We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #47 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed December 10, 2012

When we arrived the hotel reception was very friendly and chatty and upgraded us to the 'penthouse'. Allegedly because we were British, but whether it was just a quiet time of year who knows. I see some other reviews have complained about the speed of the lifts which seems a bit strange. As we were on the top floor we always used the lift and had no complaints. The room was nice, spacious with a lovely bathroom.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MopsyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,803)
There are newer reviews for Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,096 - 3,102 of 3,803 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

You'll get a 4-star service for a lower price. The rooms are clean, wide, and furniture pretty new.

I had problems with the shower tab; it wasn't in perfect condition, but I managed and didn't bother to complain about it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IslamAtta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Great location and excellently kind staffs.
Core location of Vancouver downtown and walking distance to Robson street and gas town.
Very pleased during stay and all things are better than expectation.
Recommend for family trip and business travelers.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank designmind69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel has been in Vancouver for a long time! I discovered it during Expo '86, and they continue to update the lobby, amenities and rooms over the years. The lobby is very modern, the restaurant and comedy club very enjoyable. The elevators are still as slow as ever, but that's a minor inconvenience. The rooms are very comfortable and clean, and the views are fantastic! I personally don't like a lot of the "modern" styles, it was nice to have separate, easy to understand taps for hot and cold in the bathtub and sink.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room to get some spectacular views of the north shore, English Bay, and Stanl...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linz-2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The lobby looks like 2012, but the rooms look like 1978. The staff are very friendly and clearly well-versed in apologizing for disappointing rooms and amenities. If you look at the negative reviews, you will see that the hotel representative posts the same cut-and-paste response to everyone. The only thing this hotel has going for it is its Robson St location, and there are better hotels in this area in the same price range. I travel to Vancouver regularly, but will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Century-Plaza-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Century Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear crc11,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. We take all types of feedback seriously, whether negative or positive and address them individually. We do not cut and paste responses to our guests as suggested by your review. We believe that individualized attention to our guests' concerns and feedback is important and this is the approach we have always taken. We're glad that you enjoyed our great, central location, however we want to be sure that you are posting a review of the correct hotel, as we are located on the corner of Burrard & Comox Streets, which is approximately 2 and a half blocks away. As mentioned in previous responses, all of our rooms have been fully refurbished within the past 5 years and updated pictures can be found on our website. On your next stay, please contact us directly and we'll make sure you are put into a room that best suits your needs. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Have been a repeat customer for a few years. The food and service are excellent. The rooms are not luxurious, but very clean and comfortable and a great value because the rates are reasonable.The location is great, very central to downtown. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OneAvidTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is indeed an old hotel in the heart of Vancouver downtown. What a great location! Close to everything shopping and within striking distance to Stanley Park, Granville Island Market, theatre district and so many other ammenities nearby.
What a shame they have not done to the rooms what they have done to the lobby area and the restaurant. I call it "putting on the make up on a dead horse".
The owners have failed to do the right thing and set up the entire hotel in the same style and quality as they have done in the "face" of the hotel. The rooms are ample no doubt but old. I mean OLD. Flooring, walls, furnishings and most importantly soundproofing.
Windows nearly 50 years old single pane and the heating system that is as old as the land of Israel.
The noise in the rooms, both from inside the hotel and from outside street sounds, is unbearable and unless you have good quality earplugs (which they should supply at registration) you will get NO sleep at all. The sitting room couch springs will imprint a tatoo on your backside permanently if you sit for more than 15 minutes and the TV set is the same one that I donated to the Salvation Army in 1977.
This hotel is great for location do not mistake me, I fully agree.
With the right person in charge of this company making some tough but essential decisions, this hotel can once again become a jewel in the city. But once again profit margins and greed seem to prevail. Likely the latter.
Will I be back? Not likely. Vancouver has many good hotels at the same or slightly higher pricing that will serve my needs. Will I try again? Yes, if they try to make the needed changes and make the stay enjoyable for all senses.
One MUST note: The hotel staff are outstandingly well mannered, professional and extermely helpful, but they cannot give "mouth to mouth" to this dying dog. Only top management can do that.

Room Tip: Find a hotel nearby that is better than this!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CyclePaths2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Century-Plaza-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Century Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Leospartan26,

Thank you for your review. While we certainly enjoyed your humor, we do appreciate all types of feedback. We're glad you loved our central location and services. It's our upper level management that empower our staff to be great ambassadors for the hotel and we're very proud of what we've accomplished. To address some of your concerns, we are an independently owned and operated hotel (built in 1972, which was much later than the creation of the state of Israel), we unfortunately, don't have the financial backing of some of our larger corporate competitors so we conduct renovations in stages. Any surplus in revenue goes straight back into the property. Some major improvements have been made over the past few years. Renovations included new carpets, furniture, bedding, linens and kitchen cabinets, all within the past 5 years. We do understand that different people have different tastes, however. You'll be happy to know that we now have 40" flat screen television sets ready to be installed into all of our guest rooms. We hope to have this completed within the next few weeks. We're sorry that the noise of being right in the centre of downtown Vancouver bothered you. For those guests who are not used to city noise and would like a quieter experience, we are more than happy to move them to the north side of the building if requested. We believe we offer excellent value for our rooms, and the majority of times are priced lower than our surrounding hotels. Hopefully we will see you again in the future. On your next stay, we recommended booking one of our executive suites. Our finest suites, and located on the top 5 floors. They offer 900+ sq ft of living space and great views of the city, mountains or ocean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,742 reviews
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#35 of 92 in Vancouver
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Plaza Hotel & Spa

Address: Century Plaza 1015 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1Y5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#37 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#41 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $105 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Century Plaza Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Century Plaza Hotel & Spa is a landmark destination hot spot right in the centre of downtown Vancouver. From its award winning amenities including a world class spa and comedy club, to the kitchen equipped suites featuring spectacular ocean, mountain and city views, the family owned and operated Century-Plaza Hotel & Spa has implemented sustainable practices such as its 'Green Initiative' Program as well as the 100% Chemical Free Commercial Cleaning System reducing our carbon footprint to provide guests with the wonderful home away from home ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Century Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Plaza Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing