We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #47 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed August 2, 2011

My wife and I booked in 20.07.2011 for an 10 night stay, we found the staff extremely helpful on all occasions, our suite (1407) was extremely comfortable and the hotel very clean, we didnot make use of the pool or gym as we were too busy looking at all the attractions Vancouver has to offer.
As we travelled from the UK our thanks to British Airways for a comfortable flight including connections.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,815)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,381 - 3,387 of 3,816 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. I contacted the hotel via email a couple of days earlier with several requests and received a prompt response assuring me that they would do what they could to accommodate these. All requests were met. I found the staff (including maids) to be friendly, smart, polite & happy to assist with any enquiries. Check in & out was speedy. The room was clean & spacey for my family & I. Location was close enough to walk into town, to the beach, the harbour & Stanley park. Vancouver is a beautiful city which I plan to visit again. I would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whalewatchers555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

The entrance, reception, check-in, restaurant are impressive and designed in a very modern style. Unfortunately our room 2205 needed some refurbishing - a bed side light not working (quickly replaced), the cold tap in the kitchenette was unusable (not fixed during our three night stay) the drawers etc needed upgrading and a shortage of hanging space (easily resolved by replacing the low drawer unit next to bed with a large wardrobe). However the view towards the bay and mountains was especially impressive at night, the room was large as was the bed that was very comfortable. We did not make use of the kitchenette. Dinner in the restaurant was very good, breakfast was good but it took ages to get the bill - see separate review. If we are in Vancouver again we would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auxiliary7010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I was impressed when we walked into the hotel - the lobby is impressive. Staff were always helpful, but especially the doorman(?) who helped with our bags, but more importantly made sure we were OK when one of us fell off a kerb while leaving the hotel one afternoon.

The restaurant seemed good, based in the breakfasts we had there. The hotel is close to the centre of downtown - about a 20 minute walk to the Cruise Ship terminal.

We had a studio room which was very spacious. It was clean, but very shabby - I wouldn't have wanted to stay there for more than a couple of nights. Since we were there for sightseeing we didn't spend much time in it, but it made for a slightly disappointing end to our holiday

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Our room was large, very clean, comfortable and well appointed. We were on the 24th floor so had great views over Vancouver. The hotel is well situated. The staff were incredibly professional, efficient, courteous and helpful. The only downside is that the food in the Beyond restaurant did not live up to the high standards elsewhere.
We would definitely use this hotel if we are lucky enough to visit Vancouver again

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed for two nights at the Century Plaza and were very impressed by our large room with 2 beds with great views over Vancouver. The room has a microwave and a fridge, coffee maker and kettle (yippee) for my tea! There wasn;t any crockery or cutlery provided which might have been handy (other than mugs), but the restaurant lent us bowls for our morning cereal. There's a table and chairs to eat from. The hotel is handy for shops and restaurants. I used the pool in the basement, but found it a bit creepy - there's no-one else down there and I felt quite ill at ease, but was assured it was covered by CCTV. Just a word of warning about Vancouver, the Chinatown and Gastown areas seem to have a lot of alcoholics and drug adicts which was rather intimidating.

Room Tip: High floor rooms have good news
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheilasWheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

The Century Plaza Hotel was our choice for 3 nights prior to a Holland America cruise package to Alaska. We had chosen it based on a combination of budget, location and the reviews here on Tripadvisor.

Generally, we were happy with the choice. There were plenty of positives for this hotel. Great location, close by to good restaurants in Davie Street and right at the Big Bus hop-on hop-off bus stop #11 in Burrard Street. For your money, you get a big, comfortable apartment with kitchen and full amenities. We had none of the problems with staff that some others on this forum have mentioned. All were courteous, professional and friendly.

A couple of negatives, though. Central heating was extremely uncomfortably too hoin our room and could not be adjusted. After complaining at the front desk, the best they could do was to turn it off to our room. That was OK, since the room also had a split system, wall-mounted air conditioner in the lounge room. Also, the bathroom's shower pressure was very ordinary.

But, overall the positives out weighed the negatives and we can only recommend the hotel to anyone for either a short term or longer stay.

Room Tip: Go for a larger suite on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L&M_from_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,757 reviews
West End
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#52 of 92 in Vancouver
873 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Plaza Hotel & Spa

Address: 1015 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1Y5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#37 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#41 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $105 - $920 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Century Plaza Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Century Plaza Hotel & Spa is a landmark destination hot spot right in the centre of downtown Vancouver. From its award winning amenities including a world class spa and comedy club, to the kitchen equipped suites featuring spectacular ocean, mountain and city views, the family owned and operated Century-Plaza Hotel & Spa has implemented sustainable practices such as its 'Green Initiative' Program as well as the 100% Chemical Free Commercial Cleaning System reducing our carbon footprint to provide guests with the wonderful home away from home ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Century Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Plaza Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing