We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #45 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good location...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Spent 6 nights at the Century Plaza and found it to be a decent hotel.Room was a good size, with a separate kitchen. View from room was on to Burrard St., which was OK, though reports suggest that a room on a higher floor would have given better views. Previous reports have mentioned the sirens from the hospital next door - they could be heard but were not really a problem, I've heard worse in other city centre locations and to be fair a lot of them were from passing police cars.

The hotel and rooms were clean and well presented and the staff were always pleasant.

The restaurant on the ground floor was excellent, with regular discounts being offered making fine dining affordable. (This will be reviewed separately).

The basement level swimming pool was adequate without being brilliant. Didn't use the fitness area, though it looked OK.

Hotel was quiet, no disturbances at all during our entire stay.

Overall this was a good quality hotel at a reasonable price, ideally situated for walking to most of Vancouver's attractions. I have no hesitation in recommending this an an ideal location as a base and would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: High floor rooms would probably give a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BILLYVILLAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,188
    1,531
    505
    175
    110
See reviews for
909
1,287
275
507
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dollar
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel is well located for the main shopping area, with easy access to Sunset Beach and the water taxis that take you to Granville Island. The rooms are not the most modern and to be honest could do with a facelift. However they were very clean and had all the amenities. This is a great hotel to be used as a base for visiting the city of Vancouver rather than a resort hotel. We used the restaurant for breakfast which was excellent. As to the parking charges mentioned in another review; this is a just a city thing in Canada. All hotels charge this sort of rate

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom corner suite on the 27th floor. Good sized bedroom and living room with a well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albyn66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel and centrally located. We are three adults travelling together and the room was big enough for everyone to have their own space. Kitchenette was great and hotel staff helpful and friendly.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Siena69a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pender Island
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Good: Stayed here in January and did a review then -another 4 night stay last week and again really impressed with the service. Room was very clean and staff were almost all friendly and helpful and although it is obviously an older property the general atmosphere is clean and up to date. Amazing views on the higher floors make up for the dated fixtures. Housekeeping kept the room sparkling and were friendly and unobtrusive, front desk were uniformly friendly and although often busy, welcoming and helpful.
The Not So Great: Room windows have been pegged to about 3 inches which leave the rooms in adequately ventilated unless you luck out and get a balcony with a slider. The wall mounted air conditioner has a warning not to set the temp below 72 degrees and it gave the impression of needing cleaning inside creating a bit of a dank smell when it was running. Without an engineered HVAC system as in new hotels. this creates a real problem for people like me who don't sleep or function well without lots of fresh air and good ventilation. Made do by running the AC at while I was out of the room and despite the dire warnings, ran it at 67 degrees, turning it off when returning to the room. Staff were gracious about the issue but obviously helpless to have a meaningful affect. This might be a minor thing for most people, but next time no balcony, no go for me.
A colleague told me that she tried the swimming pool and it was too much chlorine.. If I remember right, the too much chlorine issue is usually an indicator of the ph being off, the water not holding it properly. In any case, being an old fashioned underground pool, it needed to be better managed.
The hallways now have el-cheapo looking fluorescent bulb lit fixtures mounted on the ceiling and it sured looked alot better on the floor I stayed before, where they relied on the halogens mounted over the doors. Nothing looks good under the cheap lighting, not the people not the carpet - nada.
Contrasted with the slick lobby it bring the place down a notch when you get off the elevator to go to your roon.
The Awkward: Love having an espresso bar in the lobby that opens at 0630, but there was a youngish woman running the till who was less than charming, had a cold officious germanic air about her and was less than helpful on a couple of counts. I was trying to impress a colleague with the hotel and it was embarrassing for me having recommended the place so highly..just a wrinkle really because the staff in the main restaurant are really professional and gave great service!
Sol generally speaking, IMHO, it is a well-run hotel and for its size and is somewhat of a rare bird by remaining a family-owned business. That and competent management may account for the confident, personable staff and avoidance of an overly corporate atmosphere...
Conclusion: Modern in style with okay it isn't the new Fairmount, but it's but solid value for the location, views and good value, particularly if you can get a good rate out of them.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony higher floor. If your room has issues don't be shy to ask for assistance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gulfislandguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was one of the best hotels we stayed in for our 3- week holiday to Canada.
We booked this hotel as all rooms were suites offering kitchen facilities, which enabled us to self cater for breakfast – more leisurely start to the day.
We had booked a one bed suite. On arrival the guy at reception acknowledged that this was a special holiday for us, our first trip to Canada to celebrate our retirement, and upgraded us to the Presidential Suite on the top floor! It was a huge corner suite with windows the full width of 2 walls, making it very light with great views of the city and English Bay. Fab bathroom, very modern with a steam shower and big Jacuzzi bath. Large comfortable bed.
Staff were friendly and very helpful, especially the doormen/concierge.
While we were there, on a Wednesday and Thursday, the restaurant offered all main courses/ entrees at just $20. If voucher is not delivered to your room just ask. The food was excellent.
Only issue is hotel could do with installing double/triple glazing. With it being a city centre hotel there is traffic noise, mainly during morning rush hour.

Room Tip: high floor with balcony
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amin H, Guest Relations Manager at Century Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We are so pleased to hear of your wonderful visit to the Century-Plaza Hotel & Spa and honored to learn it was one of the best hotels you experienced! Thank you for sharing your experience and we invite you back to return on your next visit!

Warmest regards,

~ Amin H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

The hotel is very conveniently located 5 minutes walk away from most of the downtown attractions and bars, shopping malls and restaurants! The suites are large and airy with a fully equipped kitchenette should you wish to cook yourself! The staff are friendly and helpful!!

Room Tip: If you are getting a suite ask for a higher floor and facing down Burrard Street - the view of the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzec666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Lucked out on 28th floor, great views of city! Room was large with sitting area and full kitchen. Fantastic bath products. They also have a great little cafe in lobby. Very central to a lot on city. Only thing that we didn't enjoy was $17 plus tax a night for parking but I guess it could always be worse. Free wifi was an added bonus. All employees were great too holding elevators and greeting is every morning.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisha22d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amin H, Guest Relations Manager at Century Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive experience at the Century-Plaza Hotel & Spa. We are truly glad to hear your stay was so enjoyable and appreciate the time you took in reviewing the property and its facilities. Looking forward to your return!

Best wishes,

~ Amin H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#34 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Davie Village
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#14 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#57 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#50 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Plaza Hotel & Spa

Property: Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Address: Century Plaza 1015 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1Y5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#37 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#41 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Century Plaza Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Century Plaza Hotel & Spa is a landmark destination hot spot right in the centre of downtown Vancouver. From its award winning amenities including a world class spa and comedy club, to the kitchen equipped suites featuring spectacular ocean, mountain and city views, the family owned and operated Century-Plaza Hotel & Spa has implemented sustainable practices such as its 'Green Initiative' Program as well as the 100% Chemical Free Commercial Cleaning System reducing our carbon footprint to provide guests with the wonderful home away from home ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Century Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Plaza Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing