We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely updated, great staff, LOUD air conditioners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel
Ranked #26 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nicely updated, great staff, LOUD air conditioners”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel and bar have recently been updated and are very nice. The staff is very attentive and courteous, and I was very pleased. The food at the restaurant/bar is also pretty good for a hotel.

With that said, the air conditioner blower in the room sounds like a jet engine, so much so that another random guest asked me in the elevator if I was having that same issue. Not sure what can be done, but a bit irritating.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    879
    683
    150
    32
    9
See reviews for
287
609
92
499
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here 2 different times (4 nights total over 6 days) and it was a great experience each time. We checked in late (on points) on a Thursday and had an awesome corner room with a view. The front desk was so nice and helpful. We came back (after a Whistler weekend) and had another corner room with a view of the harbor. This might be the best room I have ever stayed in (and I'm old) Everyone was so helpful and made you feel at home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanMarriottPinnacle, General Manager at Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We love your review! Happy to hear you've enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards, Joann Pfeifer, General Manager, Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The hotel location excellent, service at the restaurant, bar and lounge VERY SLOWWWW, The decoration,cleanliness good, the bed wonderful. VERY EXPENSIVE WI-FI. CONNECTION IN YOUR ROOM. $15.95 DAILY. You can connect free of charge for four hours at the lobby but very unstable. .What did the manager say? This is very customary in CANADA!!! A shame for a four star hotel from Marriott, customers paying an average of $250.00!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miriamr755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I got a really great deal on a room at the marriott in downtown Vancouver. I was excited to stay, as I hadn't ever stayed at a marriott hotel. It was rated a four star, so I expected it to be higher end.
Check in was quick and effortless, the staff courteous.
The rooms were nice enough...the view to the city was wonderful. It was clean. Nothing that stood out as above average. I had an issue with the bathroom. There was nowhere to do make up properly. There wasn't a smaller mirror and I had to try to lean over the extra large counter to apply it. Very inconvenient! I was far to short to do that effectively..... It hurt my stomach leaning into the counter. I don't believe I have ever been in a hotel where there wasn't a vanity mirror to do makeup! I ended up applying it in the hall with a mirror and terrible lighting..... It was NOT a good make up night for me or my girlfriend. There was no soap dish for soap, things were hard to find....
We called down to front desk to order a cab for 7 and they informed us to just come down when we were ready and there would be one. We went and ended up waiting 10 minutes before one finally showed up. We were a little miffed, as that is why we phoned to order one.....so it would be there when we came down and we wouldn't have to wait, as we were already late. Not impressed by this at all. It was very disorganized outside, as it was very busy with other people coming and going and only 1 gentlemen trying to deal with it all.
We also didn't have an ice machine on our floor, which was a total pain. I completely understand that sometimes you have to go to other floors for ice, but I certainly didn't expect it in a "4" star hotel. So if you don't feel like taking taking an elevator for a few ice cubes, don't stay on floor 12!
Parking charge was over $30.... Just be prepared, as it is a big chunk to pay for an overnight stop!
I dont think this hotel is worth the high prices that are advertised. It's nice enough, but I have stayed in much nicer 4 star hotels in Vancouver.
I think for the deal I got it was worth it, but if I had paid full price, I would have been very disappointed.

Room Tip: No ice machine on 12!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmore, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Fortunately our room was for only one night. It was barely large enough to accommodate the two of us and our large suitcases. Though the linens were clean and fresh the room was musty/dank. Off-setting some of this the hotel restaurant's food was very good and not nearly as pricey as many hotels. We recommend the west coast chowder. Service was good, too. The location near the waterfront is wonderful and we would recommend a walk there and through downtown. Overall, however, the room is not worth the premium price. Finally, if you are going on a cruise, make your own reservation. There is no hotel shuttle from the airport (taxi is $34 + tip) and the taxi ride to the pier is very short.

Room Tip: Some rooms are very small. Ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Front Desk: Valet was very friendly and helpful, check in was smooth and effortless.

Room, first impressions: It's getting tired but yes the carpet in the hallway looked like a vomit explosion and the room carpeting looks 30 years old. View from my room was of a bunch of other skyscrapers, perhaps because I booked with gov rate.

Bathroom: Very clean and updated, nice.
Bed: Very good.
Weird fact: No beer fridge! Strange! Although they had a bottle opener, which was appreciated. Had to cool the beers in the sink.

Location: As with most West Hastings hotels, location is darn near perfect, lots of restaurants and shops close by, easy access to major highways.

Another weirdness: This hotel is VERY TALL, as you can tell by the name, and it did have an appropriate number of elevators for such a size, but the weird thing was, they closed SUPER FAST! So fast that when I called an elevator down to the lobby to go up to my room, this older fellow took too long getting out and the doors shut in my face before I could fling myself in! You have to jump in quick. Nice though when your on a milk run up to the 20th floor with ten other people, the stops are nice and quick.

Value: It's worth it for 200 but not for the 4 I was originally going to pay until I got a gov rate.

Other ammenities: I was only here one night but did note an excellent lounge/sports bar and what looked to be a very good restaurant. There is also a gym, not sure what else. Very well appointed.

Room Tip: the higher the better, 20+ for view, and try to request facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Jones2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland NZ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had a corner room (719) which was large and had views between buildings to the water. We spoke to others staying there and they were all very happy with their rooms too. The bed was absolutely fabulous for comfort and super king. The hotel is very nicely decorated - not too old - nice restaurant and one of the best locations as just up from the Canada Centre on the Waterfront where everything happens from. No Free Wifi though.

Room Tip: Go for the corner room like we had 719. We found the hotel quiet and well soundproofed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanMarriottPinnacle, General Manager at Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
I am glad to hear you find the location of our hotel convenient for your visit. Many guests tell us how much they love being downtown close to restaurants, attractions and shopping, yet situated at beautiful Coal Harbour. Thank you for staying with us. Kind regards, Joann Pfeifer, General Manager, Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 90 in Vancouver
2,463 reviews
Downtown
The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 90 in Vancouver
3,168 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#25 of 90 in Vancouver
3,486 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel

Property: Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel
Address: 1128 Hastings St W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#21 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#22 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The awe-inspiring North Shore Mountains set the stage for a wonderful stay here at Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel, a top choice among hotels in Vancouver, BC. Located in the heart of Downtown Vancouver, we are steps away from the Cruise Ship terminal and the Vancouver Convention Centre. We welcome business and leisure travellers to our waterfront hotel, which is a premier choice for Downtown Vancouver hotels near dining, entertainment, and more. With beautifully designed accommodations and first-class service, you will thoroughly enjoy a comfortable stay with us. Most of our rooms offer excellent views of downtown Vancouver, or of Coal Harbour and the mountains. At our Showcase Restaurant and Bar, you will be able to find exceptionally delicious West Coast cuisine. Showcase is the place where locals and our hotel guests feel at home while they are discovering new fare and new experiences. Stay with us! Our Vancouver waterfront hotel offers an exceptional experience for a business or leisure visit to Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Vancouver
Vancouver Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing