We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Ranked #35 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome Location!”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Was here for 3 days- my son had an appointment at the Children's hospital. The Hotel gave us a great Hospital rate which was very much appreciated. Very clean and the staff was awesome. The breakfest buffet in the morning was great and our waiter he was very nice. Loved the Location, we walked a lot, lots of places close and near by. Starbucks and Tim hortons is very close- which was great for the morning.

The pool was great, kids loved it. Both nights it was just us, nobody else. Very clean!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alia31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Alia31,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre. It was our pleasure to have you here.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. And thank you very much for your comment on our breakfast buffet. I would certain share your comments with all the staff here.

If there is anything we can assist you with in the future, please do not hesitate to let us know. Thank you and have a wonderful day.


Regards,

Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    315
    102
    18
    15
See reviews for
174
212
66
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
115 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed overnight having landed at Vancouver International from UK prior to an 8 hour drive east. Hotel spotless, staff helpful and beds very comfortable. Location great for good eats ie Cactus Club cafe and good coffee- Starbucks opposite. No noise to disturb our early night and we would definitely stay here again. Well located for access to rest of Vancouver. We were 4 adults in one room with 2 queen beds so value was amazing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear SarahQCheshire,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre and sharing your experience with us.

We understand it is very important for our guests, who travel around the world, to have a comfortable atmosphere after a long trip. Our team is dedicated to provide a ‘home away from home’ experience to our every day hero, like you.

We are glad you enjoyed your short stay with us. I would like to thank you for your comments on the hotel bed, as well as our helpful staff.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.


Regards,

Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normandy Park, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stay at the Holiday Inn on Broadway every time we visit Vancouver and it never disappoints. The staff is friendly and very competent. The rooms are bright, clean, and well appointed. The beds are very comfortable, hotel high-quality mattresses that provide wonderful support and yet never seem hard or unyielding. How do they do that? We like the buffet breakfast in the restaurant dining room. The food is great and the service is friendly and responsive. Hotel management has done an outstanding job building a culture of great customer service. All employees greet visitors with a warm smile and a cheerful greeting. The location on Broadway has about three dozen restaurants within a two-block radius and has a safe comfortable feel. You can’t go wrong here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Walter W,

Greetings from the Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre! It was our pleasure having you here. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated room as well as our buffet breakfast in our hotel restaurant, Stages Bistro.

As well, thank you very much for your compliments, this would certainly make our staff proud as we strive to provide the best friendly service possible.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Vancouver!


Regards,

Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
409 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Very nice updated property with friendly helpful staff and clean, spacious rooms. Free wi-fi that worked and a sparkling bathroom added to the appeal. For a downtown location the access is good, i.e. you can drive right in and park off the street outside the lobby while checking in - you don't have to find a parking spot first. Then simply drive up the ramp and you are there, a very quick walk to your room regardless of where the car is.

We didn't check out the pool or restaurant but they seemed clean and well attended.

If you need to visit UBC (15 minute drive but still about the closest hotel), or Vancouver General Hospital, this is THE property for you. Walking, it's maybe 15 minutes to Granville Island, and the Skytrain is a mere 5 minutes as well. Numerous restaurants, fast food outlets, supermarkets, boutiques, big box stores and liquor vendors are easily within walking distance, which you will probably want to do once you have settled in to your $17 parking space (which does include tax and is not unreasonable given the ease of use and location).

Noise of the ice machine and my personal pet peeve - not being able to correct the aspect ration of the flat screen TV - lead to slightly lower rating.

If I need to be in the neighborhood, would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: There are good views in pretty much every direction so if this is important to you, the higher the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ydnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Ydnar,

Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre.

I am glad to know that you have enjoyed our convenient location and wonderful newly renovated facilities.

I am sorry to hear that due to those issues you were not able to give us a perfect score; however, we are looking into it to possibly find a solution.



Best Regards,

Danny Huang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

From the time Shawn Kim at the front desk checked us in, to Sandra`s attentive service in Stages, until we did express check out five days later, everything about our stay here was excellent. Actually, all the staff we encountered were extremely friendly, helpful, and happy. We were greeted by the front desk every time we went through the lobby and the housekeeping staff were ever ready to accommodate any request we made about extra towels or extra decaf coffee packets.

We are platimum priority members with the IHG, so were upgraded at check in to an extremely quiet room on the 15th floor with a balcony and a view of the Burrard inlet and the harbour beyond. We were fortunate enough to have sunny days while there, which made the view even nicer.

Our room did have an adjoining door to another room, but the other folks were quiet, so we were lucky there. I agree with another reviewer and normally find that adjoining rooms can sometimes be noisy.

This hotel has recently gone through an extensive renovation and everything was updated, new, clean, and tastefully decorated. The beds were the best I've had in a hotel, but I think I always say this! Nice and firm, but not too firm, just the way we like a bed to be. Nice linens, fluffy towels, and lots of them, along with nice toiletries, which were generously replenished daily. A free newspaper was delivered every morning, again I think this is for priority club members, but not sure, maybe everyone gets one. Still it was a nice touch.

There was a large desk in the room for the computer with lots of electrical outlets, including an outlet to charge your USB gadgets and a lamp that actually had enough light to be helpful when working at the desk. The fridge in the cupboard under the TV console was a nice bonus.

We ate twice at Stages restaurant on the main floor: once for dinner and once for lunch and we highly recommend it. Sandra looked after us both times and was friendly, professional, prompt, and attentive without being intrusive. The food was tasty and priced quite reasonably. For dinner we had delicious veggie burgers smothered in sliced sauted mushrooms and melted cheese, accompanied by nice size side salads. For lunch we had the salmon pattie burgers with fries. The salmon patties were made from fresh salmon and not canned and were rolled in panko crumbs and perfectly cooked to our taste and the fries were good as well. Each meal came in at around $32.00 including tip, which we thought was reasonable for a meal for two.

Of course parking is not free, but we were staying on points, so the extra $17.00 a day for parking was not a problem. Even the parking lot and the parking lobbies have been refreshed with new paint and both were well lit.

We never made it to the pool, as we were quite busy while on this trip with both business and personal schedules, but understand the pool and pool area has also been renovated and updated. Maybe we will check it out next time.

We haven't stayed at this hotel for years, as things had become a little faded and tired, so we have stayed elsewhere for our last visits to the Vancouver area. We probably wouldn't have stayed here this time, but the hotel we normally stay at was full, so we thought we'd give this one another try. We had forgotten how conveniently located this hotel is in the centre of Vancouver and within walking distance of many of the places we had to go on this trip. And now with the renovation it's like staying at a brand new hotel. I am sure we will return to stay at this hotel on future visits to Vancovuer.

Room Tip: The rooms on the west side and higher up have nice views of the Burrard inlet and False Creek area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alectric9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Alectric9,


Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful and detailed review.

I am very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay here at the Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre.

Shawn and Sandra are thrilled to know that they were able to contribute to such a positive and memorable stay.

Thank you again for your kind comments. It was a pleasure having you stay with us!



Best Regards,

Danny Huang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel is super close to VGH which makes it convenient for those travelling on medical. The staff were efficient and friendly, and the rooms were clean. Nice bathroom ammenities (bath and body works) and recently renovated rooms were a plus. $5.00 cab ride to Granville Island makes this a central location for sightseeing also. Very close ($8.00 cab, or 5k walk) to downtown attractions such as Robson Street and the Vancouver aquarium. Good quality for the price. Try to book on Hotwire for a great deal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YukonMade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear YukonMade,

Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre.

I am very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you to our hotel in the near future.


Best Regards,

Danny Huang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Normally, a hotels worst rooms are directly across from the elevator. In a miraculous demonstration of lateral thinking, Holiday Inn Vancouver Center has managed to solve this problem....by creating one even worse room directly opposite the ice machine. This clever unit reminds you at least hourly, through it's series of noises, that ice is ready for your every whim. But this was just our room, and we pricelined it. It's my theory that there is a global conspiracy to disuade people from using price line by ensuring that if they do, they receive the room opposite the ice machine...or if the property lacks an ice machine I suppose accross from the elevators will do for us priceliners. That said, I think if you had any other room the rooms are just fine. Nicely updated actually and the linens, although perhaps a bit thin, were clean and soft and nice. I've written many times how much I appreciate a fridge in a room and this does not have one, perhaps due to the extremely convenient supply of ice.

It's really a great place due primarily to the staff. If this place was a 3 star, the staff definately would push it to 4. They said "yes" at every turn, and with a smile I might add. Walking distance to South Ganville's awesome shopping and to Kitsilano. If you have business anywhere around Vancouver general you're in the right place. Walking distance to that as well.

In summary: well located, excellent staff, and quite sanitary. I have no doubt I will stay here again

Room Tip: If you read my review, it might be an idea just to ask if you are near an ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HavanaBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear HavanaBob,

Thank you very much for choosing the Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre for your accommodations needs while visiting Vancouver. It was an honour to have you here as one of our many valued guests. We are terrible sorry to hear your sleep quality was not satisfactory. All of our staff are dedicated to provide each and every guest with a positive ‘home away from home’ experience. Our team treats all guests the same regardless of the booking channel used. It is a misconception for many guests that they would receive less then a standard room when using a third party booking agent. I am sorry you feel this way.

Once again, thank you very much for taking your time providing us with valuable feedback on your recent stay with us. We certainly do hope to see you again in the future.


Danny
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson on Broadway
West End
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Main
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#34 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Address: 711 West Broadway | @ Heather Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V5Z 3Y2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Shaughnessy , Fairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#36 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#45 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre Hotel (Broadway) welcomes you to vibrant Vancouver Canada. Our newly renovated hotel's location is convenient to Vancouver International Airport (YVR) and the Pacific Central Train Station, as well as the Canada Line SkyTrain Station.From business to leisure, you will find a variety of attractions and landmarks near our hotel such as Granville Island, Science World, Stanley Park, Vancouver Aquarium, University of British Columbia, Vancouver General Hospital, City Hall, Chinatown, Rogers Arena, BC Place Stadium and much more!All of our guestrooms feature contemporary décor, complimentary high speed wireless internet, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hair-dryer and a large working desk with an ergonomic chair for your comfort. With 5,700 square feet of meeting space we can accommodate events from 15 up to 300 people. Our professional and experienced catering staff members will attend to every last detail of your small meeting, large conference, or wedding and social function, so that you can sit back and enjoy your event. Unwind at our refreshed Stages Bistro & Lounge while you enjoy our new menu selection or stay active at our upgraded fitness centre, indoor swimming pool and 24 hour business centre.Start making plans for your next stay to relax and settle in to a whole new look. We look forward to welcoming you to Vancouver and the Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing