We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, nice amenities, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street
Ranked #63 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed April 7, 2006

Great location in Vancouver! Also friendly and knowledgeable staff.

Clean rooms, balconies, nice to have a kitchen complete with DW, interesting LG combo washer/dryer (takes 286 minutes to complete a very small load!). All the amenities of home.

Valet parking for the same price as self parking--very handy!

The rates are very reasonable. We managed to get a Bed and Breakfast rate for the same as the regular rate--breakfast at Moxies was quite nice.

On the same block are a Starbucks, good Greek restaurant, fruit/veggie store, bakery, etc...

Walking distance to water taxi to Granville Island, as well as Robson, the waterfront walking path.

Only drawback, if this matters, was the VERY FIRM mattress.

All in all a good choice when staying in Vancouver.

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Love2vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (928)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

778 - 784 of 928 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2006

Back from my 4th visit since January 2005. Stayed a week and you can't beat the Sandman Suites on Davie for convenience of in-suite laundry, full kitchen including dishwasher, and staff that are attentive and professional. The front desk can get busy at times, so allow some extra time if you know you might be in a rush. The elevators can be slow.
Room service from the adjoining Moxie's Grill has good food, fast delivery and friendly service. The room service menu prices are on par with Copeland's, Bennigan's, TGI Friday's, Cactus Club, or Earl's. And when finished you can run the dishes through the dishwasher...how convenient!
Great 'four-peat' stay and I recommend it for location, convenience, amenities, and price. The completion of the 3rd floor renovations include the top-notch Phresh Spa which may soon elevate this property into a higher room rate bracket in Vancouver. Visit while this is still the best deal in the WestEnd and Downtown.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Canberra, Australia
18
Reviewed March 28, 2006

Our family stayed for 5 nights at the Sandman Suites on Davie in Feb 06. It was like a home away from home with all the facilities needed for a family with young children. 2 tvs, (one for the kids) full kitchen, and very handy a washer/dryer combination in the room in a concealed laundry. The position was great with a short walk to Stanley Park (for exercise) and Robson St (for shopping). Lots of supermarkets, fruits stores and liquor store within a 5 minute walk. The staff were great, with a 24 hr desk and room service there was always help at hand. The views over the city and mountains behind were spectacular. For the price it was one of the best value hotels we have stayed in. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again next time we visit Vancouver.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2006

I stayed in the Sandman Suites on Davie Street for 2 weeks and I really enjoyed it. The staff were very friendly and helped with any problem we had. The room was very clean and spacious and it was brilliant to have a washing machine in the room. Moxie's grill is the restaurant attached to the hotel and their food is very reasonably priced and very good.

The location on Davie Street is very central - only 5 minutes walk to the main shops on Robson Street or 5 minutes in the other direction to English Bay. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2006

Stayed here for a quick getaway. The staff were really nice and helpful, the price was good. It is right in the middle of Davies st, so easy access to amenities/shops, etc. We went to a hockey game, its too far from GM place to walk. I thought the room we stayed in was awful. The carpets in the room were stained and windows/blinds were dirty. Handprints on furniture that should be wiped clean. The rest of the room appeared clean, but I felt like it wasn't from the other issues noted. If you drive there yourself, you enter through the back alley, which I didn't like especially at night. If you taxi there or get dropped off you enter the front lobby area, so you wouldn't see the back area. My husband, didn't mind the hotel, I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank narek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2006

Stayed overnight at the Sandman Suites on Mar 9/06 and loved the room, the view, the location and the staff. Although tiny, the suite had everything, including a washer/dryer, dishwasher, microwave, fridge and stove. Staff were friendly and accomodating, and there is a restaurant on site, with hundreds of other food, coffee and restaurant choices within blocks. I was on the 23 floor and enjoyed spectacular views of English Bay & the North Shore. Would stay again anytime. Also check out the Phresh Spa on the 3rd floor if you get a chance, I enjoyed the best facial of my life there before heading home. Just a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shelley738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2006

Spent 14 nights at The Sandman in Davie Village and could not fault it. Clean, spacious well equipped suite. Magnificent views. All staff pleasant and helpful. In a very handy location, frequent buses into City Centre and down to English Bay. All the shops we needed within striking distance and what must be the best organic market and fresh home bakery in the same block as the hotel. We would make this hotel our first choice when we return to Vancouver.

6  Thank Stegotc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#48 of 92 in Vancouver
1,538 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
West End
Executive Hotel Vintage Park
West End
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
#46 of 92 in Vancouver
3,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street

Address: 1160 Davie St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1N1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Davie Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $117 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 24 storey full service all-suite hotel in the West End, Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street is minutes from the historic Stanley Park, an abundance of beaches, restaurants, and shopping. Let us focus on your stay, while you focus on the fun stuff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Suites Vancouver On Davie Hotel Vancouver
Sandman Hotel Davie Vancouver Downtown
Sandman Suites Davie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing