We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great overall experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Carmana Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carmana Plaza
Ranked #39 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great overall experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2007

I stayed at the Carmana on and off for approximately 3 months for work. I travel a lot for work and this is my favorite hotel. The rooms are extremely spacious, the property is clean and everything is very private. You get free internet access and full cable and maid services.
This does feel way more like an apartment than a hotel though but I found it far more comfortable. Being able to make my own food and have a lot of space was a definite plus.
Be warned though on the Robson side of the building it can be noisy since a lot of dump trucks go through here.

  • Liked — The rooms and location
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank jac2028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    170
    21
    4
    11
See reviews for
147
154
25
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2007

Stayed at the Carmana Plaza September 30, 2007 for three nights with my wife and 13yr old son. Booked hotel for three persons in a one bedroom apartment expecting to have a sofa or pull out bed for the boy. On arrival I was shocked after being advised that I had to pay and extra $15.00 a night for the pull out bed! After my expressions of dissapointment and embarassment in the main foyer I requested that I speak to the manager who saw that I was not impressed and offered the sofa bed all inclusive. I must say though that apart from the attempted rip off, I would stay again as the hotel was very clean, well located and serviced.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — front service desk.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank liberty3l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
202 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2007

We travelled as a family of 4 and stayed in 3 different hotels in Vancouver (Times Square & Pacific Plaisades). This was our favourite for comfort, location and value. We had a very large 2 bed suite on 30th floor with small balcony. There were 2 bathrooms full of soaps etc , good kitchen with all amenities, TV , Hi-fis etc all over the place and very stylish minimalist decor. The hotel is right in the heart of the busy Robson St area and can be noisy with the windows open but is fun if you want to go for a stroll in the evening and be in the middle of the action. Also good for shopping, restaurants etc In fact you can walk almost anywhere. The lobby is also comfortable and stylish if you need to wait around and there are 3 lifts which get you to your room without having to wait. All in all a high quality suites/hotel which i wouldn't hesitate to recommend in its price range.

  • Liked — The decor, the 2 separate bathrooms, the efficiency, the views
  • Disliked — Noise from roadworks with windows open
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2007

Everytime we go to Vancouver, we always book Carmana Plaza because it's at a prime location, the staff are excellent to deal with and you get your very own fully furnished condo with equipped kitchen, LCD TV in the bedroom and living room plus it's located in the heart of downtown Vancouver close to Robson and a comfortable walking distance to Stanley Park.

The price is super reasonable for what you get. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Vancouver. I don't understand why this hotel is not ranked higher because it totally deserves it!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Happy_MM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2007

This is the best hotel we have ever stayed in. We had a one bedroom suite. Plenty of room for the two of us. Extremely clean, modern, quiet and comfortable. The exercise room is not huge but has just enough equipment for a good work out if walking and biking around the city are not enough. If you need a swimming pool, there are several pools within a 2-5 block radius, including an excellent facility at the YWCA.
Carmana Plaza had lot of amenties which made our stay much more comfortable such as a full size refrigerator, coffee maker, full kitchen with utensils and a laundry room (coin operated machines). The staff is very polite and helpful and the location is very convenient to a wide range of restaurants. Plan to buy your own coffee at a nearby Blenz or Starbucks since the in room coffee package is not that good. Also, you have to provide laundry soap for the washers but there are convenience stores less than a block away. This was a great place to stay and I do not know why Carmana Plaza is not ranked higher on Trip Advisor.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank tbirdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,345 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Downtown
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmana Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmana Plaza

Property: Carmana Plaza
Address: 1128 Alberni St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#25 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carmana Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carmana Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmana Plaza Vancouver
Carmana Plaza Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing