We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location, Difficult Access”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel
Ranked #47 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Location, Difficult Access”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Good value and good location. Parking was very tight. When checking out the reservation clerk ignored me and started to attend to another customer, even though I had been standing there for several minutes ahead of him. I don't know whether it was because he was an older caucasian man and I am a visible minority ( although the clerk was also a visible minority. I'm a 3rd generation Canadian and its regrettable when one perceives a snub.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ron U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
I am extremely sorry to hear that you had bad experience on check out, I assure you having known all my staff members for atleast 2 years some for as many as 6 years, and being that the most of them are visible minorities themselves, this mishap had nothing to do with race and was more likely an oversight by the guest services agent, As we can be quiet busy at the hotel it can be hard to track who arrived at the desk first since the majority of the time our attention is being held by the person in front of us. I will speak with my staff and make sure in the future they are paying better attention to the other guests in the lobby so that we do not have such a misunderstanding again in the future. Once again I would like to apologize for the misunderstanding and I hope that you understand that this incident was not of a personal nature and we hope that you will give us an opportunity to show you that we are capable of providing a high level of service to all of our guest regardless of race or creed.

Thank you,

Dave Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    373
    138
    19
    18
See reviews for
214
306
74
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We have stayed in many BW hotels in the States and in Europe. They are good overall. I do not believe we have had a bad one yet. That includes this one too. They appear to be priced just under the going rate when all of the package of facilities are considered. Such as this one with free secure parking (if a little tight though) and free breakfast, which brings me to my point. The breakfast was a terrible experience. For such a reasonable sized hotel the mess hall (because that is what it was) was tiny. It was a 'free for all' in there, which means it was a virtual fight with the other customers of the hotel. It resembled a cell. There were no windows. The food was low rent and to cap it all disposable plastic cutlery and paper plates. In these times of reduced environmental impact this is not acceptable. It spoiled the experience of the stay and because of that i have only marked this stay as average. I eat there as a matter of principle but my wife did not. Could not. We ended up down town in a cafe afterwards. So then the competitive room rate did not seem so competitive. The last BW in Italy we used had a breakfast experience which included windows, space to sit down, proper cutlery, real food for the same cost. If i recall correctly the US BW's were similar experiences but not quite so bad. I am sure it would not take much effort to improve things all round.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimS676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel and I am glad that you brought up the issue of disposable plates and cutlery. Here in Canada the health board requires: for manual dish washing a 3 compartment sink, the hotel due to its size constraints does not have the space available for such a facility and with our current facilites we would not be up to code for such operations, in order to expand the only option would be to make our already small eating area even smaller. Thus we had to compromise and we decided to keep the room as is and go with an eco-friendly biodegradable product in the breakfast room. I understand that this is not the optimal situation and I have pushed for a change to re-usable products, though the solutions thus far have been hampered by the amount of space the hotel has available.

As always we are continuing to seek improvements for the room and will not stop until we find an optimal solution for the hotel and its patrons.

Thank you,

Dave Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We loved the great location. Although our room was on the second floor, directly on busy Kingsway, it was quiet. Traveling alone with two kids, we felt safe and welcomed in the hotel by all-owners, desk staff and housekeepers. Our room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast room was well cared for, replenished often, and the tables were cleaned between guests as the morning went. We were invited to take fruit and snacks with us for the kids later in the morning, which was great. The owners clearly care about the guest experience, and have hired staff with the same goal. Although underground parking was limited and required skillful parking, we always got a space and felt safer having this option, since I was traveling with young kids. We will be back again, and have recommended it already to other friends.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyfourcgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel and I am glad to hear that our staff are doing an exceptional job, we will continue to do our best to provide the best possible experience for all our guest so you can expect a similar experience with us on your next stay.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have stayed here on numerous occasions when visiting Vancouver. It is a wonderful hotel with awesome staff. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to be just off the downtown area, but close enough to the city center with great bus and metro connections. We have booked our next trip at this location already.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chimo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your very kind review I will be sure to let the staff know they are doing a good job, and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Ridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

This facility has such a unique floor plan. Our room wasn't overly large, but clean and very well thought out. We had a good laugh about the angle of the toilet... that was a little quirky, but didn't detract! LOL!

Staff was hospitable, helping us to find a place to eat upon our arrival. Breakfast was simple but tasty. Several individuals complained about the tight breakfast space. I saw several folks take their food upstairs. My feeling is that at least a hotel in a large city is SERVING a continental breakfast and that should NOT be taken for granted. We simply elected to eat reasonably early then took a leisurely stroll through that part of Vancouver.

My cousins, travelling with us enjoyed the lovely garden terrace, and I have to say that the bizarre Monkey Puzzle trees out front were a fantastic conversation piece!!!

We enjoyed our stay and I'd certainly recommend the Uptown!

Room Tip: Request one near the garden terrace. Great place to enjoy breakfast, coffee, or read the paper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hyker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your insights regarding our hotel and being so understanding regarding the breakfast area, it is one part of the hotel that we are always looking to improve and we have made several changes over the past year to make it better and we will continue to explore new options.

Our guests do love the monkey puzzle trees, they are definitely very interesting trees for sure, our grounds keepers have added a couple of other neat little trees to the mix this summer as well.

Thank you,

Dave Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
296 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Pleasantly surprised by this excellent small hotel with superb staff in a nice area. We found it a good base to explore the Vancouver area. Check in was quite smooth and the staff were helpful with advice on public transportation. (We used the Sky Train from the airport to Broadway-City Hall stop where we got a 99 bus to 1 block from the hotel.) Our room was quite comfortable, clean, and quiet. Used the lobby computer to check in with the airline. Wi Fi worked well. Breakfast was good, but the breakfast room needs reorganization and freshening up. The Mount Pleasant area has lots of young adults and therefore lots of interesting restaurants nearby. Convenient buses to downtown Vancouver. (Staff called a cab to take us to the airport -- it came in less than 5 minutes, costing $35.) Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DadDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel, I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, the neighborhood and the rest of the city. I will most definitely pass on the kudos to the staff and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great hotel, great area, superb staff. Made our stay extremely enjoyable. It was easy to see why the hotel was full just about every day. Only one small problem and it was the breakfast area. Way too small for the number of guests. Better option would be vouchers for the breakfast at the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jacques C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of the hotel, we have taken great steps towards improving our breakfast over the past year and we will continue to seek out new options to improve this situation. Moving the breakfast is an option we have explored in the past and we will continue to search for an alternative that suits the hotels and guests needs.

Thank you and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#55 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson on Broadway
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
#48 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#35 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel
Address: 205 Kingsway, Vancouver, British Columbia V5T 3J5, Canada (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > South Main , Mt. Pleasant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#41 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#42 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***PLEASE BE ADVISED THE LOT TO THE IMMEDIATE SOUTH OF THE HOTEL IS CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION*** We expect disruptions during the day time through out the excavation period. Thank you, Dave Stevens Assistant General Manager Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Best Western, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing