We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel
Ranked #25 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
East Coast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Nice!”
Reviewed August 20, 2006

The Marriott Pinnacle was our hotel of choice to stay at after an Alaskan cruise on Carnival lines. My wife and I are Marriott Rewards members and often stay at Marriotts for free. I must say that our stay in Vancouver was more fun than the cruise. Due to a massive cold front packing 50knt winds our ship, the SPIRIT was forced to forgo Prince Wm. Sound and Glacier Bay and the continued miserable weather canceled out our helicopter excursion in Juno. As a matter of fact it rained almost the entire cruise. Don't get me wrong though, Alaska is breathtakingly beautiful. We are going to have to go back! But we needed to make up for lost sightseeing in Vancouver. The Pinnacle is a lovely hotel in a great location. Just a short walk to Canada Place, the sea plane terminal, shopping on Robson St., dining, etc etc. Just a wonderful location. We paid for a 5 day stay using Marriott points and when checking in we were treated just great. The desk attendant booked us into a 29th floor corner room with a spectacular view of the harbor. The concierge staff went out of their way to help us book our tours to Victoria, Butchart Gardens, the Capilano suspension bridge and Grouse Mountain. On our last night which was our wedding anniversary we had a delicious dinner at Morton's steak house that rounded out a great time in Vancouver. Great city and a fine hotel. You will like it!

  • Liked — Central location
  • Disliked — I have no complaints
  • Tips/Secrets — Great breakfasts at MoonPennies. Use the 2nd floor street exit and you are looking at it.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Compleatangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    900
    690
    151
    33
    9
See reviews for
297
621
92
505
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2006

My trip was from August 3-7, 2006 at Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle. Even though the Lobby should be a little bigger, everything was EXCELLENT. The staff was very friendly and I love our cleaning lady. They left little chocolates when I came back in the evenings with next day weather info. I used marriott rewards for four nights and they gave us free breakfast buffet, which was very good. I HIGHLY recommend everyone to stay at the marriott. Better than the Vancouver Hyatt.

  • Liked — THE HEVENLY BEDS!!! And the FANTASTIC SERVICE!
  • Disliked — SMALL LObby and POOL.
  • Tips/Secrets — Use marriott rewards and get free breakfast buffet.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank jrsungrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2006

We stayed at the Marriott Pinnacle for three nights. The best things about the hotel were the views of the mountains and water, and the front desk service.
We did have to wait about an hour and a half for our room, despite having arrived at about 4 p.m. We did, however, get the room that we requested (ending in a "19", and high floor) and it had incredible views. We also found chocolate dipped strawberries waiting for us in the room with champagne to boot (it was our honeymoon), which was a great surprise. For those two reasons, I gave the hotel an "above average" rating.

View aside, the room was a bit worn, although the bedding seemed new. Some paint was peeling on the ceiling, and the bathroom was on the small side. The room was as well, but we expected this due to the fact that it was oddly shaped as a result of the corner location. The lobby was very ordinary, surprising for a Marriott. The location was pretty good because it was a few blocks from the main shopping area, and close to the water, although I think it might be better to be more centrally located in the City.

It was a pleasant enough experience, but if I returned to Vancouver, I would look for somewhere else to stay.

Helpful?
4 Thank Joyce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in July using our Marriott Rewards points and were treated like Royalty every moment by their fanatastic staff. We had mentioned that we were celebrating our 40th anniversary in our email confirming our reservation.
We were upgraded to a very attractive room on the 28th floor with a corner window view of Vancouver. We returned to our room the first night to find 2 bottles of Champagne and chocolate covered strawberries and truffles set up by the window - a lovely gesture orchestrated by the front desk staff. The concierge crew and the doormen were extremely helpful. There is currently construction all over the city but we did not hear any noises from our room. The hotel enjoys an excellent location in the city - near the harbor and away from the traffic of Robson St. The health club complex with it's lap pool, whirlpool, steam rooms and workout room was complimentary to hotel guests. We prepurchased tickets to Storyeum in Gastown at the Canadian border tourist booth ~ it's a presentation with separate vignettes about the history of Vancouver - featuring actors and some singing and interesting stage settings. Families with older children may want to check it out - in the same complex is a production about Dinosaurs. Gastown has typical tourist shops that are not unique. We preferred exploring the end of Robson Street - nearer to the hotel - with it's authentic ethnic restaurants and shops - that's where all the action is. We had dinner at an all you can eat for $10 Mongolian Hot Pot restaurant that was excellent. We drove north to Whistler on the Sea to Sky Highway - there are lovely views but also alot of serious construction on the road. We stopped off enroute to see the famous waterfall - if you go that way keep your eyes open for the very small road sign. If you are taking a ferry to Victoria make sure to reserve a space for your car well in advance using the BC Ferry website - and allow enough time to get to the ferry which is a 60 minute drive - or more from Vancouver to Twaussen. The Dr. Sun Yat Sen Gardens in Chinatown was worth exploring - we skipped exploring Chinatown as advised by the police - due to the masses of homeless and frequent car break ins. The Museum of Anthropology at the University of Bristish Columbia is brilliant and well worth the detour by car to it's location outside of the city.
Be sure to taste the local Ice Wines - and take notice of the water features, terraces and gardens set into all of the newer buildings.

  • Liked — Well desinged and maintained - excellent staff
  • Disliked — Parking fee of $24 a night - No complimentary breakfast
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank fendifendi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2006

We arrived at 10 p.m. on a Saturday and left at 4 a.m. on the following Thursday and from start to finish the experience at this rather new Marriott was flawless. Everyone we encountered was both nice and competent and everything was pleasant, comfortable, clean and worked. The view of Burrard Inlet from the 29th floor was magnificent, particularly the comings and goings of cruise ships, float planes and ferries. The hotel restaurant was airy and attractive and the food and service were of a high standard. Nearby, the Tourist Info center proved to be a gold mine and the walk along the Coal Harbor seawall and around Stanley Park was truly "awesome." (Robson Street, on the other hand, is highly overrated.) This is a fine hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Colleague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2006

We stayed at this Hotel for four nights early June. On arrival found reception staff very friendly. Could have had one of the famous rooms ending in 19 but would have had to wait for two hours so settled for the one we were given. This was on 19th floor facing towards the city. The room was very comfortable and reasonable in size. There is building work going on down the road and across from the Hotel front but we hardly noticed it.
I also liked the idea that you could only operate the elevator by means of your room card key. Found all the staff we came into contact with friendly and polite. Used the Showcase restaurant a couple of times. The food was good but thought the menu was a bit limited.We had a really good meal at the Keg Restaurant which is nearby.
We found the location very good for our needs. Not to far from Robson Street and Stanley Park. Also only a five minute walk from the Float Plane Terminal which we used for a whale watch tour from Victoria. We also used public transport to get to Grouse Mountain and Capialano Suspension Bridge. Caught the sea bus from by Canada Place to Lonsdale Quay then No 236 bus up to Grouse Mountain.
All in all would gladly recommend this hotel.
As an after thought we used the Airporter Transfer Bus from Vancouver Airport, big mistake for us as it did not go direct to the hotel but dropped us off six blocks away where we had to wait 30 minutes for another bus to complete journey.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Dudley UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2006

Great, great hotel. The staff are more than accomodating and we really liked the location as well (near Stanley Park, Robson Street, ferries to Grouse Mountain, etc.) Speaking of location, a walk along the water from the hotel towards Stanley Park is a must, and I'd recommend Lift Restaurant which is on the way. If possible, try to get a corner room which will give you sweeping views of the area---we really enjoyed our high floor, corner room for our stay. The hotel restaurant is actually very good as well, as is the indoor fitness center and pool. Overall, this is a top-notch place and I'd highly recommend it to anyone, whether you're visiting for business or pleasure. Like most Marriott properties, they really are customer service oriented and I'll definitely be staying at the Pinnacle the next time I'm in beautiful Vancouver.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
11 Thank roanoke4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#26 of 92 in Vancouver
3,559 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
2,508 reviews
Downtown
The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
Gastown
Delta Hotels by Marriott Vancouver Downtown Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel

Property: Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel
Address: 1128 Hastings St W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#16 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#21 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#22 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The awe-inspiring North Shore Mountains set the stage for a wonderful stay here at Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel, a top choice among hotels in Vancouver, BC. Located in the heart of Downtown Vancouver, we are steps away from the Cruise Ship terminal and the Vancouver Convention Centre. We welcome business and leisure travellers to our waterfront hotel, which is a premier choice for Downtown Vancouver hotels near dining, entertainment, and more. With beautifully designed accommodations and first-class service, you will thoroughly enjoy a comfortable stay with us. Most of our rooms offer excellent views of downtown Vancouver, or of Coal Harbour and the mountains. At our Showcase Restaurant and Bar, you will be able to find exceptionally delicious West Coast cuisine. Showcase is the place where locals and our hotel guests feel at home while they are discovering new fare and new experiences. Stay with us! Our Vancouver waterfront hotel offers an exceptional experience for a business or leisure visit to Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Vancouver
Vancouver Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing