We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heart of the city”
Review of Carmana Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carmana Plaza
Ranked #44 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Heart of the city”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Location is tops! Short walk to all shops, restaurants etc. you're literally at the heart of the city but because Vancouver is generally a peaceful quiet one you don't feel it.
The suites were lovely. Modern and spacious plus impeccably clean. It came with a full serviced kitchen plus a beautiful balcony facing the skyscrapers.
The staff were very helpful, most of them Filipino like us so that came in pretty handy!
The gourmet grocery across the road is something you have to see - it made me hungry every time I stepped inside!
Thai restaurant next door was great as well. They don't have a restaurant inside the premises but you'll find a Tim Hortons steps away from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trip_momma5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    172
    21
    4
    12
See reviews for
148
154
26
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is a bit late of a review but oh well. My husband and I stayed here at the end of July to attend the Celebration of Light for our anniversary weekend. We were so happy with our choice. You get a lovely, modern suite and in a great location. The room had a full kitchen that we used quite a bit considering we were there for a several days. There was also a lovely living room, balcony, dining area, just perfect!

The location was fantastic. You're close to many restaurants/coffee shops and right across the street from the hotel is a grocery store. So convenient.

Lastly the staff is very friendly and helpful. Check in and check out were quick and efficient and they acknowledged our anniversary which was very sweet!

Loved the hotel. Has a very homey feel to it. Definitely give it a try on your next trip to Vancouver!

Room Tip: It's worth it to pay a bit more and get a higher floor. Having a beautiful city view is so worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Krista D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

If you want a convenient place to stay in Vancouver, look no further. I was there for 2 nights 10/09/13. From the time, I arrive, the doorman greeted me and deposited my checked bag at the front desk. The check in was very smooth with all the necessary information needed for the stay. I had two issues during the stay i.e. the coffee maker and the slow toilet bowl. Both issues were taken care off during my absence and the front desk asked twice whether the issues were taken care off. The one bedroom suite is large, very comfortable and basic. Everything you need in the kitchen is available.

This is where I will be staying whenever I am to Vancouver.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erict4079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

he hotel is in a great location, within walking distance from many attractions. You can even reach the Stanley Park walking which I do not recommend. Save your legs to walk there out of that huge park. Go by bus. It is very easy from the Hotel. bus.
The apartments are huge, clean and full of natural light. Staff is always available to help you whatever you need. As my English is not perfect, they bought for us tickets by phone for a bus up to the city of Victoria . Right next door there is an awesome Japanese restaurant called Oysi Oysi . In front of the hotel has a fantastic supermarket with everything you can imagine.
The hotel is not a very cheap option but worth every penny and our room could accomodate 3 people. I cannot talk about the garage because I didnt used it. Also, there is a Laundry self service on the 3rd floor. What else are you looking for??

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NadiaMontagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The location is great--close to the business district and an easy walk to Stanley Park. The one-bedroom condo is a good alternative to the downtown hotels. The kitchen has a full sized fridge and stove. If you want to self cater, the Urban Fare grocery store across the street has a great selection of gourmet ingredients and prepared foods.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnetwentyOTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The hotel is in a splendid location, one road down from Robson Street and one block from Burrard Sky train station. The staff are very friendly and the room service very efficient.The kitchen allowed us to have breakfast in the comfort of our own room and it was good to return to the room during the day to drop off our shopping. There is a supermarket across the road and a Tim Horton's a couple of doors away.

This is the 4th place we've stayed at in Vancouver and definitely the best.

Room Tip: The Executive Suites have a TV in the bedroom if you like to watch TV in comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Great area! Walking distance to the waterfront and financial district where I had my meeting. Easy to get to.

Very clean, spacious apartment. It even has a dishwasher, full fridge, full stove/oven. 2 TV's - one in the living room and another in the bedroom. Great view AND a balcony.

The price I paid was average - but no where near as pricey as what I was quoted for the high end hotels that would have provided something comparable to what I got at Carmana.

The only comments I would make that would have improved anything is that the bed wasn't a plush as you would get in a kushy hotel. Wasn't uncomfortable by any stretch, and the pillows provided were great., but it's wasn't a pillowtop mattress etc.

Regardless though, certainly will stay here again as everything was great! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheriliko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,432 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Downtown
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmana Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmana Plaza

Property: Carmana Plaza
Address: 1128 Alberni St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#25 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carmana Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carmana Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmana Plaza Vancouver
Carmana Plaza Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing