We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a very fortunate change of mind”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Ranked #35 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“a very fortunate change of mind”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

I was originally booked in the Park Inns and Suites which is close by. after the first day of staying there, I am determined to find an alternate hotel. the room is small, and had no refrigerator, not much in the room to use when you are planning for a long stay, although the room had a view of downtown Vancouver. They had wireless but is not secure. the business center is a corner table in the lobby. after breakfast, i took a walk and came across Holiday Inn. I walked up to the front desk and asked for the rate, the rate was cheaper than what had been advertised in all the cheap hotel internet deals. The room is spaceous, the breakfast is complimentary since the hotel is being renovated. The staff are trying to accomodate us as much as they can, very friendly, very accomodating. they truly made my visit to my mom's senior home a more pleasant one and easier than I thought this would be. thank you.

Room Tip: no comments, the rooms and hall ways are super quiet and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the review. We are currently working on the fridge issue as only the rooms on the top two floors have fridges, regardless of room type. We will also put fridges in the lower corner rooms with balcony (upgrade rooms).

Thank you.

Danny
GSM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    312
    101
    18
    15
See reviews for
173
210
64
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

Had a great stay (2 weeks!) in a renovated room on the 15th floor in November. Great location for travelling throughout the Vancouver area on business without having to worry too much about downtown traffic. I've stayed here before the renovations and they are definitely a lovely improvement!

Staff were super friendly and as others have mentioned, the hotel is undergoing renovations throughout and are totally up front about it. I never had an issue with noise as I was out of the hotel for most of the day while it was noisy.

My one issue is that I was to be upgraded to a deluxe king room or whatever (w/ platnium IHG) but the king rooms don't have refrigerators and I was hoping to have one considering I was there for two weeks. There was going to be an additional charge (I think $10/day?) to have a fridge put in but the rooms with queen sized beds HAD refrigerators so I declined the upgrade and stuck with the room that had a fridge in it already.
If I were the hotel, I would have considered putting fridges in all the rooms!

Parking was easy and never full, just registered with the front desk.

Great stay and I would stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natchee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Coola Valley BC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

This property is within short walks of Vancouver General Hospital, BC Cancer Agency and other clinics. While it is presently undergoing major renovations, they were up front about it both on reservation and registration. Noise was not intrusive and the newly completed areas are very nicely finished and furnished. Handy to a range of restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuncMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

I stayed here for a week of business travel as it is close to the office. I was nervous about the bad reviews regarding construction and renovations. I had no problem...I was in a renovated room, and it was big, clean and had a nice view of False Creek. The hotel was what I would expect for this type of travel and was good value for the money.

The only downfall was since it isn't downtown dining options past 9:30-10 pm were slim. And that includes room service.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTrails1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

I've been using this hotel a couple of times during the past 2 years.
Always friendly service and good value for money.
Easy access to Skytrain and lots of good restaurants nearby.
A lot of improvements are being done to the hotel recently, which was needed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sgellert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

Staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is a little tired looking and when we stayed the pool was undergoing refurbishment so was unusable. Price was a little expensive for the overall quality. Good location for a short walk to Granville Island. Easy to get taxis. Reasonable restaurants close by.

Room Tip: Good views from higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonesRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

I stayed here for two nights as part of a business trip. The hotel was conveniently located about a 10 minute walk from the office and that was the deciding factor. The room was on the 11th floor and I was initially concerned because it was right next to the elevator, but other than the occasional dinging from the elevator I never noticed any noise.

I didn't have to deal with the staff at all but they were pleasant during check-in and check-out.

The bed was very comfortable and the room I was in appeared to be newly updated with a nice bathroom and newer furnishings including a flat screened TV.

I didn't spend a lot of time in the room, was there basically to sleep - felt very safe wandering around in the evening, even taking a walk down to the waterfront didn't cause me any concern. As others have mentioned, there are all sorts of eateries within a few minutes and most other stores as well.

I didn't experience construction noise issues, but I was generally out the door by 7:00 a.m. It might have been nice to have a gym, but I got my exercise by walking around the surrounding neighbourhoods.

I'll stay there again without any hesitation. It may not be for tourists but for anyone that has to be in the area, it certainly seemed fine to me.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson on Broadway
West End
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Main
BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Address: 711 West Broadway | @ Heather Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V5Z 3Y2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Shaughnessy , Fairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#36 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#45 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre Hotel (Broadway) welcomes you to vibrant Vancouver Canada. Our newly renovated hotel's location is convenient to Vancouver International Airport (YVR) and the Pacific Central Train Station, as well as the Canada Line SkyTrain Station.From business to leisure, you will find a variety of attractions and landmarks near our hotel such as Granville Island, Science World, Stanley Park, Vancouver Aquarium, University of British Columbia, Vancouver General Hospital, City Hall, Chinatown, Rogers Arena, BC Place Stadium and much more!All of our guestrooms feature contemporary décor, complimentary high speed wireless internet, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hair-dryer and a large working desk with an ergonomic chair for your comfort. With 5,700 square feet of meeting space we can accommodate events from 15 up to 300 people. Our professional and experienced catering staff members will attend to every last detail of your small meeting, large conference, or wedding and social function, so that you can sit back and enjoy your event. Unwind at our refreshed Stages Bistro & Lounge while you enjoy our new menu selection or stay active at our upgraded fitness centre, indoor swimming pool and 24 hour business centre.Start making plans for your next stay to relax and settle in to a whole new look. We look forward to welcoming you to Vancouver and the Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing