We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Burrard(Vancouver)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Gec Granville(Vancouver)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (940)
Filter reviews
940 results
Traveler rating
202
402
213
74
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
402
213
74
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdavie streetwasher dryergay districtfull kitchenstanley parkliving roomocean viewgranville islandwest enddrug storemin walklots of restaurantssunset beachenglish bay beachoutdoor poollight sleeperhigher floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
775 - 780 of 940 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2006

My husband and I stayed here while visiting some friends in Vancouver. We stayed five nights and had a great time. I was impressed that the negative review here on this site had a manager response, and the service while we stayed also indicated good management.

Positives: Great view--we had an oceanview suite. Great pool--it's outdoors and HEATED, it was wonderful. It is in the shade until around 1ish, but still nice enough to swim early if you want. The previous comment about the pool being an ashtray was nuts, because that was in April. Who opens an outdoor pool in April?? The balcony was very large, the kitchen was well equipped and had a large fridge. The neighborhood is nice, lots to see and close to any kind of shop or restaurant you would need. 24 hour groceries within a block, etc. Front desk staff was always extremely helpful. Good security with elevators requiring cards to get to room floors.

Possible Negatives: Bathroom was well-equipped but very small--two people cannot stand inside it comfortably. The neighborhood has several shops and pubs which aren't appropriate for kids. Not a problem for us, but something to consider. Several days we left our room around noon, and had to call and ask for our room to be made up, as we had left after the staff had made their rounds. This was always done promptly and completely, but it is something to keep in mind if you sleep in.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel and absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank kjspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2006

This hotel is in a great location and diverse neighborhood that we really enjoyed. The hotel itself is ok. The rooms were clean, although they did not get around to making up our room until 6 pm one day. The first night there were loud people on our floor at 3am. The manager came up a number of times before it ended. They do have washer/dryer in room that we used, but expect it to take about a day a load! There are plenty of places to each and drink, we ate at Stepho's right near by and was worth the wait in line! Again we really enjoyed Davie Village. From this hotel you can walk just about everywhere in Vancouver. Just be careful walking from gastown to chinatown. Lots of sketchy druggy people.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stuart3368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2006

Not a luxury hotel by any means but very practical. Located on Davie Street a very hip location with lots of restaurants and bars. Easy walk to all downtown tourist spots and the Washer&dryer made it a great stop between our Cruise ship schedules. Staff was very helpful and we would stay there anytime we need to be in Vancouver

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank begoldbelair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2006

We recently stayed at this hotel for five nights and were very pleased with our room, which contained very modern and well maintained facilities. The hotel is in a good location, in the city yet close to the beach, so an ideal location for exploring on foot.

The kitchen contained an oven/hobs, microwave, full-size fridge/freezer, dishwasher, kettle, coffee maker, cutlery, crockery, pots and pans, dish cloths, dishwashing liquid and dishwashing powder. There was also a washer/dryer which enabled us to wash some clothes in the privacy of our own room (although you will have to provide your own laundry liquid). There was a breakfast bar, with chairs which separated the kitchen from the living room.

The living room contained a sofa, coffee table and television. There was also a balcony connected to the living room, offering views of the city and the mountains.

The bedroom was small, although it contained another television and a decent sized wardrobe (in addition to the wardrobe in the kitchen/living room).

The bathroom contained a bath and a shower attached to the wall (not hand-held).

The concierge was very helpful and he booked us an excellent tour to Grouse Mountain and Capilano Suspension Bridge, and he was even reluctant to accept a tip!

Although overall we were pleased with our stay, there are a couple of minor criticisms.

The housekeeping staff were not very thorough, for example, they did not empty the bins in the bathroom and did not clean the bath daily. They would also remove towels and dish cloths without replacing them. However, reception were very quick to replace the towels on request.

The lifts were extremely slow, and staff also using these lifts further slowed down the system. There were occasions when a lift stopped, and we could not enter the lift because there was a member of staff inside with several bags of dirty laundry or similar, and there was no room for us inside the lift because of this. So we would have to wait several minutes for another lift to arrive and hope that there was room for us inside. However, the lifts also offer a security system in that a guest must insert their key card before pressing the floor number, in order to prevent those who are not guests at the hotel from gaining access.

On arrival at the hotel our room was not ready (we arrived at 2pm), and although the receptionist was doing her best, we had to wait one hour before our room was available, which is not an ideal situation after a long journey. I find it hard to believe that they could not find one room available to us considering the size of the hotel.

The bakery over the road (Sweet Success) offers a large selection of tempting goods. However, I purchased a sweet pastry and after eating half of the pastry, I discovered a live insect crawling underneath. I returned to the bakery two days later and the person behind the counter asked me to point out what I had purchased, and she was surprised herself to find several insects crawling around on the pastries and inside the tray. I was not expecting to find any insects there two days later!

The drugmart opposite the hotel is a good place to do your food shopping, and here you can obtain maple syrup and maple cream cookies for less than you would expect to pay for these items in a tourist/gift shop.

The farmers market a couple of doors away from the hotel, offers a wide selection of fresh, organic produce at reasonable prices.

Granville Island is a good place to visit for souvenirs and gifts, if you want to get away from the typical tacky tourist shops! The Public Market contained several stands including, fresh meat, groceries, bakeries, gifts, as well as take-away food. There was a very nice Chinese take-away and the prices were reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Sienna293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2006

Fantastic hotel in a great area of Vancouver. Downtown is a 10-15 min walk away, it's on the bus route and there's lots of shops and restaurants around.
The hotel itself is very new and well maintained, the suite is perfect for anyone who wants to save a bit of money on food, or do their own laundry. Very comfortable bed, and friendly staff.
Would have no hesitation in reccommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank KINGKONG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews