We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Guys???!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #44 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed June 14, 2013

As a hotel Front Desk Manager for a Major chain, and a 1,000+ room hotel in San Francisco, I can appreciate utilizing tripadvisor - it really can make or break you as a property. With that said, I am SHOCKED to read so many good reviews about this hotel - My experience just did not match.

I typically stay with the chain that I work for, but our properties in the city were full so i had to choose another. I checked Tripadvisor and saw the pics and booked because they had a good rate - it was only about $30-40 cheaper than all the others in its comp-set - but hey, thats dinner - right?

At check-in, The place lived up to my expectations. Pretty sweet lobby - cool staff... good guys - and then we got to the rooms... WHOA!!!! I couldn't even bring myself to set my bags down! It was just out dated and really .... just dirty. I'll let the pics speak for themselves - no point in writing a novel. So needless to say that because of this, I immediately lost all faith in the property and felt rather deceived that what they advertise is so far from what they actually have.

Guys & Gals - lets be real - I do his for a living. You can trust me - skip to the next hotel - tons of good ones in the city. Dont waste your time here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brett L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,892)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,088 - 3,094 of 3,892 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

Been many years since I stayed at the Century Plaza but my experience reminded me of the past visits with the friendliness of the staff this time too!

Many updates around the hotel and a great location!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amin H, Guest Relations Manager at Century Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

We are delighted to hear of your recent stay at the Century-Plaza Hotel & Spa! It is great to learn that our level of service has been maintained over the years as we strive to exceed our guests' expectations. Thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Warmest regards,

~ Amin H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Ideal view in our suite (on the 29th Floor) - we could see out to English Bay, Burrard Inlet and over to Vancouver Harbor, but the room decor needed some attention - skirting board a little bit worse for wear, exposed pipes above the shower in the bathroom, a couple of the the balcony railing supports were disconceringly loose. Inside the bedroom was a bit cramped and not well laid out but there was a great lounge and separate kitchen area, and Jacuzzi bath too.

That said the front desk staff were extremely helpful and we got complimentary hand massages from the spa staff whilst we were waiting to check in as we left our cruise ship around 0945 and the hotel were processing checkouts all morning. The doorman was friendly, the concierge staff efficient and the telephonist helpful..

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJS54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amin H, Guest Relations Manager at Century Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for expressing your comments of the great views offered from our suites! We appreciate your visit to the Century-Plaza Hotel & Spa and are always glad to hear your direct feedback of where we can focus our attention for areas of improvement as these have been passed onto our Operations Manager. We are glad to hear the front office staff exceeded your expectations and invite you back to return on your next visit to Vancouver!

Best wishes,

~ Amin H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We booked Century Plaza as our first stop on our roadtrip in Canada, our first stop was Vancouver. We had a Deluxe studio suite on the 25th floor. It had an amazing view all over Vancouver.

The room had a fully fitted kitchen and separate bedroom that you can close away from the rest of the room. The room was very clean however the only downside I could mention would be the bathroom. The bathroom was quite old fashioned and flooded quite easily when having a shower.

The staff seemed quite friendly and were helpful with any questions we had, I would definitely stay there again. The bed was one of the comfiest I have slept in in sometime. It was massive!:)

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2504 and it had spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heeelllooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amin H, Guest Relations Manager at Century Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Century-Plaza Hotel & Spa during your Canadian road trip! We are very pleased to hear your stay was so enjoyable in your comfortable suite and the wonderful comments you shared about the helpful service you received from our friendly staff. Our Operations Manager has been notified to have his team complete the updates required which you shared as we appreciate the feedback so that to better serve our guests and enhance their overall experience. Looking forward to your return!

~ Amin H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at the C.P. for two nights after a cruise from Alaska. We arrived Fri. morning around 10AM and they were able to get us right into our room. I paid for an Executive King suite and it was great, upgraded to the 27th floor with a nice view of the city. The staff was great. Jerry the bellman was fantastic and could answer all questions about travel and dining in the city. C.P. is central in downtown. It's about a half hour walk to the aquarium in Stanley Park and 20 minutes to Granville Island to see the artists and crafts. There are plenty of restaurants around. Very helpful staff, well appointed rooms/kitchen and would return again. Thx.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amin H, Guest Relations Manager at Century Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience at the Century-Plaza Hotel & Spa. We are so happy that Gerry was able to assist you with all your concierge needs and he will certainly be praised for his work! We always try our best to honour all requests and accommodations and were pleased to be able to begin your stay with an early check-in upon arrival. We remain at your service and await your return!

Best wishes,

~ Amin H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Our group had an overnight stay at the Century-Plaza Hotel & Spa before boarding a cruise ship. Unfortunately, three of the group were "bumped" and didn't arrive until around 10PM. We had scheduled a Buffet Dinner for 6PM. David Lintott, Restaurant Manager, without being asked, prepared 3 meals for the late arrivals. One of the group said she didn't receive her luggage. Lonnie did a great job tracing it down. Turned out luggage wasn't lost, The rooms were large and the bed very comfortable. Dinner and breakfast were also very good. Every staff member at this hotel was courteous. I would definitely stay at this property again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tourplannerAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amin H, Guest Relations Manager at Century Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience at the Century-Plaza Hotel & Spa! We truly appreciate your kinds words and for recognizing our team members for the service which they provided as we are very glad to hear your luggage was located and your dinner plans were accommodated! Wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay and we invite you back for your next visit!

Wishing you all the best!

~ Amin H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here for a few days, in a corner suite, on the 19th floor. As you might expect, the views were good, and the overall space was great - living/kitchen area with a separate bedroom and decent sized bathroom - but the furnishings were definitely a bit shabby. The hotel staff are great, though - especially in the restaurant, where we had breakfast both mornings - good food, and great value for money. The location is terrific, walking distance from virtually everywhere you'd want to go in this beautiful city. Recommend you visit Granville Island, Stanley Park, English Bay.

Room Tip: Choose a corner room, high up - sirens from nearby hospital won't be so intrusive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fiona605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,803 reviews
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson
West End
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Plaza Hotel & Spa

Address: Century Plaza 1015 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1Y5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#41 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $124 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Century Plaza Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Century Plaza Hotel & Spa is a landmark destination hot spot right in the centre of downtown Vancouver. From its award winning amenities including a world class spa and comedy club, to the kitchen equipped suites featuring spectacular ocean, mountain and city views, the family owned and operated Century-Plaza Hotel & Spa has implemented sustainable practices such as its 'Green Initiative' Program as well as the 100% Chemical Free Commercial Cleaning System reducing our carbon footprint to provide guests with the wonderful home away from home ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Century Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Plaza Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing