We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always love staying here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel
Ranked #49 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always love staying here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel very often, 2 months in one stint a few years back. It is extremely well managed by Rick, and his staff is some of the best out there. My wife and I recently stayed there after not being able to for a few years and it was as good as it ever was. Good breakfast. Great location. Very friendly staff. I especially like the fact all the rooms in the hotel are different so it is like staying in a new hotel each time. It is close to transit and lots of restaurants and stores. The parking could be bigger and easier to use but it is enclosed and underground. I couldn't recommend this hotel enough.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but different in layout and size. Ask for a specific type of layout or size when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rambler043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of the hotel, I will make sure Rick has the opportunity to read you kind words and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    366
    135
    19
    18
See reviews for
205
304
72
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I have been staying twice a year at this place for about eight years. Its not fancy but it is warm and friendly, the ceilings are high, most of the rooms are a very comfortable size and the price is reasonable. But the real advantage is the location on several key bus routes. It can be reached by public transportation from the airport. One can reach downtown Vancouver or UBC quickly with almost equal ease. The included parking and hot breakfast makes this a VERY good deal. I always notice groups from Europe or Japan staying there. If the tour guides see value you can BET there is REAL value here.

Room Tip: Its a pie shaped building so go for rooms that face AWAY from Kingsway and which are not on the extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review as always it is a pleaseure to see you and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Rooms lovely and large, toiletries supplied. Very small breakfast room, (did not appear to be a problem) semi contential, choice of cooked eggs, sausage, pastries, bread, cereals etc. Good for Coeliacs, and other food intolerances as the staff had cards with food ingredients listed. Locked car park underneath hotel, with lifts direct up to rooms. No nearby Restaurants, but next door to the hotel is a fab one, and you have your meals added to your hotel bill, hence only 1 payment which suited us. Oh tea and coffee in rooms. A car is ideal for getting around as not near any of the attractions.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel, I am very happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed here for one night and it was a good hotel. It is not downtown but a cab ride to Rogers Arena was only $10 so getting a cab to downtown shouldn't be that much more. The room was basic but clean and the front desk staff were very friendly. Their breakfast wasn't all that good. It had the standard fare of processed eggs and sausage, waffles, cereal and various baked goods. But it was ok for one day. I'm assuming the reason its a "Plus" hotel is because it does have breakfast and a workout room but thats about it for perks. It is on a busy street but we didn't hear any traffic noise. Overall it was a nice choice for a quick stay in Vancouver and one I would consider again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank canuckfamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel, the "Plus" designation is more in regards to the rating of the hotel and some of the finer details such as the quality of the beds, linens and other in room amenities that are very easily overlooked. The complimentary breakfast I can understand may not be the first choice for all of our guest however we do offer a very wide variety for our breakfast that includes fresh baked goods delivered daily, hot and cold cereals fruits and yogurt as well as the egg patties, sausage or bacon and waffles, if you would like a full breakfast the Salt & Pepper Grill is open at 7am they have various options for hot breakfast along with a breakfast special for $5.95

Thank you
Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Good value with a continental breakfast. Accommodating staff. Have stayed from 1 to 5 nights - approx 10 visits. Always easy and quick to register and check out.Transportation to downtown, airport and Seabus at your doorstep. You can walk to Gastown, Science Centre or False Creek if you are so inclined. Otherwise the bus is easy and quick.

Rates during summer can be much higher - but then so are all other rates in town.
Limited underground parking
Lots of funky restaurants and cafes in area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel its always nice to hear when a guest enjoys our hotel and the area as well.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

great location to enjoy the mount pleasant area with easy walking distance to Main Street shops. Rooms are small but very neat and tidy. Staff are super. Free underground parking is nice but limited and very tight spaces make it a challenge for anything but a small car. Good variety for breakfast but get there early as the room is small. A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel, I am glad to hear that you had an enjoyable visit with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valleyview, alberta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Our second visit. We stayed 4 nights and it was wonderful. The rooms are advertised as smaller, but they have plenty of space for a family of 4. They were very clean and had enough towels for everyone! We drove a full sized pickup and street parking was easy. The breakfast was fresh and there was an amazing amount of choice. The breakfast room was spotless and the lady in charge of the breakfast room kept everything replenished. She was exceptional! Check in and check out was quick and easy. Price was excellent. Location along Kingsway made it easy to get anywhere. Definitely the place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank odellnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will be happy to pass on the compliments to our Breakfast room staff.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#58 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson on Broadway
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
#47 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#38 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel
Address: 205 Kingsway, Vancouver, British Columbia V5T 3J5, Canada (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > South Main , Mt. Pleasant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#41 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#42 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***PLEASE BE ADVISED THE LOT TO THE IMMEDIATE SOUTH OF THE HOTEL IS CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION*** We expect disruptions during the day time through out the excavation period. Thank you, Dave Stevens Assistant General Manager Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Best Western and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing