We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vancouver Marathon weekend - Canada line friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Ranked #35 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Vancouver Marathon weekend - Canada line friendly”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

My sister in law and I walked the half-marathon and wanted to base near the start line. This hotel was a perfect location for getting to and from all points of the race - registration, start and returning from the finish at Canada Place. We were not driving, so we did not have to deal with or pay for parking. I was a bit surprised at the rates in the hotel's parking garage for short term parking. Visitors will want to find a metered spot on the street. We ate lunch in the hotel's restaurant - very tasty, decor was very serene. However, this hotel is close to many great restaurants so there is lots of choice within walking distance. Amenities nearby - grocery store, London Drugs, lots of public transit - Canada Line is 2 blocks away. The hotel is being renovated - we were not bothered by any noise. I would definitely book here again next year.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mstringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your valuable comments. We are indeed in an excellent location, where close to many great restaurants, sightseeing destinations and shopping centres as we are located in the centre of Vancouver. Parking rate in Vancouver is generally quite high due to limited spaces; however, we do provide discounts for guests staying in the hotel. It is $17 over night compare to $38 if you pay the meter. As for renovations, we are near the end of the project, while waiting for the parking lot, driveway, and exterior wall to finish. We are hoping to have everything completed by the end of the year. We have completed all renovations inside the building, such a guest rooms, restaurant, indoor pool, fitness centre, and the lobby. We look forward to see you again next year!


Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    320
    103
    18
    15
See reviews for
177
214
66
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed several days while visiting a relative who was attending the nearby university (UBC). The hotel was convenient because we could take the train from the airport to within two blocks of the hotel so there was no fussing with taxis or bus transfers, etc. Similarly it was easy to walk to the station to get downtown quickly and the bus service in front of the hotel was great. If you come by car parking at the hotel is easy but cost $17/day.

Inside the hotel is still undergoing renovation just as it was a year ago when we last stayed there. The difference this year is that we were in one of the newly renovated rooms. The renovation is not cosmetic as most seem to be these days. It appears that the rooms were stripped bare and completely redone – new bathtubs, new wiring, etc. If felt like you were in a new building.

We experienced competent professional service from the desk staff and every day we were there the room was made up while we were at breakfast.
We had a room on the 12th floor facing east with a lovely view over down town Vancouver. We will stay there again if the prices remain anywhere near what they were during this stay.

Room Tip: Ask for higher room looking out over Vancouver
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EsoxL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable comments. Our hotel is still going through some minor renovations. We are currently working on resurfacing the parking levels, remodeling of exterior walls, as well as the driveway and main entrance of the hotel. The renovations itself is indeed not just cosmetic as you mentioned. We even changed all the pipes behind the walls. As for services at the hotel, we strive to provide you with the best experience possible during your stay. Of course, we hope to be your designated hotel during your next visit to Vancouver.

Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

This is our second visit to this hotel.Staff are great, hotel very nice and close to downtown, Granville Island is a nice walk along the seawall. Rooms are very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre for accommodations while visiting Vancouver. We strive to provide you with a great experience. If there is anything we can do to enhance your stay at our hotel during your future visits, please do not hesitate to let us know. We will do our best to accommodate your requests.

Thank you for your valuable comments.



Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

I live in Vancouver and my brother and I needed a place to stay while doing renos on the house. We booked two rooms, $180 each. Way too expensive for the noise, the inconsiderateness, the total lack of customer service. They were doing power washing daily,noise, noise, noise. Bar refused to deliver a drink to the room (too late for room service) and wouldn't let me carry it up. No guests in sight, so pure laziness. Next night power shut off after 1 in morning, but restaurant and bar close before 9 "to prepare." NO notice at all. Shut off access to one of our rooms because no clothes there, though we were prepaid, and lived in town. Claimed we booked that room for one night, though paperwork showed otherwise. They tried to double charge us for that. Put us in"newly renovated" rooms--don't even want to imagine the yet-to-be renovated rooms. Scuzzy, grimy, smelly for the renovated rooms. Would never recommend this place to anyone. Felt sorry for those checking in tonight who were going to face a planned power failure and no discount. Find somewhere else to stay in Vancouver--this place reflects horribly on a great city.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Africa_Queen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the comments and we sincerely apologize for your experience at our hotel.

Re: Power Washing - As you are aware, our hotel is currently under renovation (exterior wall, and parking levels). We are doing our best to inform our guests and potential guests about the renovation status by updating the information on the hotel branded site, as well as having letters in each guest room. We also provided all arrival guests with an information sheet, which has the updated renovation information on it.

Re: Power Shutdown - In terms of the power shut down in the morning, this was something that was planned and required by the City of Vancouver for inspection purposes. We placed notices in the elevators, at the front desk, as well as by the elevator, and in each hallway; of course, we certainly understand that not all guests would have a chance to read the letter. We apologize for not able to deliver the message to you by your preferred method.

Re: Number of night’s discrepancy – We only pre-authorize our guest’s credit cards at the time of check in; we do not take the full payment, regardless on how many nights you planned to stay until the check out date. There seemed to be a miscommunication about the room status as it was found vacant the next day. Our standard procedure was to double lock the room and wait for guest return until the end of the day, in many cases, guest left without informing the hotel staff, which would result in a nightly charge. This was done to avoid charging the guest for the extra night when not necessary.

Re: Room Smelly – All of our rooms are newly renovated, we certainly understand that some of the rooms might still have the new furnishing smell as everything in the room are brand new.

Re: Refuse to deliver drink to room and won’t let guest take up – It is a bylaw that no alcoholic drinks are allowed in any public areas, unless handled by qualified staff during delivery. We have spoken with the staff, about this procedure and apologize for the inconvenience. Our manager on duty spoke with you and applied discount as an apology.

Once again, we thank you for your valuable comments. Please let us know if you have further questions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

This is an average Holiday Inn property. I stayed here for two nights back in December 2011 and I just getting around to writing this review now. Back then it was going through renovations, so it was fairly loud.

Other than that, I found my stay there to be equivalent to a standard Holiday Inn stay anywhere else. That said, staff was very friendly and the location of the hotel is pretty good.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtraveller3654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for writing this review. Our hotel is under going a major renovation, which you noticed back in December. As of now our hotel lobby, pool and fitness centre, meeting rooms, restaurant and all guestrooms are completely renovated.

We are currently working on our parking levels and exterior walls of the hotel. We hope to see you again in the future to experience our completely renovated hotel.


Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

This hotel is used by a lot of people who are having surgery at hospitals or private clinics. I'm here for a couple of sinus operations nearby over the next three weeks. As such I wanted a really nice room I could recuperate in. I looked at the rooms here and chose 1511 because it was large, had a balcony and was away from the elevators. When I booked the room online I requested that room. I also asked the Dr. office to request the room for the next surgery. Then I had a friend come in- in person to confirm the room. Then I called the night before my arrival to reconfirm the room and the rate because I wanted to have food delivered.

So I fly in, arrive late as planned and not only had they given the room away, they put me in a room behind the elevators with no balcony. You've got to be kidding me. I have no other options to stay nearby so will stay put but this is about as bad as it gets.

Room Tip: An 11, 13, 29 or 30 room would be best. This hotel is still under construction. But obviously even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ohdoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review. room 1511 is an upgraded room. Your first reservation was booked through booking . com and it was booked under a standard room, with close to $50 per night difference, we are unable to provide a free upgrade to 1511. We certainly did not give the room away as it was never reserved for it. Our managers on duty have room moved twice and provided with a upgrade to a similar type of room, and more. We did everything we could to assist you in any way.


Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre for 3 days in March 2012. I chose this hotel because of its proximity to Vancouver General Hospital. The walk from the hotel to the hospital is a few easy blocks. I use to work on this section of Broadway so know there are always plenty of good restaurants and coffee shops (Tim Hortons or Starbucks) nearby.

I booked a modern room with a king size bed on the 15th floor. The room was very fresh/new and comfortable with a lovely view of Granville Street Bridge and False Creek. Not being fond of heights, the small balcony was too scary for me and there were no chairs to sit on outside. The room was super quiet with a small fridge, coffee pot, iron and board , free wifi, daily paper and nice television so all the basic comforts were attended to. The heat/air conditioner unit was a bit loud when turned on but the “white noise” helped with sleep.

The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. Housekeeping did a great job of tidying the room daily. Check in and out were a breeze and luggage stored for collection later was handled promptly without issues. The lobby was partially under construction but had no effect on my stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank lovemydogandhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the review. We are currently working on getting AC units replaced. However, it is a slow process.

Thank you.

Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson on Broadway
South Main
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#48 of 90 in Vancouver
1,398 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 90 in Vancouver
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Address: 711 West Broadway | @ Heather Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V5Z 3Y2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Shaughnessy , Fairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#36 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#45 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre Hotel (Broadway) welcomes you to vibrant Vancouver Canada. Our newly renovated hotel's location is convenient to Vancouver International Airport (YVR) and the Pacific Central Train Station, as well as the Canada Line SkyTrain Station.From business to leisure, you will find a variety of attractions and landmarks near our hotel such as Granville Island, Science World, Stanley Park, Vancouver Aquarium, University of British Columbia, Vancouver General Hospital, City Hall, Chinatown, Rogers Arena, BC Place Stadium and much more!All of our guestrooms feature contemporary décor, complimentary high speed wireless internet, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hair-dryer and a large working desk with an ergonomic chair for your comfort. With 5,700 square feet of meeting space we can accommodate events from 15 up to 300 people. Our professional and experienced catering staff members will attend to every last detail of your small meeting, large conference, or wedding and social function, so that you can sit back and enjoy your event. Unwind at our refreshed Stages Bistro & Lounge while you enjoy our new menu selection or stay active at our upgraded fitness centre, indoor swimming pool and 24 hour business centre.Start making plans for your next stay to relax and settle in to a whole new look. We look forward to welcoming you to Vancouver and the Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing