We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location for Vancouver General Hospital Visits”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Ranked #37 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Shoreline, Washington USA
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect Location for Vancouver General Hospital Visits”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We agree with the most recent reviews regarding the facility and staff. The remodel, with the exception of part of the parking garage, has been completed and well executed in a modern "Euro" style. Check-in, check-out were flawless and our requests for information/directions were met with smiles and very helfpful answers. One quibble was the out of place location of the light switch for the bathroom - it is next to the room door.

As with other guests, we chose this property for its proximity to Vancouver General Hospital and medical facilities. Most are within reasonable walking distance. The neighbourhood is busy during the day and early evening with a variety of restaurants and bistros, most reasonably priced. There is a vibrancy to the area with large numbers of young adults meeting, greeting and eating.

While we thought the price was a little high (parking is additional), it is reasonable (verified by Tripadvisor) in comparison to other centrally located Vancouver hotels and motels. Also, we recommend asking for a room with a view, with clean windows (the need for this may have been the result of heavy construction in the area).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank groupsnoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear groupsnoop,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review.

It is only through guest feedback that we can continue to improve; your comments are much appreciated.

I am very happy to hear you have enjoyed our multi million dollar renovated hotel, our convenient location as well as our wonderful service staff.

As for the windows, we do have scheduled window cleanings that are performed by a professional cleaning company; however, due to city improvement sites in the area, the outside of the windows can get dusty. Please know that our dedicated housekeeping staff is every efficient in keeping the interior spotless clean at all times.

I would like to thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre for your stay and hope that you will consider staying with us again on your next visit to Vancouver.

We will be delighted to have you staying with us!

Best regards,

Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    330
    105
    19
    17
See reviews for
182
222
68
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We are priority club members so they were so nice because there were no regular rooms available so they upgraded us to a spacious suite. The room was beautiful and there was a little bag of goodies in the room for us. We arrived a few days before our cruise off to Alaska. But the thing is that it had a nice view we could sleep very well unlike some other places and it was near the port. Awesome hotel with nice atmosphere.

Room Tip: Suites are very nice and Spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the98dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear 98dude,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review; I am very happy to hear you had a pleasant experience at a Holiday Inn hotel.

We are the Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre located on West Broadway and we are not a suite hotel, you could have possibly mistaken us with the Holiday Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver, located on 1110 Howe Street.

Please do not hesitate to give our property a try on your next visit to Vancouver, I am sure our newly renovated hotel and convenient location will exceed your expectations!

Kind regards,

Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okanagan Falls, BC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were in Vancouver for an appointment with the Pacific laser eye centre which is also located on Broadway. We had a room on the 11th floor. It was very clean and comfortable all around. We found the staff efficient and courteous and I especially liked their speedy check-out. The elevators were a bit slow because of a large meeting, however, the hotel did post notices by the elevator doors to alert guests. Unfortunately there is a $17 charge for parking. On the plus side, the garage is part of the hotel, so it is convenient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sailorman73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Sailorman73,

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre and our very convenient location.

I will make sure to pass on your kind comments to our front desk staff; I’m sure they will be happy to know you had a pleasant experience as I know our team is always striving to provide our guests smooth and efficient service.

Our parking lot is managed by a third party company; unfortunately we cannot change the rates but please note that the $17.00 a day is already a discounted rate offered for hotel guests. I apologize if it caused you any inconveniences.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Best regards,

Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This hotel is a typical Holiday Inn but exceeds their usual standards for cleanliness, politeness and all round quality of service. We stayed for 3 days and thoroughly enjoyed it. The only criticism I would have for this hotel is reserved for the bar/restaurant area. Two nights out of three when we entered the bar all the tables had been set for breakfast - a bit strange at 9.00pm and does not encourage you to stay for either a drink or a meal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear davefoster11,

Thank you very much for staying at the Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre and for taking the time to give us your feedback.

I am happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay and our overall quality standard.

As to your comments about our restaurant; please know that I will direct your comments to the restaurant manager and make sure this will be corrected. I apologize for any inconveniences that may have caused you.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, N.Z.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here even though jack-hammers were being used on the next floor all day! We were pleasantly surprised to see the interior of the hotel as the outside looked dingy. The staff were very helpful and the location was excellent. The subway was only 150 metres walk and we caught it to the airport for only $6.00 each. (Sunday special).

Room Tip: Ask for a newly refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Wendy K,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review.

I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay here at the Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre and appreciated our staff and convenient location.

I believe you will be happy to know that we have now completed our hotel renovations and the exterior is now looking as stunning as the inside! I would also like to apologize for the noise created by the jack-hammers that were needed for the final stage of our renovation.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Vancouver.

Best Regards,

Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Good things to say about this hotel. Newly refurbished clean and modern rooms, very helpful and friendly staff, lovely food, nice toiletries. Lifts are a little scarce at times- could do with another 1 or 2!! Free wifi which is great. 2 blocks away from the sky train subway which will bring you into the city centre in under 5 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fifinelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Fifinely,

Thank you for writing this review and sharing your experience.

I am glad to know you have enjoyed our newly renovated rooms and facilities as well as our convenient location.

I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the elevators might have caused you; unfortunately, we are not able to add another elevator due to space limitations. However, our elevators have been newly remodeled and both have intelligent onboard software, making our elevators more efficient.

Again, thank you very much for staying at the Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Best regards,

Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Friends and I rented 3 rooms for a 2 day weekend party in Vancouver. Hotel was lovely, well staffed, with great views. Clean rooms with nice shampoo's. Great views of the city. For such a nice, really well located hotel, I couldn't believe how inexpensive it was- literally half the price of most other hotels we considered.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chaunat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Chaunat,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. I am happy to know you have enjoyed your stay here at the Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Vancouver.

Best regards,

Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
South Main
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
West End
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,721 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#61 of 92 in Vancouver
883 reviews
Granville Island & Fairview
Granville Island Hotel
Granville Island Hotel
#20 of 92 in Vancouver
2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Address: 711 West Broadway | @ Heather Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V5Z 3Y2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Shaughnessy , Fairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#36 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#45 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre Hotel (Broadway) welcomes you to vibrant Vancouver Canada. Our newly renovated hotel's location is convenient to Vancouver International Airport (YVR) and the Pacific Central Train Station, as well as the Canada Line SkyTrain Station.From business to leisure, you will find a variety of attractions and landmarks near our hotel such as Granville Island, Science World, Stanley Park, Vancouver Aquarium, University of British Columbia, Vancouver General Hospital, City Hall, Chinatown, Rogers Arena, BC Place Stadium and much more!All of our guestrooms feature contemporary décor, complimentary high speed wireless internet, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hair-dryer and a large working desk with an ergonomic chair for your comfort. With 5,700 square feet of meeting space we can accommodate events from 15 up to 300 people. Our professional and experienced catering staff members will attend to every last detail of your small meeting, large conference, or wedding and social function, so that you can sit back and enjoy your event. Unwind at our refreshed Stages Bistro & Lounge while you enjoy our new menu selection or stay active at our upgraded fitness centre, indoor swimming pool and 24 hour business centre.Start making plans for your next stay to relax and settle in to a whole new look. We look forward to welcoming you to Vancouver and the Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, IHG, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing