We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delta Hotels by Marriott Vancouver Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Vancouver Suites
Ranked #29 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
everett, wa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2009

I was disappointed when Hotwire revealed I had booked a suites hotel as my experiences with them in the past have been mixed. My room was small for a suite, and in fact was not really a suite but a room with visual and psychological separation of the sitting and bed areas. But for a regular hotel room it was nice. Excellent bed and real blackout drapes with a valance that kept out the light from the streetlamps. I didn't get the feeling that I had been given the Hotwire room. One small criticism: if a hotel is going to install 40 inch plasma tv, someone should make sure the aspect ratio is correct. The lobby was no-nonsense and designed so the staff could see people entering, and the elevators required the use of the room key. These security provisions are necessary because after dark this isn't the most savory part of town. The location is excellent for business and daytime tourism. I would not rate this hotel quite 4 stars, but it's very close.

  • Liked — black out draps and valance shut out the light
  • Disliked — tv not properly adjusted
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lindengroves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    505
    90
    39
    15
See reviews for
273
448
70
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2009

We stayed at the Delta Suites in January for 4 days.

First of all, the location is pretty much perfect. 5 mins walk to Gastown in one direction, 5 mins to Canada place in the other direction. The main shopping areas are about 15 mins walk away. We went to a hockey game on one night and the stadium was just 5 mins away on the skytrain. The skytrain stop itself is just a few minutes from the hotel. A taxi to Stanley Park cost us about 17 dollars, so not too bad.

The rooms are a pretty standard fare... quite a "business" feel to it, so no "wow" factor as one reviewer put it, but ours was clean, spacious and well equipped. They're not really "suites" as such... there is a sliding partition across the bedroom part of the room, much like a chinese style screen, but this was fine for our needs. There is a TV in both the sitting area and the sleeping area.
Security is good, you need a room key to use the lifts to the floors above ground, and the streetside doors are locked at 8pm so you need to use your key after that time. That makes you feel pretty safe, as there are quite a lot of homeless panhandlers in Vancouver.

The only small negative was that my wife was dismayed to see that this hotel places its coffee machines in the bathroom right next to the toilet. Probably not the most hygeinic place to make a drink! We cleaned ours and moved it onto the desk in the sitting area. No big deal really.

All in all, it's a good, reliable, clean hotel which is an ideal base for which to step out and explore this fine city. If you are looking for something ultra luxurious, then look elsewhere, but if you want a good deal on straightforward rooms, then I'd definately reccomend the Delta.

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness.
  • Disliked — Coffee machine located next to toilet.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanucksTraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2009

This was our second time staying at this hotel. We stayed for 3 nights.

Hotel - Great location, across the street from the Vancouver lookout, one block from the sky train/sea bus station and on, or one block away from, key bus routes for tourist attractions. Tim Horton's 1/2 block, Starbucks across the street :) The lobby is clean and simple. My only wish is that it had a swimming pool and wireless internet in the rooms! The kids got toy packs that instantly kept them entertained for a bit while we unpacked (well, they did get into trouble with the slinkies :)). Everyone loved the warm chocolate chip cookies, too!

Hotel room - Very nice updated rooms. Clean, good quality textiles. Great options in the mini-bar. We did switch from the smallish queen bed to a room with a king. They were incredibly accomodating with this request in that they personally delivered the new keys, offered to help move us and didn't charge us an extra for the bigger room. Internet access was fast and reliable. Would be nice to see at least the living space TV updated and some HD channels made available in the lower end rooms.

Safety - Good - feel totally safe on this block, and also because you must have a room key to access any floors. Also, we had left some incredibly important documents behind in the safe with our room switch and everything was returned to us in perfect order.

Family travel - The kids felt welcome with all of the treats, but also missed having a pool and weren't thrilled with the prospect of the twin-pullout and couch cushions for sleeping arrangements.

Other - Room service was very friendly, quick and the food was good and at reasonable prices (for room service).

Value - At trip time this room was priced around $15-20 less per night than other hotels when we stayed but I think it was far less when we booked (~$25-75 cheaper per night). It was good to secure the price so early so we stuck with them.

We will probably stay here again!

  • Liked — Location and quality
  • Disliked — Lack of pool
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AReasonableTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox,British Columbia,Canada
Level Contributor
290 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2008

Good clean hotel,decorated well.No wow factor.I liked the facility It is a good hotel to stay at just to use the room to sleep in as far as it is not a resort with not much going in in the way of happening restaurant ,lounge shops.The location is ok,but is close to anything in the city,cruise lines other areas of town etc.Not the best fitness facility.Parking and entrance way is a little difficult.Staff good and attentive

  • Liked — Nice rooms
  • Disliked — Parking and entrance
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank islandrockin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2008

Very disappointed when we arrived in our one bedroom suite with our 3 children. Very dirty room room, lots of stains on the sofa and the carpet, smell of smoke, old furniture, very small rooms. We asked to move after one night and had a cleaner room but still very small and poorly furnished. We would not recommand this hotel although it is well situated downtown Vancouver.

  • Liked — situation
  • Disliked — cleaniness
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claire77Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2008

I stayed here with my staff (had 6 rooms booked) for a weekend convention.

It is not in the best part (nor the really bad) of Vancouver BUT walk one block either way and you are in prime tourist area. Quick stroll to Canada Place, Gastown. We ended up loving the location!

Valet Parking was $27.00, which is normal for downtown Vancouver and worth every penny. Car was right there within minutes of ordering it. Staff in whole hotel were charming and really went out of their way to make sure our stay was good.

Suites were large enough as were the bathrooms and beds were comfortable. Elevator had to be carded before they allowed guests to go up and sometimes they didn't work, using after using the elevator phone they magically worked.


Internet was a added charge through ours was comped but I think internet should be included in the price, most hotels already do this.

I am already planning to return here next year and would advise my friends and family to use this hotel. we all enjoyed our stay. :)

  • Liked — Staff were wonderful :)
  • Disliked — Not the best location but really it was fine!!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank quincytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2008

We were staying at the Delta Suites overnight for a pre-cruise stay. My husband had called the previous day to confirm our 2 rooms for 6 people. When we got to the hotel (about 5 a.m.). they told us that they only had one room. The staff was very helpful, and tried to remedy the situation. They gave us 2 penthouse suites, in which we were barely able to get a cot. I can't imagine how small the rest of the suites must be! The room had very dated decor, but everything was clean. Again , the staff was very apologetic and helpful.

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Disliked — The messed up reservation, and the size of the rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank blessedmomoffour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,302 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
Downtown
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel
Davie Village
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Vancouver Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Vancouver Suites

Property: Delta Hotels by Marriott Vancouver Suites
Address: 550 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 1L6, Canada (Formerly Delta Vancouver Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#22 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#28 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Vancouver Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delta Vancouver Suites is an all-suite hotel located in the heart of downtown Vancouver and within a block of the Canada Line rail system. Delta Vancouver Suites is within walking distance to many local attractions including Stanley Park, art galleries, theatres and Rogers Arena and BC Place Stadium. The hotel is within minutes of the Vancouver Convention Centre, the city's central business district and government offices. Enjoy shopping the Granville Street mall, Robson Street and take in the vibrant dining scene and nightlife of Gastown and Yaletown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Vancouver Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Delta Vancouver Suites Hotel
Delta Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing