We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Noisy and Busy Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street
Ranked #64 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights, in a very busy location at night, pubs, restaurants and clubs. Hotel is fine, on site Moxies resataurant is great, ate there each night to avoid going out. A good 20minute walk to Canada Plaza, where I would have preferrred to stay. Would I stay here again, No. If your young this would be a good party location.Staff are fine but lifts are poor, long waits at peak periods.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (930)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

546 - 552 of 930 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2012

Though the bathroom and bedroom were small, the sitting area and balcony with view were a delightful bonus. The entire suite was spotless and well appointed. The desk staff was exceptionally helpful, and attached to the hotel was the Moxie restaurant where we ate twice because it was so delicious. Also, the hotel location is central to all we wanted to see within walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cece562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

The Sandman Suites on Davie is located in the Davie Village neighborhood, the heart of Vancouver's dynamic gay community. We stayed here after arriving from a cruise. Visiting Vancouver twice a year, we normally stay closer to the Canada Place cruise terminal. It was a nice change to stay in this part of town because its a convenient walk to great restaurants, cafes, shops and a variety of things to do.

The hotel staff was friendly and efficient and although the hotel is not as new as those near Canada Place, our room was updated with modern amenities and contemporary decor. The room looked new, plus it was sparkling clean. We had a great view from our 11th floor balcony.

It was a 15 minute walk straight down Davie street to the edge of English Bay where we had a good time and amazing views from a great restaurant, Cactus Club Cafe. Stanley Park is also close enough to walk. Across the street from the hotel is Boulangerie Cho Pain, a wonderful french bakery. (Ive also submitted reviews for Cactus Club Cafe and Boulangerie Cho Pain)

When we left, it was a 20 minute walk to grab the Canada Line light rail to the airport. This was a great stay in a clean and nice hotel room in a fun part of town.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Hotel is located in Davie Village and in heart of reastaurants and entertainment is close at hand. The rooms were spacious. Nice living area with Fully equiped kitchen,TV in living area and Bedroom. Comfortable furniture and Bed. Free wi-fi and Gym,
Priced right 3 star that was worth more

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ipswitch00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We booked early for our Alaska and Canadian adventure, and got a good rate.
We had a Queen room, city view, and were given 22nd story.The view was magnificent.

. Although smallish bathroom, and not sure if bed was a queen, the amenities for our 4 night stay were great, although the old type air conditioning unit didn't seem to do anything.

As others have said, position and handy restaurants were great.
Bus stop to the city and beyond just outside.
So why give it a 3 star. Well, I like ice in the evening, and had to search for a machine that works was frustrating.
Also the lifts (only two operating) were inadequate for the volume,and having to share the two lifts with cleaning staff, meant I spent many minutes on my floor, waiting and waiting, and on a floor with an ice bucket in my hands, waiting, and waiting.
Just some money spent on upgrading,and next time we visit we could stay with you.

Room Tip: Don't get overly excited with the quality of food from the local restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busterNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Great spot, great rooms,excellent. Can't fault it. We parked for one night and it would have been nice to be told what the charge was! Ouch. We would have tried to park elsewhere or hired car later had we known. Of the 12 places we stayed over a month in Canada this was the only place that charged us.

Good supermarket across road and liquor shop. Must be a great Greek place to eat next door as people were standing in long lines to get in for hours! Didnt get name but it's same side as hotel and 1 min from main entrance. Even had washing machine,full size fridge etc. other sandman didn't even have a fridge.

Room Tip: Don't take your car there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saltpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer V, General Manager at Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I appreciated your feedback.

Our daily parking charge is $18.75 plus tax = $25.41, please note parking in downtown Vancouver can range from $15-$45/night depending the hotel + 32.5% tax (standard parking tax). If you were charged $28+tax please me know, I would be happy to look into your reservation.

Best Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Generally on tours you dont get great accommodation, however, the other hotels we stayed at as well as this were fantastic!
I stayed in uptown the night before this one, so moving to this in downtown was a pleasant surprise.
I got there early so was happy to leave my bags as i was sightseeing and staff were so helpful! That really stood out.
The room was great, wifi was fantastic and it was close enough to places like gastown.
The only negative is the elevators, when many tour groups stay here and are checking in, the line can be a little long to get upstairs in the elevator. This didnt happen much, but was a little annoying when it did but with so many people, what can you do?
Fantastic views also!
All in all, a great experience here!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre
West End
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#51 of 92 in Vancouver
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson
Davie Village
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#19 of 92 in Vancouver
2,329 reviews
West End
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
#46 of 92 in Vancouver
3,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street

Address: 1160 Davie St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1N1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Davie Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $118 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 24 storey full service all-suite hotel in the West End, Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street is minutes from the historic Stanley Park, an abundance of beaches, restaurants, and shopping. Let us focus on your stay, while you focus on the fun stuff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Suites Vancouver On Davie Hotel Vancouver
Sandman Hotel Davie Vancouver Downtown
Sandman Suites Davie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing