We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“OK stay-a little cramped” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostelling International Vancouver Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostelling International Vancouver Central
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OK stay-a little cramped”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Room was incredibly cramped and not really cleaned properly. On arrival, we were informed they didnt have our reservation. Good breakfast though; cereal, fruit, muffins, bagels, breads, scones. Good location, close to shopping and bar/clubs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbyrne87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    123
    72
    22
    12
See reviews for
10
67
111
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

the people at front desk are so bad at customer service one in particular so rude. Dont even bother about asking for help and ideas walk across to samesun hostel for that. Apart from the rude staff who are always on face book and their phone the hostel in awesome location clean as bathrooms are nice clean and private and hostel is quiet to. also good security on doors all rooms include larger lockers

Room Tip: was in 4 bed girks good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VCTHostelManager, Manager at Hostelling International Vancouver Central, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
I'm very sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience with customer service at our front desk. We strive to give excellent service to our guests, but it sounds like we failed badly in this case. I've messaged you privately to discuss this further. Glad to hear that you did find us clean and secure, and that you liked our location. Kind Regards, Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here late August for my final days of my cross Canada trip.
Must say I can't complain about much, but the room sizes are just unacceptable. Having stayed in many hostels this surprised me.
The lockers are tiny as well, and due to small room there is no other storage cabinet.
Did also not like the sink in the room which was dirty most of the time.
However, did love the rich breakfast and the atmosphere.
The location is excellent too, right in the heart of Vancouver's night life, within easy reach of all downtown attractions.
Staff are helpful, knowledgable and friendly.
Make great recommendations as to what to do. The hostel also organises its own events which are great because some of them involve going to the Hi Downtown which makes it easier to link up with people. The pub crawls are fun and so are the day trips!
Would recommend and will return, but hopefully they will get new carpets and increase room sizes.

Room Tip: Try to get a private room, as they are much bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adaldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
105 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We booked a private room but the rooms really needs to be rebuilt. The hostel is quite old and is a little bit dirty, The kitchen for breakfast is tiny and it smells very bad. The best thing is that the location is really good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MangosdBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Don't expect luxury, or nice decoration, or little commodities. This a youth hostel. You will get bare walls (recently painted though) and no furniture. But do expect cleanliness and a gorgeous included breakfast: 3 kind of cereal, milk, juices, coffee, buns, 2 kinds of muffins, fresh apples...

It is in the best possible place for youngsters. Right in the middle of everything. Granville Street is the core of Vancouver downtown. Fridays and Saturdays bars and disco-pubs sizzle. Packed with shops and places to eat. You can walk almost anywhere from there: 5 minutes to Davie Street, the spine of the West End, 5 minutes to Yaletown with its glamorous brickwalled restaurants and posh cafes, 10 minutes from the train station that takes you to the airport, 15 minutes from the docks at Canada Place and the bus that takes you to Stanley Park...

Kindness of staff varies: we had a very helpful and nice guy, a meek guy not very helpful at all, a stiff woman who at least was able to give useful advice...

Shared bathrooms were complete units, which was convenient and were cleaned very often. Rooms had a washbasin, also very suitable.
Every room had lockers but you need to bring your own padlock.

Another plus is that it has an elevator... which is luxury in most budget accomodations, especially after have carried heavy bags around for several days.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xenale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Great location, clean, safe.... but boring as hell.


Stayed here a couple of times over winter and I've never known such a drab boring hostel... and on every occasion was the same deal.
Stayed here to avoid the noise/party across the road at the Samesun but not entirely sure which I would recommend over the other.
If you aren't looking for anything too exciting this is your place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Location: Right on the main street of shops, resturants, bars, clubs and other entertainment. Easy to catch public transport as its close to bus and train stations. Can walk to the waterfront in 15mins. Great pizza place on the courner is cheap and perfect for late night cravings.

Staff: Super friendly. Able to help with everything we needed and assisted us beyond the expected. Fun activites are offered every day at the hostel.

Rooms: Very comfortable. Clean. Good bathrooms, however some do not lock properly and its hard to tell that until someone accidently walks in on you. Good common rooms. Very easy to meet other travelers and make friends. The kitchen is small but the free breakfast is great and endless.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanberraKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 90 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,300 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#4 of 90 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 90 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#50 of 90 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Granville Street
Executive Hotel Vintage Park
Executive Hotel Vintage Park
#52 of 90 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#10 of 90 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International Vancouver Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International Vancouver Central

Property: Hostelling International Vancouver Central
Address: 1025 Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1L4, Canada (Formerly Royal Hotel)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smack dab in the middle of Granville Street's pub and club district, we're one of the newest Vancouver hostels -- and if you're angling for access to all the partying and good times you could want, without compromising on security, comfort, and cleanliness, then we're where you want to be!If you're looking for the fun of a hostel, but still want privacy, you'll love our ensuite private rooms (cable TV included!) and our two-bed dorms. These are our most popular room types, so make sure to book in advance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostelling International Vancouver Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International Vancouver Central Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing