We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel
Ranked #26 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“location and service”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Paying more money for a harbor view room was worth it! I loved watching the seaplanes and ships. This hotel has a very professional staff. Brody at the front desk was very helpful and all of the bell boys remembered us and gave great recommendations. The location made for great jogging. For a larger variety of restaurants that are cheaper, leave the neighborhood the hotel is in. We had dinner at Catch 122 pretty close by and really liked it. The internet was lightning fast and the construction in the lobby wasn't that bad...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denver_CoEdwink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanMarriottPinnacle, General Manager at Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
It is always fun to watch the seaplanes and cruise ships come and go, especially in the summer. Thank you for staying with us. Kind regards, Joann Pfeifer, General Manager, Vancouver Marriott PInnacle Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    671
    150
    31
    9
See reviews for
280
602
91
490
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, MA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Actually, the hotel is very nice. I particularly like the bar on the first floor, and the restaurant is, while not spectacular, ok for a quick meal. And it is in Vancouver, BC, near the cruise ship terminal and convention center. My problem with the hotel is with internet access. They get seventeen bucks a day, and the service doesn't work very well. It requires a login every day, and the web site that facilitates this is slow and balky, especially when you log in using a cell 'phone.

Room Tip: The Concierge Lounge on the 25th floor has a great view and serves a fine breakfast. Those rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motorguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanMarriottPinnacle, General Manager at Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Our Wired-for-Business package includes high-speed internet, unlimited local and long distance call within Canada & US for $15.95 for 24 hours. Unfortunately, we are still mandated to charge for internet at this time. I would like to extend my apologies for the slow connection speed possibly due to high usage at that time. If you would you be so kind to reach out to my assistant at gigi.hung@marriott.com, we will be glad to look into this for you. I am happy to hear you've enjoyed the beautiful harbourview from our concierge lounge. Kind regards, Joann Pfeifer, General Manager, Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Vancouver by booking through Priceline for an excellent rate. Being my first time in Vancouver, I had no clue about the city or best areas to stay. That said, the location of the hotel is a definite plus as it it only a couple blocks from the water. If you can, go for the highest floor possible with a view of the harbor. Otherwise, the hotel was pretty standard for Marriott. The room was comfortable and clean, and I found the staff to be friendly and accommodating. While I was there, they were going through renovations to the first floor (which likely explains the great deal I was able to secure). The renovations caused minimal issues, however. The restaurant was relocated to the 3rd floor, which I actually liked as I sat outside on the terrace since I visited in July and the weather was amazing. The only negatives were with some maintenance issues with the bathroom, and having to pay for internet access. I still struggle to understand why inexpensive motels offer free wireless access, while nicer, more upscale hotels make one pay. The only other issue is with parking, if you happen to drive, which can be quite expensive - though is is pretty common for city hotels. Overall, not the most luxurious hotel I've stayed, but the great location coupled with the low price made it a great deal.

Room Tip: Choose the highest floor possible with a view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biomanxii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanMarriottPinnacle, General Manager at Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed our temporary restaurant and patio during your stay. We are excited to let you know our restaurant & bar renovation is now complete! Kind regards, Joann Pfeifer, General Manager, Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed 2 nights before taking the Holland America (HAL) Statendam Cruise to Alaska. We used Marriott Reward points instead of HAL arranging our hotel. Worth the splurge/upgrade for a view of Harbor (Room #2816). Go for a high floor. All around good stay, nice room, nice view, good location and pleasant staff. The hotel renovation construction did not bother us.

1. Good Location especially for those who like to walk! About a 15-minute easy walk with suitcase in tow from the YVR Airport “Canada Line” Waterfront Station & 10 minute walk to Canada Place Cruise Terminal. Took the Canada Line train from the YVR- Vancouver Airport to Downtown for C$9. Train ride was 25 minutes. Granville Island - False Creek Ferry is a 25-minute walk from the Marriott. Take the pretty residential Bute Street to Beach Avenue. (Bute Street has some slight hills.) Take False Creek Ferry for $4 over to Granville Island. There are city buses near the hotel, which can take you to the False Creek Ferry or Stanley Park, too. The weather was gorgeous, so we walked everywhere. It is about a 20-25 minute walk to Stanley Park along the waterfront. There is a 7/11 convenience store a block away, Caffe Artigiano with good sandwiches/coffee on the corner and Urban Fare – upscale grocery/deli a few blocks away.
2. Great Views. Hotel was busy, but as a Marriot Rewards Silver member, the front desk gave me a $15/night upgrade to a room with harbor view instead of $30/night. Worth the money. Could see the Harbor, Stanley Park, City Lights and Mountains from the bed. Nice big windows to take in the view. Ahhh!
3. Predictable Marriott Room. Decent size, comfy beds, clean, nice robes. I liked the little headboard reading light. Bathroom nice size with a new looking separate bathtub large enough for an average size person. Room was quiet.
4. Pleasant Staff. Front desk very helpful in giving us tourist tips---“Walk down Bute Street instead of Thurlow”. (Bute is quaint, less commercial). “Walk to Stanley Park along the waterfront”. Special kudos to “Christine” the front desk clerk. Concierge at times was overwhelmed but had lots of information. She did not seem to understand we wanted to walk everywhere. Concierge kept pushing the expensive Pink Hop on Hop off bus for $40/person!! Whoa. I started to think the hotel got a commission to push this $40 day ticket? If you are in good shape and have comfortable shoes --- Walk, take the city bus or metro for $2.75! Vancouver is a great walking city. Front desk very accommodating in giving change for bus.
5. Restaurants. We ate nearby at Mills Bar – outdoor café - great salmon burger and local beer selection. Cactus Café by Olympic cauldron – crowded but got seated pretty quickly. Both on waterfront.
6. Loved Granville Island. Great to hangout, go in the artist studio shops, eat in the food market. Great vegetarian salad stand in the market with lentil, quinoa, Greek salads. Took the ferryboat back to Yaletown neighborhood. Fun!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

The front desk and concier Staff was not overly helpful. Beds are doubles not queens! Location is ideal if cruising! Just a short walk from SKYTRAIN and crise port. Restaurants open again but we didn't try it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahabrams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, AL
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The best part of this hotel is the location downtown and we were lucky enough to have a room on the harbor side so the view was pretty cool too. Please note that the lobby and restaurant are under construction right now but there are plenty of places to eat near by within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanMarriottPinnacle, General Manager at Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Renovation of our lobby restaurant & bar is now complete! We have heard many comments from our guests of how much they love our new space and menu. Please come visit us again when you are in Vancouver! Regards, Joann Pfeifer, General Manager, Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Lovely location right in downtown near the convention centre between Gas town and Stanley Park. Their logo should be the customer is never right especially from rather Superior Reception staff. Toilets are accessible but not disabled friendly not easy to get a wheelchair in,
reception manager not even aware of the difference.
New restaurant but buffet not accessible very easily and although plenty of staff not readily available or offering to help.
New lobby bar and restaurant opened this weekend. Very nice and now a refurb of the bedrooms would make it a much nicer hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveyD66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,409 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#22 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel

Property: Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel
Address: 1128 Hastings St W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#21 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#22 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The awe-inspiring North Shore Mountains set the stage for a wonderful stay here at Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel, a top choice among hotels in Vancouver, BC. Located in the heart of Downtown Vancouver, we are steps away from the Cruise Ship terminal and the Vancouver Convention Centre. We welcome business and leisure travellers to our waterfront hotel, which is a premier choice for Downtown Vancouver hotels near dining, entertainment, and more. With beautifully designed accommodations and first-class service, you will thoroughly enjoy a comfortable stay with us. Most of our rooms offer excellent views of downtown Vancouver, or of Coal Harbour and the mountains. At our Showcase Restaurant and Bar, you will be able to find exceptionally delicious West Coast cuisine. Showcase is the place where locals and our hotel guests feel at home while they are discovering new fare and new experiences. Stay with us! Our Vancouver waterfront hotel offers an exceptional experience for a business or leisure visit to Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Vancouver
Vancouver Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing