We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Familiar comfort in the middle of East Vancouver” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel
Ranked #49 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
“Familiar comfort in the middle of East Vancouver”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed here with family, lousy parking, but other than that, comfortable rooms, high vaulted ceilings made you feel a bit cramped. great value for price paid, and close enough to downtown, you can easily skytrain or transit to meetings if necessary. The front desk staff looked a bit dishevelled for the first impression people. The waffles and continental breakfast make it a bargain deal to stay here. All in all stay here and expect comfort and location, and the Best Western standard you are used to.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your insights, there are a few things that I would like to have some more input on so that we can take the steps to improve our appearance, if you would please take the time to provide more in depth thoughts via email at info@bestwesternvancouver.ca we would be glad to address these concerns.

Thank you,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    366
    135
    19
    18
See reviews for
205
304
72
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week whilst we explored the Vancouver area and found it to be comfortable and convenient. The staff were friendly and helpful and the price was good. We found it easy to get downtown either by bus which you can catch just down the street from the hotel or by walking in as it wasn't too far for us. We had an unusual shaped room (the hotel itself is an unusual shape!) but it was spacious and comfortable and suited our purpose. The breakfast was good with hot choices in addition to the usual cereals and bread etc. We found parking to be good although for larger vehicles the underground car park could be a little tricky, there was usually space to park by the side of the hotel on the road for those not wanting to use the underground car park. All in all this was a pleasant stay and we would recommend it for the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 141CathB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the city as well. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

As per the title, we received excellent value, with no compromise in quality. Comfortable room with a good bed, easy chair and desk. Continental breakfast was good, with a good selection of foods and juices, etc. Staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you very much for providing your review of our hotel, we very much appreciate the kind words and we are extremely pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We all look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

very helpful night staff especially the guy. location was central to the area we wanted to see. breakfast was better than average, rooms were very nice and had free parking and balcony for the room. close to ferry.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel, I am glad that you received good service and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHAMPTON
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 7 nights. Clean although a bit tired. They are however starting renovations which will make a difference. It is central and accesible to most things by public transportation.
Breakfast is good, we were dissapointed that nothing used in the breakfast area could be recycled or composted, this is something that should be available.
Overall we were pleased and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review, we definitely take every suggestion made here into consideration and as the hotel strives to provide more eco-friendly accomodations we will definitely discuss the possibility of seperating recyclables. Currently all cutlery and plates in the breakfast room are biodegradable and come from recycled material as well, though there is definitely more that we can do as well.

Best Regards,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanoose Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed for the first time at the Uptown last week and were pleasantly surprised at how clean and well run this hotel is, especially for the rates which are what more hotels in Canada should be priced at. Front desk staff are very helpful and a pleasure to deal with, rooms are small but very clean and well maintained. The included breakfast is as good as most BW Plus and has a better selection of pastries than most. The parking lot is very small with spaces suited to Smart cars rather than normal mid sized vehicles and it is advised to get a space upon check in to be assured of getting one. If you check in late or are out for the evening they do have "overflow" parking arrangements. We will stay here every time we are in Vancouver, a real "find"

Room Tip: The rooms that front on Kingsway are a bit noisy so specifying a room not at the front of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you very much for the kind words I will be sure to pass them along to the front desk staff and let them know they are doing an exceptional job. We all look forward to your future stays with us.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We have stayed at the Best Western Uptown on 4 separate occasions. We have never had any problems and the staff are there to help. Everything we need to do is within a half hour walk or easy cab ride. We will be staying there on our next trip to Vancouver.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time to provide a review and I am happy to hear that you have decided to stay with us again on your next trip.

Best Regards,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#58 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson on Broadway
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
#47 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#38 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel
Address: 205 Kingsway, Vancouver, British Columbia V5T 3J5, Canada (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > South Main , Mt. Pleasant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#41 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#42 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***PLEASE BE ADVISED THE LOT TO THE IMMEDIATE SOUTH OF THE HOTEL IS CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION*** We expect disruptions during the day time through out the excavation period. Thank you, Dave Stevens Assistant General Manager Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing