We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value Plus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Ranked #50 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Want to stay close to downtown Vancouver? This hotel is well run, clean and super value. Good parking available, buses to anywhere are nearby and so is Skytrain. We had 4 rooms with our guests for a family wedding, everyone was happy.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel and for the kind words, I am happy to hear that we were able to make your stay with us a good one and we hope to see you again in the near future.

P.S. Congratulations to the newly weds.

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (910)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

574 - 580 of 910 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

Nice hotel with a reasonable rate. Like the free parking and the breakfast. Closed to Vancouver and not so far from Burnaby! The room especially the 4th four is very clean and smells fresh. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank King T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel, I am pleased to hear that you have had a pleasant stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This hotel offers good value for your money and is close to transit and many dining options nearby on main street. the rooms are clean and a good size, with a coffee maker, mini-fridge (on request) and lots of bathroom toiletries for those packing a carry on. The bed was comfortable, but a little noisy to sleep at night with the street nearby. The breakfast was good by hotel standards, but there isn't many options for people with allergies, (heavy on pastries, no milk alternatives, and some weird looking eggs) but always fresh fruit and coffee which is nice. The free wifi is a nice touch and staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laura v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel, I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to ask if you would be so kind as to provide us via email (info@bestwesternvancouver.ca) some of the alternatives we might look into for those with allergies. The hotel is constantly looking to improve its breakfast and currently is researching gluten free alternatives as well.

Thank you,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Excellent overall experience during our five day stay. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who would be interested in stayiong in downtown Vancouver. Continental breakfast was very good with a fair variety of choices. Room was comfortable, clean and spacious enough for all of our luggage.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Al K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your 5 nights with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Thank you,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Absolute worst hotel I've ever stayed in, almost enough to consider never staying in a Best Western again. This place was a mess.

First of all, there is hardly any parking. We basically "made up" a parking spot next to the dumpsters in their parking garage. The front desk staff said that was okay, but seriously? When I'm on vacation, do I really want to park next to a dumpster in a creepy garage?

The front desk staff was really nice, so kudos to her.

There was a bucket right outside our hotel room catching water that was dripping from the ceiling, and it was obvious that the hotel was undergoing some much-needed renovations. There was signage around apologizing for the mess, so I'm not going to complain about it if I'm adequately warned. Didn't really help the terrible stay though.

The beds are really uncomfortable. My husband and I woke up stiff and sore the two days we stayed there. We're in our young 20s; there is no reason a hotel bed should make us feel so awful.

Also, the room we had was incredibly noisy. We were right above the street AND right above the neon sign, so not only was it loud, it was incredibly bright. The noise I can handle, but that neon light made it very difficult to fall asleep. And no, there is NOT a heavy, light-cancelling curtain. What hotel doesn't have heavy curtains??

Breakfast, while free which is always a perk, is nothing to write home about. Standard continental breakfast fare expected of a Best Western.

PRO/CON BREAKDOWN
Pros
- nice staff
- inexpensive
- free breakfast
- rooms are clean

Cons
- beds are uncomfortable
- too loud
- too bright
- no parking
- the continental breakfast is not very good
- looks dumpy

Now, by no means am I a hotel snob, and I have stayed in Best Westerns before with zero complaints. This one though... avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lacey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review and allowing us the opportunity to address some of your concerns. Starting with the parking situation, we do provide secured underground parking in the hotels underground lot free of charge, the reason the hotel provides this amenity free while our competitors charge for such a service is because we have a small lot that has inadequate space for the number of rooms the hotel has. However, the hotel realizes this shortfall and entered into a lease agreement with Kingsgate Mall in 2012 to provide our guests with additional parking from 9pm to 9am when the underground lot is full, despite the extra cost to the hotel to provide this service we have kept our parking free. The spot in which you parked is used by guests almost daily and is next to a card board recycling bin not a dumpster. I do apologize for the minor leak that was in the hall outside your room, unfortunately like anyone we too are susceptible to such maintenance issues and we do our best to address them as soon as possible. As for the noise and light issues, I am sorry but Kingsway is a busy street and we do our best when a guest informs us before hand if noise will be a problem to assign them a room off Kingsway, as for the bright light, the hotel does have black out curtains directly behind the shear curtains in every room, though from time to time guests do overlook them. In regards to the bed, realizing that everyone has their personal preferences when it comes to a mattress we chose what is a fairly neutral firmness. Our beds are currently at the mid point of their life span so we should not be having any issues, though having said that if you would be so kind as to email the hotel (info@bestwesternvancouver.ca) with your date of stay and last name we will be more then happy to have our representative come and inspect that particular bed and if he finds any defects we will have the bed replaced and refund you for your stay.

Thank you,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel late in the night and the front desk man was very helpful. He explained different parking options incase our truck wouldnt fit in their underground parking (which it did). He gave us various options on where we could eat so late. The room was clean and so was the hotel. The only negative thing was that someone on our floor was smoking pot and it had our room smelling . The morning breakfast was awesome! Lots of options.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank PGrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel, I am very happy that you enjoyed the service provided and the hotel itself. Unfortunately from time to time people do break the hotels non-smoking policies and we do everything in our power to prevent and stop such incidents from occurring from the moment a guest checks in they are informed of the hotels no smoking policy and asked to acknowledge their acceptance of this policy on the registration card. I would like to apologize for not being able to prevent this incident, and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Thank you,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Overall a good clean facility, with a good staff, very inviting and comfort was also good, the location is very central to all one could ask for in Vancouver area. Many great restaurants abound in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank markwU7589OI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel, I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Thank you,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#59 of 92 in Vancouver
960 reviews
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#51 of 92 in Vancouver
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#43 of 92 in Vancouver
1,522 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 92 in Vancouver
831 reviews
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel

Address: 205 Kingsway, Vancouver, British Columbia V5T 3J5, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > South Main , Mt. Pleasant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#40 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#42 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $101 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***PLEASE BE ADVISED THAT WE ARE CURRENTLY UNDERGOING RENOVATIONS IN OUR LOBBY AND PUBLIC AREAS** Thank you, Sunil Parashar Assistant General Manager Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Best Western, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing