We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for a fair price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #46 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Ajijic, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Hotel for a fair price”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Recently stayed four nights in a King Suite at the Century Plaza and, for the price, this is a good hotel.

The rooms have been updated but are a still a little bit dated-looking - nothing horrible, but the update of the lobby was much more thorough. The building itself is something like 36 years old.

They offerered a breakfast and parking package for an additional $20 per night (providing breakfast for two people) I thought it was a good value just for me so for two people it is an excellent value. WIFI is not included but available for $10 per day (kind of steep, in my view, and not the fastest service.)

Restaurant (Beyond) has excellent food and the chef actually knows how to cook a steak blue - bonus! I thought drinks there were pricey but I`m not all that familiar with booze prices in BC - maybe it`s all expensive.

Overall, good value for the money and the staff were friendly and professional. I`ll likely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,248
    1,640
    553
    193
    118
See reviews for
979
1,382
296
530
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marin, CA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

What a pleasant surprise - a real three/four-star hotel at bargain prices. Great service, pleasant staff, nice big suite. The whole place was clean and our rooms had been recently renovated. Even parking was a bargain compared to other Vancouver hotels.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We had stayed in the Century Plaza once before and have nothing but good things to say. In fact, we booked it again for halloween weekend! Large 1br suite with everything you could need inside (except for a hot tub!) We had a great view of Burrard and the church. Loved the patio and large TV for watching the Canucks win! Seems up to date with most items, but you can't please everyone I guess. Can't beat the price for what you get. The young lady at the front desk was very helpful too (even though she was an Oilers fan) and made the experience better. Parking is the only issue I had. Even though it's on site, it should be free for hotel guests. But at only $17 it's cheaper than parking anywhere else downtown! In fact, I know that the hotel frequently checks this site, so in exchange for an awesome review, perhaps a free night on the hotel? Never hurts to ask. Would definately reccommend!

Room Tip: Asking for upgrades never hurt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanucksKickAzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Rupert, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Have not found a better hotel at this price in Vancouver....ever!

Room Tip: Great view and central location
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlcyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

There was something about this hotel that made us feel like we could not wait to leave, luckily we were only here one night.

When we arrived I got excited because the lobby is really modern with a nice looking restaurant and cafe, However once you step out of the lift it is a different story and it is no longer modern or clean looking. The room was very large, it had a kitchen and 2 double beds. The bathroom was outdated, although it had a more modern looking sink area.

The room did however seem quite dirty, the sofa looked disgusting so we avoided that and there were hairs on the towels. The paint around the windows (which were noisy) was peeling off. One of the beds had a very odd duvet, it was visibly lumpy and didn't seem right. Parking was quite expensive, about $25 for the night.

Did have a good location near the centre of downtown, but something about this hotel gave us a really bad vibe and we were glad to leave.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank praianowedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cplaza1015, Manager at Century Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Dear Praianwedding,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. While we understand that we may not exceed everyone’s expectations, we do our very best to provide excellent guest service and exceptionally clean rooms. Many of our recent guests would agree that we’ve made some major improvements over the last few years and our trip advisor listing has risen nearly 10 spots in the past 6 months alone. We use very plush hypoallergenic duvets for our bedding that is no more than a year old. We’re sorry that you did not like the couch that was in your room. Our furniture is no more than 5 or 6 years old but due to our unobstructed location and the large amount of direct sunlight we receive, it has caused many of the couches to fade. We have replaced most of our couches within the past year and are currently in the processes of completing this. Our parking fees are also quite reasonable for the area of our location. Many of the nearby hotels charge as much as double or more. While we do realize this is an expense that surprises some guests, we do have several packages in which we include parking free of charge on our website as well as on TripAdvisor special offers. We wish we would have known about your concerns while you were staying with us, as we would have rectified the situation immediately by offering a room move or upgrade. We’d love to hear more about your stay so that we may ensure our future guests do not have the same experience. Please contact us at manager@century-plaza.com if you would like to discuss this further.

Best regards,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from our dream holiday, a trip to Vancouver and a trip on the Rocky Mountaineer. We stayed at the Century Plaza Hotel in Vancouver and as this was booked by our tour operator we were a bit sceptical and didnt know what to expect. We got a very pleasant surprise when we arrived. The hotel is modern and absolutely spotless. Staff are very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble for them. Because we were staying more than 2 nights we were upgraded to a suite which included a small kitchen and lounge area. This suited us as sometimes we just like to have breakfast at our leisure and in the evenings, having been out all day, we like to relax and read, so this suited on both these aspects. I would highly recommend this hotel and if I was to return to Vancouver I would definitely stay there.

Room Tip: A balcony is a plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxfordcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Step into the lobby and you feel like you're entering a swanky hotel. step out of the elevator to your floor, and it feels like an old apartment building. the queen suite is actually the size of a 1-bedroom apartment, and felt like a mediocre-ly maintained vacation rental. It worked for the most part - has a queen bed, and a pull-out sofa bed, room to move around, but the furniture was basic and musty. Also found a couple of bugs (silverfish) on the carpet, which I quickly stubbed out before the wife saw them and freaked. Plus, there was no free wi-fi in the room (had to go down to the lobby for free wifi), which is becoming a dealbeaker these days when I look for hotels.
We found a deal online, but I'm not sure I'll come back for the price I paid. It wasnt especially bad, but not great either. If all you're looking for is a place to sleep that is sort of walking distance from your downtown vancouver tourist spots, this could work for you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bangalorean4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Century-Plaza-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Century Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear B4Life,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel! An interesting fact about the us is that the building was originally intended to be an apartment tower. Our owner decided to last minute convert it into a hotel. It's a great benefit for those guests who are looking for a home away from home!

You'll be happy to know that all of our rooms have had their carpets recently replaced and most rooms have new furniture now. Our 1 bedroom and executive suites all have flat screen tv's as well!

Let us know the next time you are in Vancouver and we'll ensure you are in an upgraded room and offer you complimentary internet.

Thanks again for your review,

Marshall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,719 reviews
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#49 of 92 in Vancouver
1,463 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#37 of 92 in Vancouver
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Plaza Hotel & Spa

Property: Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Address: Century Plaza 1015 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1Y5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#37 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#41 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Century Plaza Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Century Plaza Hotel & Spa is a landmark destination hot spot right in the centre of downtown Vancouver. From its award winning amenities including a world class spa and comedy club, to the kitchen equipped suites featuring spectacular ocean, mountain and city views, the family owned and operated Century-Plaza Hotel & Spa has implemented sustainable practices such as its 'Green Initiative' Program as well as the 100% Chemical Free Commercial Cleaning System reducing our carbon footprint to provide guests with the wonderful home away from home ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Century Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Plaza Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing