We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostelling International Vancouver Central
Jihlava, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed in this hostel only for one night. I cant compare if the price is good according to the qouality because we spend all the rest of our holiday in a motorhome...

We had a private room, the view from the room was to the inner part of buildings which was not so good, but...it is a hostel. OK. On the other hand rooms with view to the street must be really noise, because you are sleeping on the most busiest club street in Vancouver.

The room was clean, bed absolutely OK, there was also a basin in the room. Toilets and showers are in the corridor and other quest can you them as well.

We were quite surprised with the breakfast - varieties of sweet stuff, milk, juice, tea nad coffee. Really good for a hostel. Just there was not enought space for everybody, so we had to wait a while, but...no rush, we were on holiday!

And finally - the location is absolutely superb - just 5-10 minut walk from the waterfront.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    127
    72
    22
    12
See reviews for
11
68
114
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

My girlfriend and I had a private room on the 4th floor here for three nights in June. The view from the window of a building site was less that impressive, but everything else was more than we expected. The room was more like a hotel room than a hostel, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was all we needed from it. It was a surprise to have our room cleaned each day! Breakfast was toast, muffins and fruit and coffee and set us up really well. The staff were very friendly and the location of the hostel is very good - right on a main street and about a ten minute walk from the waterfront. It's right on the edge of where town gets 'interesting' I suppose - walking away from the water certainly feels like you're getting to more characterful areas at night, but never felt unsafe. It's also nice that it's a walkable distance from Granville island if you don't mind a little hike over the bridge. Best of all it was quiet, and although the air con was a little noisy, it worked well, so no need to crack the window and get street noise.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randomguess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Irlande
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

You cant expect more for the price you pay, or maybe a real kitchen (only two microwaves is not enough for people staying for a week or more).
Staff at the front desk is very nice and helpful.
The hostel is quite clean, quiet.
Rooms are ok (I stayed in a 4 beds dormitory) and locker is big.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clemy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
129 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a great value for what you pay, and the location can't be beat. We had a private room with bath, and the bathroom was very spacious, clean and had been recently updated. The shared facilities are a little dingy, but with character. There is no parking on site, however you can park at the Downtown HI, just six blocks away, for only $9.75 until late the next morning. That's a great deal if you need to park a car!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
116 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Great location in the middle of Granville St but no party noise in the rooms at night. Very clean rooms and bathrooms and cheap tickets to the hockey too! Overall a great place to stay, though I feel the Samesun across the street is better for meeting people and partying.

I did have a problem with the lock on the door being broken and being unable to get into my room once or twice, though this problem was addressed the same day and I was relocated to another room with a working lock.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripMember112420141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

I would never recommend this hostel to anyone. I was there for 3 nights in 2012 and had a terrible experiency. First of all, I booked my stay in their website in a 4 bed dorm only for girls and when arrived there the guy in the reception told me they had no spot in 'only girls' rooms, so i would rather stay in a mixed one or find another hostel (it was 11pm). Beyond that, the rooms were dirty and badly cared and the air conditioner made a lot of noise, disturbing my sleep. TERRIBLE!

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Karlaalmeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

I enjoyed this hostel in most respects. The beds are very comfortable, solid wooden bunks, probably some of the better hostel bunks I have slept in. A quiet hostel, the room was nice and quiet, didn't really hear any other people through the walls. The overall atmosphere was quieter than other hostels, not many people seem to hang out in the common areas.
My only real problem with this hostel is it has no decent kitchen, it only has an express kitchen; it has a fridge, plates, forks, cups etc, and microwaves. No ovens at all. A bit hard to cook stuff, and this was frustrating for us, as we like to cook our own meals, as cheaper.
Free breakfasts were good, muffins, toast, bagels, cereals.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#50 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,325 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International Vancouver Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International Vancouver Central

Property: Hostelling International Vancouver Central
Address: 1025 Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1L4, Canada (Formerly Royal Hotel)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostelling International Vancouver Central 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smack dab in the middle of Granville Street's pub and club district, we're one of the newest Vancouver hostels -- and if you're angling for access to all the partying and good times you could want, without compromising on security, comfort, and cleanliness, then we're where you want to be!If you're looking for the fun of a hostel, but still want privacy, you'll love our ensuite private rooms (cable TV included!) and our two-bed dorms. These are our most popular room types, so make sure to book in advance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hostelling International Vancouver Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International Vancouver Central Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing