocean, mountain and city views, the family owned and operated Century-Plaza Hotel & Spa has implemented sustainable practices such as its 'Green Initiative' Program as well as the 100% Chemical Free Commercial Cleaning System reducing our carbon footprint to provide guests with the wonderful home away from home ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Century Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Plaza Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing