We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good standard accommodation in downtown Vancouver”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street
Ranked #64 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We spent three nights in one of these modern apartments. They are attractive, well equipped, functional and ideal for a self-catering stay in a central location. The one-bedroom apartment was spotlessly clean with timber floors and modern fixtures and fittings. The kitchen/lounge area was equipped with a washing/drying machine, and oven/hot plates cooker, microwave, dishwasher, sparkling stainless steel sink and spotless work bench. It was also furnished with a comfortable settee, coffee table, large screen television, etc. The bedroom and apartment had more than enough hanging/storage space. The bed was standard size, but comfortable, and the bathroom was adequate. In the entrance hallway was additional storage space where the ironing board and iron was stored. Free wi-fi was also available. The apartments were ideally located on Davie Street, just a short stroll to any number of different cuisine-type restaurants, a 10 min walk to the Aquatic Centre where you can take a water taxi to Granville Market, or walk along Sunset Beach Park to Elizabeth Bay and Stanley Park. Davie Street is on the bus route for a 10 min bus ride into the central shopping area of Vancouver, the harbourside or Gastown. What more could you want? Unfortunately, we experienced a problem with the washing machine which caused us some inconvenience, but the hotel staff were sympathetic and we came to an amicable agreement when it became evident that the malfunction could not be resolved during our stay. I would have no hesitation in recommending these suites as an ideal place to stay in downtown Vancouver.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paula67Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (916)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

483 - 489 of 916 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed in July overnight, after taking the Bolt Bus from Seattle. Made the reservation the prior night on hotel.com. Upon arrival, they had no record of reservation. I provided the confirmation number and showed them the email on my smartphone. But they would not accept it. The desk clerk proceeded to call hotel.com and give me the run around, making it sound like we were out of luck since the Sandman had no record of our reservation. I had to call hotel.com on my phone and straighten it all out. (When I just now checked the hotel.com site, it shows the reservation pending even though they emailed me a confirmation of the reservation. So this may have been hotel.com problem.) The Sandman employees were not overly friendly about all this while it has unfolding. However, when I asked if they could give us a room with a water view, they did. Room was wonderful with a balcony and amazing 22nd floor views. Had a one bedroom suite with kitchen and washer dryer.Staff hws great about giving us directions and advice. The neighborhood is in the gay area of town with sex toy shops and stuff nearby, but it wasn't really seedy or a problem. However, the restaurant does not serve breakfast, and there is no breakfast buffet or food available. We bought things at the nearby grocery store.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frugal_traveller17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is a high rise hotel in an interesting low rise neighborhood somewhat reminiscent of the Village in NYC--lots of small shops and ethnic restaurants and a vibrant gay community. Not far by bus or taxi to anything in downtown Vancouver. Rooms have their own balconies and may have good views of water (at a higher cost). Our room on the fifteenth floor was clean and airy. We enjoyed the two tvs. The kitchen features were nice (we used only the washer--drier). The European style washer-drier was wedged into an enclosure which obstructed access to the power switch and made if difficult to use the detergent dispenser. A far bigger problem were the inadequate instructions. The cycle is four hours long and if you guess wrong in how to operate the controls it can take much longer to get a wash done., We wasted a lot of time on this. Our English friends in another room had the same problem with their washer drier and abandoned trying to use their machine to dry. The toilet float mechanism needed replacing--acidic water had eaten away the rubber components and it barely refilled after flushing.

Room Tip: Room rates vary by height and view. Most rooms have standard layout but a few cheaper rooms are mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesnoyerPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We found this hotel to be a decent hotel for a good price. The area is safe and generally quiet. it is in a good location and driving around in Vancouver from here was easy. you can park on site which costs about $20/night but is safe and easy. Vancouver would have to be my favourite city in the world and so I'm am definitely going to be returning, and would stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Sandman Suites on Davey is so much better than it's sister hotel in Vancouver. Nicely appointed rooms including a clothes washer/drier (albeit a unit that takes about 4 hours to finish the drying cycle...just go out and leave it).

Separate bedroom, full kitchen, nice city skyline view, free wifi, located in a good restaurant area of Vancouver. We would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randspayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Situated in downtown Vancouver in a busy area (the place rocks!!) on Davie St, the hotel doesn't look attractive from the outside; its a multi-storey with balconies (c24 floors). Check-in area is somewhat drab but the staff were helpful and friendly although we did have to wait an hour until our room was ready at 4.00pm.
The room (as the hotel) was a little 'tired' but spacious, however it was very clean and comfortable, with dishwasher, hob and oven, microwave, washer/dryer, TV, bath & shower; everything needed for self catering if that's your thing. The Wi-Fi was free with good signal. The view was the main event, on the 22nd floor it was fantastic especially at night, take your camera.
Breakfast is served in an adjoining eatery, basic menu and a bit disappointing, however the place was clean and staff were again friendly and helpful.
Check-out was a little tedious, it was very busy so leave plenty of time especially if you have a deadline. Leaving luggage was no problem although they have limited space available.
Overall our one night stay was a pleasing experience; there are literally dozens of eating places/carry outs within quarter of a mile. Our hotel experience was largely positive and we would stay again, once you get your bearings you can explore this wonderful city, the public transport system is superb. Must sees are Chinatown, the Chinese and the VanDusen Botanical Gardens, Robson Street and Gastown for shopping and the famous steam clock!

Room Tip: Ask for a high level room near facing towards Yaletown Roundhouse you'll get the best view. (but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobbieBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Everyone seems to have different views of this accommodation but I have to say I was very pleasantly surprised. I was travelling with 2 friends and we stayed at the Sandman Suites for 5 nights in September. We got a corner room with a city view and I felt the suite had everything we needed - loads of wardrobe space, good kitchen area with plenty of equipment, cooker, microwave, dishwasher, fridge and washing machine etc. Nice bedroom and the sofa bed was comfortable enough. The staff were really nice and I have to say the bar staff in Moxies were brilliant, really friendly and welcoming. I really dont have anything negative to say about the hotel at all - it was in a great location on Davie and we felt we could walk everywhere we wanted to go within about 20 minutes once we got our bearings.

Room Tip: The corner room we had was nice and had a good city view but I think the view of English Bay on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 193cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#50 of 92 in Vancouver
1,512 reviews
West End
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
#47 of 92 in Vancouver
3,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,757 reviews
West End
Executive Hotel Vintage Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street

Address: 1160 Davie St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1N1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Davie Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $109 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 24 storey full service all-suite hotel in the West End, Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street is minutes from the historic Stanley Park, an abundance of beaches, restaurants, and shopping. Let us focus on your stay, while you focus on the fun stuff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Suites Vancouver On Davie Hotel Vancouver
Sandman Hotel Davie Vancouver Downtown
Sandman Suites Davie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing