We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, hospitality, service and cleanliness.......”
Review of Carmana Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carmana Plaza
Ranked #45 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2013

If you want a convenient place to stay in Vancouver, look no further. I was there for 2 nights 10/09/13. From the time, I arrive, the doorman greeted me and deposited my checked bag at the front desk. The check in was very smooth with all the necessary information needed for the stay. I had two issues during the stay i.e. the coffee maker and the slow toilet bowl. Both issues were taken care off during my absence and the front desk asked twice whether the issues were taken care off. The one bedroom suite is large, very comfortable and basic. Everything you need in the kitchen is available.

This is where I will be staying whenever I am to Vancouver.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erict4079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 228 of 550 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

he hotel is in a great location, within walking distance from many attractions. You can even reach the Stanley Park walking which I do not recommend. Save your legs to walk there out of that huge park. Go by bus. It is very easy from the Hotel. bus.
The apartments are huge, clean and full of natural light. Staff is always available to help you whatever you need. As my English is not perfect, they bought for us tickets by phone for a bus up to the city of Victoria . Right next door there is an awesome Japanese restaurant called Oysi Oysi . In front of the hotel has a fantastic supermarket with everything you can imagine.
The hotel is not a very cheap option but worth every penny and our room could accomodate 3 people. I cannot talk about the garage because I didnt used it. Also, there is a Laundry self service on the 3rd floor. What else are you looking for??

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NadiaMontagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The location is great--close to the business district and an easy walk to Stanley Park. The one-bedroom condo is a good alternative to the downtown hotels. The kitchen has a full sized fridge and stove. If you want to self cater, the Urban Fare grocery store across the street has a great selection of gourmet ingredients and prepared foods.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnetwentyOTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The hotel is in a splendid location, one road down from Robson Street and one block from Burrard Sky train station. The staff are very friendly and the room service very efficient.The kitchen allowed us to have breakfast in the comfort of our own room and it was good to return to the room during the day to drop off our shopping. There is a supermarket across the road and a Tim Horton's a couple of doors away.

This is the 4th place we've stayed at in Vancouver and definitely the best.

Room Tip: The Executive Suites have a TV in the bedroom if you like to watch TV in comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Great area! Walking distance to the waterfront and financial district where I had my meeting. Easy to get to.

Very clean, spacious apartment. It even has a dishwasher, full fridge, full stove/oven. 2 TV's - one in the living room and another in the bedroom. Great view AND a balcony.

The price I paid was average - but no where near as pricey as what I was quoted for the high end hotels that would have provided something comparable to what I got at Carmana.

The only comments I would make that would have improved anything is that the bed wasn't a plush as you would get in a kushy hotel. Wasn't uncomfortable by any stretch, and the pillows provided were great., but it's wasn't a pillowtop mattress etc.

Regardless though, certainly will stay here again as everything was great! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheriliko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

What a pleasant surprise. I stayed here for a week on buisness . Customer service was excellant in all departments - could not ask for better service. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious .My room was on the 23 rd floor with a fantastic view. A small balcony with table and chairs to enjoy your morning coffee. Nice kitchen area with grocery store directly across the street. A variety of restaurants to choose from that are within a very short walking distance - practically right out side the door. Location of the hotel is central and within walking distance to Robson St. I hope to come back with my husband to explore Vancouvers city center and for sure we will be staying at the Carmana Plaza.Great stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDBacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for three nights. It was waste of time and money. The hotel is located in a narrow and busy street. It does not have a place for parking and you have to go through a nightmare to get to a parking site down under the building. There are currently multiple construction sites in its vicinity with lots of noise and dust. There is no good view from any side of the building. The rooms are ok but overpriced. You can do better elsewhere.

Room Tip: Do your research by reading the critical comments about any hotel before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abrams123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,660 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,802 reviews
West End
La Grande Residence at the Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
West End
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
#46 of 92 in Vancouver
3,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmana Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmana Plaza

Address: 1128 Alberni St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#25 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $166 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carmana Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Carmana Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmana Plaza Vancouver
Carmana Plaza Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing