We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Ranked #35 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
215 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great Service, Great Location”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The staff where some of the best and friendliest I have come across at any hotel, anywhere. This hotel was not our 1st choice in Vancouver. Many of the hotels we tried were fully booked. Since we used to live in Vancouver, we knew where the hotel was located and therefore chose it. We were not disappointed. It is a short walk, car ride or taxi drive from many of the places we wanted to see again. The hotel has a 'user friendly' design. It is easy to get to things in the hotel ie parking, business centre etc. Previous reviews have commented on the restaurant. I went there twice for breakfast. It just was not busy. One night there was a special on roast beef. We looked in, but once again there was almost no one there. Seems to me the restaurant needs some promotion. ie free basic breakfast (toast & coffee) with other things being chargeable (bagels, smoked salmon, bacon, eggs etc.). For dinner, make an offer at check in time, since many people may not want to go out on the first night

Next time we are back, we will choose this hotel and use my priority club card

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOM V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Tom V,

Greetings from the Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre! And thank you for being a royal IHG rewards club member.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments on our friendly staff and convenient location.

I would also like to thank you for your great suggestions on promoting our Stages Bistro & Lounge. I would certainly forward your suggestions to our restaurant manager. Your feedback is always important to us.

If there is anything we can assist you with in the future, please do not hesitate to let us know. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Vancouver.


Best regards,

Danny
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    315
    102
    18
    15
See reviews for
174
212
66
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

What a surprise! Modern, clean & affordable in Vancouver. On a trip to visit UBC we stayed at the Holiday Inn, what a treat! The hotel has recently been redone. Beautiful lobby & great rooms. The bathroom is large and modern. Great balcony that looks up broadway with view of the bay.

Room Tip: Room 711- two queen beds, pull out couch & balcony. Huge room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nebemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear nebemom,

Greetings from the Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre!

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

I would also like to thank you for your comments on our beautiful lobby and great rooms.

Please do not hesitate to let us know if there is anything else we can assist you with in the future.


Best regards,

Danny
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights recently. As others have pointed out the location is very good, a short walk away from the West Broadway/City Hall SkyTrain station and so very convenient for both the airport and downtown Vancouver. There's also a number of buses that run along W Broadway and Cambie that go downtown too.

Our room rate did not include breakfast and we felt that the restaurant attached to the hotel looked uninspiring and so had breakfast elsewhere each morning. This isn't a problem as there's a lot of places to eat in between the hotel and the SkyTrain station. There's a couple of supermarkets, including the excellent Whole Foods market (great breakfast muffins), close by on Cambie too.

Unfortunately we had one bad night with noise from screaming children in an adjacent room, the front desk staff were very friendly and helpful and kindly moved us to another room and organised for all our luggage to be moved too. Rooms are a good size and beds very comfortable. All in all an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimeZoneHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear TimeZoneHopper,

Greetings from the Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre!

I am happy to hear you find our location very convenient. And I would like to thank you for your comments on the transportation near the hotel.

I am sorry to hear you find our hotel restaurant uninspiring as it is newly renovated and we offer standard Holiday Inn full breakfast buffet in the morning. Of course, you are still able to order from the menu.

Please do not hesitate to let us know if you have any concern about our restaurant.


Best regards,

Danny
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Went to visit my daughter and needed a centrally located, on transportation, reasonable hotel with name recognition. This was it! Staff were great, especially when I kept having problems with my door key, they helped me out and even gave bonus points for my inconvenience. Great coffee shops and restaurants in the area, nice boutiques and the bus right in front!

Room Tip: stay away from the elevator and if you don't want metric, ask for a newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hbednarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear hbednarsh,

Greetings from the Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre!

Thank you very much for your comments on our central location and great staff. Please do not hesitate to let us know if there is anything else we can assist you with in the future.


Best regards,

Danny
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Love the location, many great restaurants within walking distance, short walk to Skytrain! Hotel has been renovated, rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Staff at the Hotel are friendly and courteous, have stayed here many times and have always had a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue-Laurence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Sue-Laurence B,

Greetings from the Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre!

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! And thank you for being a royal guest at our hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.


Best regards,

Danny
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located for anyone requiring some of the specialized medical services located nearby or visiting someone hospitalized at Vancouver General. The route to UBC is direct as well and there is reasonable on-site parking included. The wifi was problematic when we stayed there as it kept cutting out and was extremely slow when it was working.

Rooms were clean and staff pleasant. Beds reasonably comfortable. Would not recommend the on- site breakfast buffet especially if you are a later breakfast eater as food was not fresh, waffles and pancakes soggy. Best to order from the menu if you choose to eat there.

Room Tip: West broadway is a busy street so a room higher up away from street noise would be better. Can'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 837SherryM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear 837SherryM,

Greetings from the Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre!

I would like to thank you for your comments on our convenient location and reasonable on-site parking.

I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy our breakfast buffet. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you would like to discuss this further.



Best regards,

Danny
Guest Services Manager
dhuang@hivancouver.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Good Points:

The hotel was only two blocks away from Broadway Station (Canada Line) and about a 5 minute walk. Handy station for both the airport and the city centre.

Check in was efficient and my room was ready for me on my arrival.

My room was clean, of a good size and more importantly, the bed and pillows were extremely comfortable!

Bathroom was clean and there were plenty of towels available.

A number of supermarkets, coffee shops and restaurants are in the neighbourhood so you don’t have to walk far to grab a bite to eat.

There was a good selection of food available each morning in the Breakfast Buffet (included in my room rate). I particularly liked the bacon and pancakes and the fresh fruit selection.


Bad Points:

Wifi was slow. I didn’t realise just how slow it was until I connected to the Wifi at Vancouver Airport which was super quick in comparison.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smileyglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Smileyglobetrotter,

Greetings from the Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments on our comfortable bed and pillows and also convenient location.

I am sorry to hear you had trouble with our WIFI connection. Please do not hesitate to let us know in the future and we will certainly have one of our internet specialists assist you on getting a better connection.

Best regards,

Danny
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson on Broadway
West End
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Main
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#34 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Address: 711 West Broadway | @ Heather Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V5Z 3Y2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Shaughnessy , Fairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#36 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#45 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre Hotel (Broadway) welcomes you to vibrant Vancouver Canada. Our newly renovated hotel's location is convenient to Vancouver International Airport (YVR) and the Pacific Central Train Station, as well as the Canada Line SkyTrain Station.From business to leisure, you will find a variety of attractions and landmarks near our hotel such as Granville Island, Science World, Stanley Park, Vancouver Aquarium, University of British Columbia, Vancouver General Hospital, City Hall, Chinatown, Rogers Arena, BC Place Stadium and much more!All of our guestrooms feature contemporary décor, complimentary high speed wireless internet, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hair-dryer and a large working desk with an ergonomic chair for your comfort. With 5,700 square feet of meeting space we can accommodate events from 15 up to 300 people. Our professional and experienced catering staff members will attend to every last detail of your small meeting, large conference, or wedding and social function, so that you can sit back and enjoy your event. Unwind at our refreshed Stages Bistro & Lounge while you enjoy our new menu selection or stay active at our upgraded fitness centre, indoor swimming pool and 24 hour business centre.Start making plans for your next stay to relax and settle in to a whole new look. We look forward to welcoming you to Vancouver and the Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, IHG, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing