We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!”
Review of Carmana Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carmana Plaza
Ranked #49 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2010

We stayed at the Carmana Plaza Hotel in an Executive Suite for 5 nights in September and had a very plesant stay.

The location is excellent, just one block away from Robson Street which is full of shops and restaurants and within walking distance of Stanley Park. Across the road is a nice Supermarket called Urban Fare (a little bit pricey though).
We had a car and the main attractions (Capilano Suspension Bridge, Grouse Mountain & Lynn Canyon Park) were within a 15 minute drive. Stanley Park was only a 5 minute drive, if you don't fancy walking there.

The room was a very nice apartment, with a sitting room, bedroom, bathroom, full kitchen (oven, hob, microwave, kettle, toaster, coffee maker, dishwasher, cutlery, plates, cups etc.) & there is ample stoarage for suitcases and clothes. A safe, iron & ironing board was also provided.
Internet access was available, but at a cost of around $10 per day. Parking was around $15 per day.

All the staff we came across were very pleasant and helpful.

When we go back to Vancouver we would definatley stay at the Carmana Plaza again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dindon80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (554)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

390 - 396 of 554 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2010

Stayed in a 2 bed apartment for 2 weeks in August and have also stayed previously. The Carmana Plaza is in a great location, just off Robson Street so handy for sightseeing downtown. The 2 bed executive street was great, beds big and comfortable, kitchen clean and well equipped and 2 bathrooms handy when travelling with small children. The Carmana Plaza is opposite Urban Fare which is great for stocking up on groceries and loads of places nearby for early morning coffee. Only one problem we encountered, every day the apartment would be cleaned around 4/5pm, just as we returned from a day out and needed to use the apartment. We asked at reception but couldn't seem to get this resolved. A small point an overall wouldn't hesitate to recommend a stay at Carmana Plaza.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ph07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2010

Apartment style hotel located in a quiet street, close to the main Robson Street shopping area. In house gym and laundry facilities available, no restaurant although decent deli and up market supermarket straight across the street. Internet access available but costly, nearby coffee chain provides it free.
We stayed on the 25th floor and had great views across the harbour. Will stay here again next time I'm in Vancouver.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sammymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

the apartment-style rooms have fantastic-living area with modcons, free internet and great views of the city, bed very comfy, kitchen area excellent with good equipment ( dishwasher, microwave, large fridge/freezer etc) --all in all, fantastic value (cheaper than standard hotels with just a beroom and bathroom).
Staff very nice, gym is small but sufficient; would certainly recommend it

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ljonesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We have stayed at this hotel in Vancouver on our annual visits ever since we first discovered it over 20 years ago.
As an apartment hotel, it allows the extra freedom to either dine in or take advantage of the amazing range of restaurants in very near proximity.
We have always found everything of interest right at our doorstep and the ability to walk from Canada Place to Stanley Park is part of its charm.
The staff, some of them the same ones, are marvellous and have done everything to make our stay comfortable.
This was a sad, and possibly, final stay, as my daughters and I bought my husbands ashes home to his birthplace.
Thankyou Carmana Plaza for your consistantly good attention to detail and wonderful service.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patcatAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

THis is an apartment hotel with all the facilities you need with separate bedroom, living room and kitchen. We had an executive suite on 22nd floor with super views out of a floor to ceiling window. We used the kitchen for breakfast and it was much better than a hotel when you came in after sightseeing to relax in your own sitting room.
There is a great deli/food market across the road which does take out food of a high quality. There are numerous restaurants in the vicinity. We even had an Indian takeaway delivered to our door !

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NItraveller40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

These self contained apartments are great. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment which was separate from the living room which is perfect if one of you wants to go to bed before the other. They had a separate kitchen with big fridge, stove, microwave & dishwasher. The tea bags, coffee & bathroom products were top quality. The rooms were serviced every day.

There is a coin operating laundromat in the building which is very handy. They have doorman so you feel very secure.

The position is brilliant. Right in the heart of the city. There is a huge supermarket opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller13Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Landis Hotel & Suites
Landis Hotel & Suites
#64 of 92 in Vancouver
445 reviews
West End
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
#45 of 92 in Vancouver
3,913 reviews
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Auberge Vancouver Hotel
Auberge Vancouver Hotel
#47 of 92 in Vancouver
568 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
Lord Stanley Suites On The Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmana Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmana Plaza

Address: 1128 Alberni St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#25 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $164 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carmana Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Carmana Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmana Plaza Vancouver
Carmana Plaza Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing