We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Ranked #35 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2011

HI Vancouver centre... is not center at all, but 4 underground stops from there, at least change the name! Hotels is an ugly '70 or '80th building, reception, restaurant and rooms as well. Breakfast was not a pleasant experience, croissants were at least 2 days old, and even if u r "b&b" they ask some 6 bucks extra for it! Rooms are and looks old. They say they r under renovations, meanwhile better to remove Hi sign, not to disappoint usual Hi customers, not expecting luxury service but for sure something better

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sar1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (709)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

577 - 583 of 709 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2011

The hotel is ideally placed once you realize that the metro system has a stop just 2 blocks away- which we didn't until the end of our last day! The hotel is also close to the excellent Milestones restaurant. Undergoing renovations (desperately needed) the pool is closed at the moment. A new block is going up behind the hotel (3 meters away) and they start work at 7.30am. This is noisy but has also removed the view of Vancouver from any rooms on that side. Rooms are large and contain everything you need. The wifi is a bit flaky but there was an ethernet cable as well which worked fine for uploading to dropbox.

Not a lot else to say- decor is tired but being addressed, the neighbourhood is fine with very many ethnic restaurants. Parking is on site and $17 a day for guests.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Like a lot of Holiday Inns, they really don't want you to be comfortable in your room, unless you're sleeping. Two huge beds, but only one pretty uncomfortable easy chair. The staff eventually found us another one, equally uncomfortable. After a long day seeing the City, we really wanted to relax, sitting, not lying.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerdaveUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Unfortunately I booked the Holiday Inn for a 2.5 week stay while visiting family in Vancouver. I was not informed that the hotel was undergoing renovations; that there was no swimming pool; there was no exercise facility; that the prices remained unadjusted for their deficiencies.

My room had paint peeling in every aspect; old bathroom fixtures; old furniture; inadequate electrical outlets.

Power was off for most of one day, and elevators were not serviceable at some times.

I requested significant reduction in the cost of the inadequate facilities, but I was not even afforded the benefit of AAA discount to which I was entitled. After talking to several people at the hotel and to a general complaint line to which I was referred, I moved out. The Park Lane Hotel across the street was better and less expensive.

Don't patronize this facility unless you check first to find out about the status of their renovation and their prices. Look at other locations and hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TopCut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

I visitied this Hotel for a dual birthday getaway of one of my friends and I. The Hotel was great along with its amenities ( pool, business center, restaurant, room service ) the only thing is that we just realized that you have to pay for breakfast for a full service Holiday Inn, but it was our fault for not checking. Otherwise the entire stay was a success and we had a tremendous time.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khirina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

This is a old downtown Holiday Inn with small rooms and limited amenities. When we arrived there was a sign saying no pool, hot tub or workout room as they were undergoing renovations, so I asked for a discount. The very surly staff informed me that the price quoted was a dicounted price. We paid over $200.00 per night and our AAA guide said this was the normal rate. Any time I asked for anything at the desk I was treated like I had asked for the moon and they were only helping me because I would not take no for an answer! The parking is $18 per night extra even though the sign at the parking structure states parking to be $15.00. Stay anywhere else in the city and get a better deal and a nicer room.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret32201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Don't be fooled. Despite the renovations, this hotel is a pit. There's construction on one side of the hotel, so you're likely to be awakened at 5am, as we were. The lobby is frightful. The restaurant is expensive for mediocre food ($60 for a family of four for breakfast). And, the management couldn't have cared less when we complained about advertised amenities that weren't available or the construction. No matter the cost, I wish we had never stayed there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dcpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#60 of 92 in Vancouver
912 reviews
South Main
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,742 reviews
West End
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Granville Island & Fairview
Granville Island Hotel
Granville Island Hotel
#20 of 92 in Vancouver
2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre

Address: 711 West Broadway | @ Heather Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V5Z 3Y2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Shaughnessy , Fairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#36 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#45 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $149 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre Hotel (Broadway) welcomes you to vibrant Vancouver Canada. Our newly renovated hotel's location is convenient to Vancouver International Airport (YVR) and the Pacific Central Train Station, as well as the Canada Line SkyTrain Station.From business to leisure, you will find a variety of attractions and landmarks near our hotel such as Granville Island, Science World, Stanley Park, Vancouver Aquarium, University of British Columbia, Vancouver General Hospital, City Hall, Chinatown, Rogers Arena, BC Place Stadium and much more!All of our guestrooms feature contemporary décor, complimentary high speed wireless internet, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hair-dryer and a large working desk with an ergonomic chair for your comfort. With 5,700 square feet of meeting space we can accommodate events from 15 up to 300 people. Our professional and experienced catering staff members will attend to every last detail of your small meeting, large conference, or wedding and social function, so that you can sit back and enjoy your event. Unwind at our refreshed Stages Bistro & Lounge while you enjoy our new menu selection or stay active at our upgraded fitness centre, indoor swimming pool and 24 hour business centre.Start making plans for your next stay to relax and settle in to a whole new look. We look forward to welcoming you to Vancouver and the Holiday Inn Vancouver-Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing