We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW but not that WOW”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel
Ranked #26 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tacoma, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW but not that WOW”
Reviewed August 4, 2008

We were very tired of driving and not knowing the city we took the place we found. When my partner returned to the car after booking the room, I was aghast at the cost. $300 per night and $23 per night if we park our own car. I thought the room should be spectacular but it was average, no better than any $150 per night we have had. The only asset was the bedding was luxurious. The room was clean and tidy but not worth $300.

If we were not so tired we would have kept looking. That's what I get for not prebooking an online hotel. This was a spontaneous 3 day get away and boy were we astounded at the prices in BC.

May come back but, not to this hotel unless I bring a number of friends to share expences.

  • Liked — courteous staff and excellent restaurant with moderately hi prices
  • Disliked — prices astoundingly high
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    671
    150
    31
    9
See reviews for
280
602
91
490
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
323 reviews
297 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 493 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2008

Have stayed here three times. I like the large windows and the fact that my room has been rounded, not square, owing to the shape of the building. Very comfortable bed, good bathroom and a good choice of tv. channels.Good staff and a good breakfast. Location is good near the waterfront and a short walk from the shops. The first time I stayed I had a great view of the water, the second a small balcony but the last time I was on a low floor and felt a little overlooked by the surrounding offices. So I recommend asking for a room on one of the higher floors.

  • Liked — Floor to ceiling windows.
  • Disliked — Rooms on low floors feel a little overlooked by nearby offices.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank heb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2008

We were spending one night in Vancouver, prior to our Alaskan Cruise. The problem was that while we knew there wasn't going to be much time at the hotel, we still wanted it to be a nice place and give us a nice start to our long awaited trip. After much research, we elected to use our Marriott award points and chose the Pinnacle for the experience. As a last minute booking, we even took a chance and did the upgrade option to a top floor, harbor view.

WHAT A GREAT DECISION!

A warm welcome was exhibited by the valet service, baggage helpers and front desk host. We were so excited to note that our room would be on one of the top floors - we had worried somewhat on arrival about the tall buildings that surrounded the hotel. As you can see from the photos, it was well worth the experience - even for just a few hours. While small in size, it made up for this by the gorgeous curved floor to ceiling windows that looked onto the harbor. We loved watching the architectural details on surrounding buildings.

We aren't "bar" people, but nonetheless, found ourselves in the downstairs bar for dinner that evening. The pizza was delicious, the service attentive despite the crowd, and what started as a quiet drink area, became a gathering spot for many around 10 pm -- mostly from business people and even those cruising the next day (at least from the conversations we heard).

The best part? Waking in the morning and watching the cruise ships arriving into the port, while viewing the seaplanes as they came and went during the "rush hour".

  • Liked — The view and closeness to cruise terminal
  • Disliked — Not enough time to fully enjoy the hotel or the area.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank videokenomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
164 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2008

I stayed at the hotel in July for a professional conference. The hotel staff were very nice and always helpful. The woman helping me at check in was so kind to give directions to a nearby restaurant when we requested a place to eat near the hotel. I was sent an email requesting my preferences prior to my stay and a top (30th) floor room was reserved per my request. It had a lovely view of Coal Harbor and the mountains in North Vancouver. I had 2 queen beds and the room was not overly crowded as it was only my daughter and I staying together. The bathroom has a separate shower and tub which was nice. The gym facilities and indoor pool were great. I used the workout room each morning and pool each evening. Although the hotel was very busy during my stay neither were overly crowded. There is also a jacuzzi spa, dry sauna, and steam room.

The mattresses are firmer than what I am used to but comfortable and the linens are luxurious with lots of pillows on the bed.

The TV broke down on our second day but a repair engineer was sent up right away and it was fixed within 20 minutes. Likewise a request for toothpaste received prompt attention.

I didn't try the hotel restaurant and I didn't bring a car so I can't comment on those aspects of the hotel.

The conference facilities were very nice and conveniently located to the rooms. They provided a full buffet breakfast every morning with Canadian bacon, sausage, bacon, eggs and pastries. I can't recall a conference which served a full breakfast like this. There were also wait staff who were extremely friendly and helpful.

The location of the hotel is perfect. If one is in moderately good physical shape nearly all downtown locations are within walking distance. The waterfront walkway is absolutely lovely. Stanley park can be walked to but is absolutely huge. Renting a bike will allow a better exploration or plan to use the free shuttle in the summer. The Burrard skytrain station which is essentially an above ground transportation is very close by and got me to and from the train station in downtown. We even took a bus from the Burrard station to get to the ferry terminal and took BC Ferries to Victoria on Saturday. Robson street is nearby with a vibrant night scene and lots of places to eat and shop. Moonpennies across from the hotel serves a nice breakfast and Starbucks is on the other corner. We did go to Chinatown on Friday night for an open air market - caution is recommended in surrounding areas as homeless people with drug and mental health issues hang around on the surrounding streets. The open air market was fun and there are a lot of fresh food stalls to eat and stalls to buy all sorts of imported items, jewelry, socks, knickknacks, etc.

Vancouver is a wonderful place to visit in July and the Marriott Pinnacle is a great choice of location with wonderful staff.

  • Liked — Location and views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank obdocSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2008

A wonderful choice for our three-night pre-cruise visit to Vancouver was the Marriott Vancouver Pinnacle.

I chose this hotel because of its downtown location. We were able to walk to all of the sights we wanted to see...Stanley Park, the harbor, Gastown, Chinatown, False Creek. We were also very close to the main cruise terminal, Canada Place. However, note that not all ships leave from this dock. Ours left from Ballantyne Pier, a 10-minute cab ride from the hotel.

Our flight arrived mid-morning and the desk clerk was very accommodating in putting a rush on our room and holding our bags until it was available. The concierge was helpful in encouraging us to walk (instead of taking a bus) to nearby Stanley Park.

Our corner room was very spacious with two walls of floor-to-ceiling windows. The bathroom was very well appointed....granite countertops, large tub, separate glass shower and a window.

If we return to Vancouver, I will certainly book again at the Marriott Vancouver Pinnacle.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — not a thing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KULADOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2008

We had a great view from our room - 30th floor, looking down on the water, with sea planes taking off and landing right in front of us. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The concierges directed us to a great restaurant (Joe Forte's) and they helped us navigate the city for our one day trip. If one person wasn't knowledgeable, there was always someone else to help. The room was a fairly typical Marriott room. The bed was comfy, but that is more than expected in a Marriott these days.

The room is near all of the downtown tourist venues. You could walk to Stanley Park, Granville Island, Gastown and Canada Center. We opted for a paid sightseeing bus tour so we could see the sights in our limited time and it stopped right outside the hotel. It's dead center in the middle of the biz district.

It's not east getting to downtown Vancouver from the airport, but apparently that will be solved when the train is completed prior to the 2010 Olympics. We suggest a cab for now. The Airporter took forever, although it was slightly cheaper. The Marriott was the sixth stop.

I would recommend the Marriott to anyone visiting Vancouver for business or pleasure.

  • Liked — Location and view (2 things).
  • Disliked — $15.95 for internet access. Marriott should do like their sister brands and offer free wifi.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MrAJZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Coolum, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2008

Yes Vancouver is expensive for accomodation....and this hotel was no exception.

The problem was, we had just had amazing experiences in Hawaii, Victoria and Whistler so this was a huge let down.

Location was good, very central....but the room was comparatively small to all others we had stayed in on our trip so far and the dearest of all.

The staff were nice, but the feeling was that this has a huge hotel and very busy so you were kind of treated like just another guest...

It was ok...the room had a nice view....but we were kind of glad we were only staying one night before heading off to the USA.

  • Liked — The location and views
  • Disliked — The value for size of the room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nugenttravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#23 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel

Property: Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel
Address: 1128 Hastings St W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#21 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#22 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The awe-inspiring North Shore Mountains set the stage for a wonderful stay here at Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel, a top choice among hotels in Vancouver, BC. Located in the heart of Downtown Vancouver, we are steps away from the Cruise Ship terminal and the Vancouver Convention Centre. We welcome business and leisure travellers to our waterfront hotel, which is a premier choice for Downtown Vancouver hotels near dining, entertainment, and more. With beautifully designed accommodations and first-class service, you will thoroughly enjoy a comfortable stay with us. Most of our rooms offer excellent views of downtown Vancouver, or of Coal Harbour and the mountains. At our Showcase Restaurant and Bar, you will be able to find exceptionally delicious West Coast cuisine. Showcase is the place where locals and our hotel guests feel at home while they are discovering new fare and new experiences. Stay with us! Our Vancouver waterfront hotel offers an exceptional experience for a business or leisure visit to Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Vancouver
Vancouver Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing