We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Things That Go "Bump"...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Ranked #35 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Things That Go "Bump"...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

This was my first time staying here.

The positives:

Nice bar/restaurant on site
Attentive staff
Very nice, clean room
Great location

The negatives:

Concrete on the balcony was filthy and had moss growing on it
Renovation construction started very early in the morning, and it was noisy before 8:00am

When I reserved this room, I reserved a room with a balcony. When I checked in, I got to my room and discovered it did NOT have a balcony, despite balcony rooms being available. The staff got me into a balcony room in short order, but it never should've been an issue.

The morning construction was another story. Banging on the walls at 7:45am was rather unwelcome. As someone who travels on business, and does business from his hotel room, I had to contend with the incessant banging while on the phone.

If I stay here again, I'll call first to find out if there is any construction and/or renovation going on. If there is, I think I might choose another hotel. If there's no construction or renovations happening, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveParr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    312
    101
    18
    15
See reviews for
173
210
64
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

as we stayed there in march the hotel was undergoing construction @ the time. we go to vancouver to see medical specialist so we are always there for @ week @ a time every 6 months now. the staff was very rude @ the front desk<< on the website it did not say anything about renovations which they tried to tell me it did. one of the main reasons we booked a room there was location & the swimming pool which was closed.. only 1 elevator was working and when it did show up 20 minutes later it was full of the construction workers so we had to wait even longer.. not to mention if u take the stairs from the 9th floor with a 3 year old & a stroller u always got to move the workers ladders out of the way..... i was just gonna book here again hoping the pool is open but after reading the reviews i will pass and stay elsewhere. also it sucked waking up @ 5am to listen to drilling & banging.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unhappymomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

Nice rooms good staff, not good business ctr, have to pay to acess internet. Wi-Fi did not work in room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nord2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

Since I read all the reviews before my trip, I did not have high expectations for this hotel. Howver, I picked it because the location was very important to me and I only stayed one night. I am happy to say that the room was quiet, spotless, yes somewhat dated, but acceptable. I did not see any sign of renovations, although the staff warned me of pool closures and gym closure. The restaurant breakfast was very reasonable, and for the first time, I saw fresh berries and lots of frest fruit on the buffet.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller21421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

The place was undergoing renovations. But other than the fact that pool & fitness center were closed, there was no impact on our stay. We requested a room with a view of the downtown and they gave us what they could with an angled view of the Granville bridge. The hotel is a little dated, but still felt clean and well maintained. We had their buffet on both days which was decent. The fresh fruits in the buffet were the highlight for us.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orchids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

reserved with some trepidation, given reviews. The hotel is very well-located, a 3-minute walk from the Skytrain, and thus has very easy access to downtown, the airport, bus to ferries at Tsawassen. The room had been fully renovated and was impeccably clean. Both elevators and working and I had no problems accessing my floor. the staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. My room on the 6th floor had a wonderful view of the Burrard Bridge and Stanley park and distant mountains. there was some very muted power-tool noise during working hours, but absolutely no problems or noise between 5PM and 7:30 AM. the pool is still out of commission. As to complaints about the restaurant: frankly, anyone expecting gourmet food at a hotel restaurant is usually barking up the wrong tree ! There are many restaurants (Asian, Italian, vegetarian..) and coffee shops in the immediate area of the hotel. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montreal7565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

HI Vancouver centre... is not center at all, but 4 underground stops from there, at least change the name! Hotels is an ugly '70 or '80th building, reception, restaurant and rooms as well. Breakfast was not a pleasant experience, croissants were at least 2 days old, and even if u r "b&b" they ask some 6 bucks extra for it! Rooms are and looks old. They say they r under renovations, meanwhile better to remove Hi sign, not to disappoint usual Hi customers, not expecting luxury service but for sure something better

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sar1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson on Broadway
West End
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Main
BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Address: 711 West Broadway | @ Heather Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V5Z 3Y2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Shaughnessy , Fairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#36 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#45 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre Hotel (Broadway) welcomes you to vibrant Vancouver Canada. Our newly renovated hotel's location is convenient to Vancouver International Airport (YVR) and the Pacific Central Train Station, as well as the Canada Line SkyTrain Station.From business to leisure, you will find a variety of attractions and landmarks near our hotel such as Granville Island, Science World, Stanley Park, Vancouver Aquarium, University of British Columbia, Vancouver General Hospital, City Hall, Chinatown, Rogers Arena, BC Place Stadium and much more!All of our guestrooms feature contemporary décor, complimentary high speed wireless internet, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hair-dryer and a large working desk with an ergonomic chair for your comfort. With 5,700 square feet of meeting space we can accommodate events from 15 up to 300 people. Our professional and experienced catering staff members will attend to every last detail of your small meeting, large conference, or wedding and social function, so that you can sit back and enjoy your event. Unwind at our refreshed Stages Bistro & Lounge while you enjoy our new menu selection or stay active at our upgraded fitness centre, indoor swimming pool and 24 hour business centre.Start making plans for your next stay to relax and settle in to a whole new look. We look forward to welcoming you to Vancouver and the Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing