We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Okay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostelling International Vancouver Central
NY, NY
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

Located on the busiest street in Vancouver. Their security protocols leave much to be desired. Next time I'll stay at the Downtown hostel which is in a residential area.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Creetyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    130
    73
    23
    13
See reviews for
11
69
118
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Not to the same standard as YHA hostels in other countries but the dorms and shared bathrooms are satisfactory despite looking like they need renovating. The communal facilities are poor with no kitchen utilities beyond a microwave and kettle. Only options are to eat out, not ideal for budget travellers.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Stayed here countless times and this must be the best hostel in Vancouver single bathrooms, comfy beds and awesome duvets. Staff are extremely friendly, free breakfast. However some pillows are very lumpy.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in a private room with ensuite in Mar 2012.

Pros:
1) Our longhaul flight landed early moring and even though check-in wasn't until afternoon they let us check-in early which was a major bonus.

2) The room was generously sized for a hostel - we were surprised.The room and common areas were very clean and the free breakfasts were decent including some pastries, cereal, milk, toast and muffins. Communal kitchen has microwave but no stove.

3) HI is surprisingly quiet given the location and pretty easy to come and go from. The staff called us a cab to get our train upon leaving.

4) The HI activities including Granville Island tour was excellent as was the Canucks NHL match - we bought tickets at a discount from front desk and a group goes for a beer beforehand and to the match, we met lots of people through these tours.

Downsides:
1) There is no view to speak of from any of the rooms or common areas - we personally had a dreary view of a barbed wire fence overlooking some old rooves.

2) The area is central like the name suggests although its on the dodgier end of Granville Street its safe enough if you ignore the Spoonman and people asking you for Whiskey money. Girls will probably feel better in groups of 2 or more.

3) Like other people have said - the common areas are very cramped and oddly shaped. They had to work with what they had here and not much can be done about it - we were okay because we had a private room but don't know how it would fly if you were in a bunk room.

Overall, we'd stay here again for sure. I'd say in summary this is a good 25-30 yo hostel and Samesun is better for 18-25 yo because of the better common area and vibe (I've stayed at both).

Room Tip: Private Room with Ensuite was really big and let us spread out and relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7TroopCutCopyPaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

The location of the hostel is convenient for first time visitors to Vancouver as it's convenient to main attractions, shops, nightlife, and eateries. The rooms are sufficient, bathrooms are a good size and clean, and there is a good variation for breakfast.

Unfortunately the front desk staff need more customer service training, they are aloof and more interested on whatever is on their computer screen than the person standing in front of them. The exception is a lovely Dutch lady (unfortunately I didn't catch her name) who is extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NaomiM452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VCTHostelManager, Manager at Hostelling International Vancouver Central, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I'm sorry to hear about the service you received and I've messaged you privately to discuss. We aim for a much higher level of service than what you described, and I'm eager to help our staff be successful in their jobs so that we can offer the best service possible to our guests.

Kind Regards,

Keith, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

The Best Hostel in B.C. Great location; only a few minutes walk from the Granville SkyTrain station. Extremely helpful staff. Great facilities; free WiFi, well equipped kitchen, TV room, common room, inexpensive laundry room, ultra clean and modern bathrooms and spacious bedrooms and cosy bunks with individual backpack sized lockers in the room. The all you can eat breakfast is a godsend. Situated in the heart of the entertainment and shopping district, stay at HI-Downtown with confidence.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaszanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Overall good experience! The location of HI-Vancouver Central is exactly that, CENTRAL! It was right in the middle of downtown and within walking distance of just about everything! They offer a great selection for the free morning breakfast (bagels, cereal, coffee, preserves, and other assorted pastries). They have private bathrooms and plenty of them. I never had to wait for a bathroom (morning or night). They offer free Wi-Fi, too! I split a private room with a buddy and it was worth it. They had a sink/mirror in the room and a small closet (as well as two individual lockers).
For things to do, we went to Grouse Mt by cab (about $60 round trip) because we didn't want to jump from bus-to-bus (which is far cheaper, but slightly more complex to get to your final destination). We only had about one day to mill around and so we didn't have much time to learn the public transit routes.
Their 'common' areas were not very large, though and the kitchen/seating was even smaller.

All said, I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Took a higher floor and it was incredibly quiet, though I'm not sure what it was like on the low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bongo1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#52 of 90 in Vancouver
816 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 90 in Vancouver
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 90 in Vancouver
3,717 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 90 in Vancouver
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International Vancouver Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International Vancouver Central

Property: Hostelling International Vancouver Central
Address: 1025 Granville St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1L4, Canada (Formerly Royal Hotel)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostelling International Vancouver Central 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smack dab in the middle of Granville Street's pub and club district, we're one of the newest Vancouver hostels -- and if you're angling for access to all the partying and good times you could want, without compromising on security, comfort, and cleanliness, then we're where you want to be!If you're looking for the fun of a hostel, but still want privacy, you'll love our ensuite private rooms (cable TV included!) and our two-bed dorms. These are our most popular room types, so make sure to book in advance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostelling International Vancouver Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International Vancouver Central Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing