We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and Great Customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #47 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Great location and Great Customer service”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My friends and I stayed at this hotel while we were in town for the Madonna concert. The location is great, we walked to Granville Island, Yaletown, Canada Place, and all around the sea wall. Vancouver has a beautiful downtown area.

The staff were very friendly and gave us good recommendations for restaurants on Davie street.

The rooms were spacious, and we had a small kitchen area. Our room was a little dated and drab. On the downside the wifi signal is not very strong, and we could never really keep an internet connection.

Overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayJay333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,243
    1,620
    542
    190
    113
See reviews for
958
1,366
296
529
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
502 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights before our Alaska cruise and 2 nights after cruise.Our travel agent had booked us a standard room but while checking online we found that an upgrade is available at 20$ extra which I immediately confirmed.Wow what a room it was !!! it was a suite with a king size bed, a living room,kitchen with a big fridge.For first 2 nights we got a room om 7th floor but for next 2 nights on our request we got a room on 24th floor.The view was fantastic from there.We could watch almost entire Vancouver.The hotel is very centrally located.Everything was within 10/15 minute walk bars,shopping,restaurants,malls. A liquor shop and a supermarket is jurt 3/4 blocks away.We never had to use a cab.The staff was very helpful and courteous.The only 2 small negatives were spa and in-room safe.The spa was expensive and massage was not upto mark.and I could not believe that such a nice and big hotel did not have in-room safe.Overall it was an excellent property and we will definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to book a suite on higher floor.The hotel is located on a very busy street and on a lower floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BalkrishnaShroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed for a week at the hotel and I have to say: it rocks! The location is ideal, I was in walking distance to everywhere I wanted to go. The food was great at the restaurant. And I came back home with a couple of new friends who are part of the hotel staff! Lonnie Santrock, the night manager is a great guy when you need guidance, always so respectful and with a nice word for you so you can have the best experience in Vancouver. Mark, at the restaurant made some delicious suggestions about the food and wine, Chris, at the bar always nice and ready to serve you nice drinks and conversation! I just loved it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Scoring this Hotel is difficult, as we only stayed here a couple of nights at the end of our time in Vancouver. As with many hotels on holiday, we didn't really explore it, but I did have a few niggles.

The first impression you get on arrival is that this accommodation is impressive and grand - the reception is open, clean and well managed. Service is prompt, but perhaps not as personal as it would be in a smaller hotel (obviously). Very professional. There was a drop-off point for luggage at the front of the hotel, and parking was an additional charge. There was also a service to look after baggage should you arrive early or wish to explore the city after checking out/before flying.

Location:
You can't beat this place for a central location, with everything you need being within easy reach, and situated on one of the main streets through Downtown Vancouver. However, this does have downsides. Although being on a higher floor, we did find street noise during the night quite loud, and the Hospital next door received it's fair share of emergencies and ambulances during our stay, so not the greatest of sleeps. Shame there was no secondary or double glazing.

Accommodation:
We stayed on the 17th floor in a Studio Suite with King bed, and the overall appearance of the room was quite smart and modern. The bedroom was part of the lounge and kitchen space, which perhaps wasn't my favourite layout, but it was still spacious. The bathroom was a good size, no complaints about the kitchen or lounge areas either. There wasn't a great deal of hanging space for clothes, and it was a shame not to have an in-room safe for valuables, however the free wi-fi performed as expected. Despite the fresh look of the room, I was just a little disappointed about the attention to detail - a couple of the lamp fittings were so loose that you could see wiring, and the low-level ventilation grates had come away from the wall unit (see photos). Thankfully the separate air conditioning unit worked just fine.

Like our other Vancouver accommodation, this wasn't cheap (just under £100 p/n), and lacked the home-feel we'd received at our previous place. Not surprising given the much larger premises though. It definitely felt like we were at the heart of the city for a couple of nights, and this suite was fine for time we spent there.

I would have rated this 'average' based on the quality of sleep and state of the room, but the location and service provided make it difficult to justify, hence the 'very good' score. If you like being absorbed in the noises of a city and can overlook decor mishaps, then this is probably the place for you, and you'll have a fantastic time exploring Vancouver!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheekyboy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My friend and I stayed in the Hotel for 3 days while in Vancouver. We had an amazing time. Vancouver was one of the highlights of our trip, partially because of the hotel. We were at the tail end of a two week road trip along the Pacific Northwest and this was our final stop. When we got to our room, it was HUGE!! Plenty of room for all the items that we had collected along the way. There was a mini fridge as well and a sitting area with a couch and chairs with a large TV. There were several large windows and a balcony with a sliding door. The only downside was that the "king" sized bed seemed a bit smaller than we were used to for a king. The room was very clean and made-up daily. The shower was quite large as well. The best part was the service. Everyone was extremely helpful. They even have fresh fruit daily at the reception desk. Miles, the great looking guy at reception, was extremely friendly as well. My friend visited the spa and said that it was amazing! What really made our trip was the concierge, Gerry. Gerry was nothing less than wonderful. He helped us with every request, went above and beyond, had excellent recommendations, and really helped us work with our itinerary to make sure we got in what was most important in the time that we had. He even got us late check-out and weighed every individual piece of luggage to make sure we were not overweight (we had to buy an extra suitcase to take back and a wine box)! He then helped us package the wine box since we didn't have the materials. Gerry also contacted our white water rafting company to cancel our reservations since we would be out the entire day and had only previously been able to leave messages. There are many other things that Gerry assisted us with, but I can't even begin to list them all. I'm not sure if the experience would have been as great if it wasn't for him. Thank you, Gerry, and the entire Century Plaza Staff!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yelle82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Great value and location is the reason we continue to stay at the Century Plaza. There are some tricks to a good stay here though. If you are like us and like the noise of a busy city, you don't need to ask for a room higher up or on the "church" side. Lower and on the hospital side the management clearly must upgrade the windows, it is fairly ridiculous when an ambulance arrives at 1 am - you'd swear it's in the room with you. Although most of the rooms have been renovated, it's worth asking for a room that has been refreshed.

Staff are incredible, the coffee shop is perfect, the restaurant is pretty good. The nearby grocery store charges urban prices but if you are in for a few nights it's worth getting food as the kitchens in the rooms have all the basic equipment needs for a good meal. The hotel is close enough to the canada line from the airport that you can get from the airport to the hotel for under $5. If you are visiting Vancouver for the first time on a budget this would be the property I'd recommend.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Astronut21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the hotel Century Plaza Hotel, but unfortunately, I forgot my iPod touch at the hotel. I realized this once I got to the airport. So I immediately called my friend who contacted the hotel, and the reception desk stated that they will check out. When my friend called them back they told him that the cleaning staff didn't find it....

Room Tip: Beware of street noise on lower levels.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank PETER B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Century-Plaza-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Century Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Peter B,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. That's really unfortunate that you've lost your iPod during your travels. I can certainly relate! It's unfortunate that you've given us a 1 out of 5 score based on that fact, however we are pleased to hear that you did, in fact enjoy your stay with us. Often times, our guests do leave valuables behind. When this happens, our housekeeping staff document the date, time and room number with the item and it is then placed in lost and found. Unfortunately an iPod was not found in your particular room, even after our director of housekeeping went up and personally checked. Of course, we will give you a call if anything turns up at a later time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,703 reviews
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#48 of 92 in Vancouver
1,420 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Plaza Hotel & Spa

Property: Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Address: Century Plaza 1015 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1Y5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#37 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#41 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Century Plaza Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Century Plaza Hotel & Spa is a landmark destination hot spot right in the centre of downtown Vancouver. From its award winning amenities including a world class spa and comedy club, to the kitchen equipped suites featuring spectacular ocean, mountain and city views, the family owned and operated Century-Plaza Hotel & Spa has implemented sustainable practices such as its 'Green Initiative' Program as well as the 100% Chemical Free Commercial Cleaning System reducing our carbon footprint to provide guests with the wonderful home away from home ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Century Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Plaza Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing