We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient, hassle-free hotel with excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Ranked #16 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Convenient, hassle-free hotel with excellent staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

My parents and i were here for one night on our way to Anchorage the following day. With such a short stay, an efficient staff service is truly appreciated, and the hotel exceeded my expectations in this regard.

A friendly concierge service and a convenient location for something quick to eat, plus a very spacious and comfortable room with a nice view.

I would recommend this hotel as suitable for all purposes, business or leisure.

Room Tip: Choose as high up as possible for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheikh_Well
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Sheikh_Well,

Thank you for your kind review. Words like "efficient, friendly and exceeded expectations" are music to my ears! Hope you return and stay for a longer visit next time.

Kind Regards,

Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    348
    33
    5
    8
See reviews for
334
364
49
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed here for eight nights in June 2014. We had requested a room on a high floor with a view and indeed this is what we were given. The room was very clean and the kitchen equipped to a very high standard including a fridge freezer, microwave and dishwasher. The hotel staff were very friendly and could not help us enough. Breakfast was well provided for but did get a bit crowded after 8am. There was a good choice of hot and cold food to cater for the taste of most people. The hotel is located in a very nice area in easy walking distance of many of the sights in Vancouver. There are some great restaurants nearby but the hotel restaurant food is of good quality and convenient if you don't want to go out. I would recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again when I next visit Vancouver. One more thing, as usual with all Marriott hotels, the double bed was extremely comfortable and luxurious guaranteeing a great nights' sleep. :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor with a balcony and a view.
See more room tips
Green Features: Seems to be good regarding towel exchange, toiletries, waste disposal etc.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJAC2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear MJAC2001,

Thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review, and for noting the Green Practices in the hotel. As you would expect these days, we offer guests the option of reusing their towels and changing their sheets every other day, and we offer in room recycling, and composting. There are many other features throughout the different areas of the hotel as well.

Hope to see you again on your next visit to Vancouver.

Kind Regards,

Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed at the Residence Inn for 2 days post Alaskan cruise. It was a very busy weekend with the LGBT Pride week and the Festival of Lights. We arrived very early before scheduled check in as we had just come off the ship. I was very pleased that by 10:30 AM we were in a room on the 20th floor with a beautiful view of the city. I dont recall the name of the guy who checked us in but he was so helpful and took his time answering any questions we had. He offered to change our room to the other side of the building so we would be able to view the fireworks over the water but we stuck with our original room as we were going to view the fireworks from the nearby bridge to Granville Island, The room was spacious and comfortable and could not find a single thing that I would have a negative comment about. Breakfast room was a bit hectic as the hotel was busy but everything was replenished quickly and the quality of food was very good and plenty of choices. As others have said, the hotel is in a great location with a stop for the hop on hop off trolley that was right in front of the hotel...very convenient!! We have stayed in many Marriott properties as my husband travels alot for business and have to say this hotel was one of the best!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie2De
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Susie2De,

I'm so pleased to hear about these great experiences. BC Day weekend is a great, but yes, hectic, weekend to spend in Vancouver. The fireworks, great weather, parade and so many other fun things to do. Love hearing that our hotel was your home and the location was so convenient.

Kind Regards,

Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Check-in was smooth and pleasant. Our room was spacious, clean, well-appointed with a very large kingsize bed that was most comfortable. Having a kitchen with a fridge, freezer, microwave and kettle was very convenient, as were the clean and efficient laundry facilities on the second floor. The hotel is located close to a wide variety of restaurants. Reception staff and manager were helpful at all times. Breakfast was included and was more than adequate. The free wifi was very fast and reliable. Underground on-site parking was most useful in this downtown location. Our three day stay prior to our cruise could not have been more pleasant.

Green Features: Reserve one of the larger rooms at the end of the hallway.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationguysToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear VacationGuys,

I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel's facilities. We find a lot of our guests love the location of the laundry room next to the gym and pool and close to breakfast, as they get their laundry, work out and breakfast done in one trip!

We've also upgraded what was already excellent wifi to keep up with the multiple devices in each room - great to hear it was appreciated.

Kind Regards,

Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

This Residence Inn is a lovely and fun place for a family or a business traveler to gain some solace or find some fun. Located in the center of downtown Vancouver, just minutes away from ferries to Granville Island or further destinations, is a recently remodeled ($25MM CAD three years ago) gem.

Pros: recently remodeled hotel, full breakfast and internet included, bright and comfortable lounge, nice pool and hot tub, friendly front desk. Cons: parking a bit awkward and lifts are slow (22 floors).

Only reason not providing five stars due to lifts but experience happened over BC and Pride weekend so expect better timing when you stay.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Theron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Theron,

I love the title of your review! The perfect tagline for our hotel. Thanks for qualifying the cons with the information that it was BC Day and Pride Weekend. This is the busiest weekend of the year with the most "traffic" in the hotel as people come in and out all day due to our location on the parade route and proximity to Davie Village.

Kind Regards,

Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
293 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

This is an outstanding hotel with an outstanding staff. Our check in manager and concierge, Won, was the best we have had in forty years of travel. Won assisted us with reservations, tours and offered excellent suggestions. The hotel itself is remodeled, up to date, comfortable, and nicely located. The breakfasts are quite good. A short walk to practically everything and right by Davies Street with hundreds of restaurants. We would definitely stay again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rickybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Rickybob,

Thank you so much for the review and for recognizing Won at the Front Desk.

There is so much to see and do in Vancouver, and our hotel is the perfect starting place. Be sure to ask our front desk team about our Out and About Recommendation Cards. Each associate has created their personal recommendations - from a local point of view - for great things to see and do and places to eat in our city.

Kind Regards,

Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

A recent 6-day stay experience supports the excellent review by Joseph S.

We felt welcome as soon as we arrived. The staff at the front desk extremely helpful. We appreciated the special courtesy of Mike, Guest Relations, in making us feel that nothing was too much trouble.

Accommodation wise everything was super. The two queen size beds and furnishings were comfortable and very clean and the bathroom well appointed.
In our room, 1401, the view was stunning but the wardrobe access was a little of a nuisance for two ladies sharing, having sliding doors. Small concern considering everything !

The level of room care by housekeeping was first class, the gym is a good size and everything worked. The breakfast buffet was good, but during high season it can be something of a melee when the cut off time of 9.00am approaches.

Whereas the location super for city shopping and Granville Island connections, it is a little too close to the wrong end of Davie Street, with street sleepers odd people - so best bet is to stay on Hornby Street.

Thank you Residence Inn Hornby Street for a comfortable stay in every way.

Room Tip: Even close to the elevator, noise was not an issue
See more room tips
Green Features: Loved that they have a recycle bin in the kitchen for green waste. First time I have ever seen that. Appreciated other waste-reducing initiatives.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DORISSIMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for posting such a helpful review. We're always delighted to hear that our service and facilities exceeded expectations and that guests love our location. As with any large city, Vancouver has some areas/aspects that are less appealing than others, and they are easily avoided if you'd rather not see it with a word of advice - as you noted - and as our local experts at the Front Desk can assist with as well. Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,603 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Davie Village
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#14 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Address: 1234 Hornby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1W5, Canada (Formerly Cascadia Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#15 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#16 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn(R) by Marriott Vancouver Downtown, located on Hornby Street, is the only branded all-suite hotel in Downtown Vancouver. The Residence Inn by Marriott is designed to provide travelers with everything they need to thrive on longer stays with special features including enhanced work desks, ergonomically designed chairs and luxury bedding. Hotel amenities include an indoor heated pool and an outdoor terrace garden equipped with a BBQ grill and fire pit. This extended stay hotel offers spacious suites ranging from 420 sq ft to over 800 sq ft with fully equipped kitchens, free WiFi and in-room high-speed internet access, and complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascadia Hotel And Suites
Cascadia Hotel Vancouver
Residence Inn Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing