We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Ranked #18 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bakersfield, CA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We recently spent 3 nights here, one before our cruise and two after. It's a beautiful hotel. Our room was spacious, the beds were very comfortable, the staff was always friendly and helpful, and overall everything was very clean and modern. They provide Paul Mitchell shampoo and conditioner, a nice touch. We enjoyed evenings in the pool and hot tub and the breakfast had many great choices. The fitness center looked nice, but we really didn't spend any time there.

This location is one of the trolley stops, but unfortunately the last trolley stops here around 4:30. We ended up getting off at a nearby stop and walking back to the hotel. Vancouver is a nice city for walking in, though, and it didn't feel as far as it looked on the map.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dotfurio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you so much for you lovely review. That Hop On Hop Off Bus is definitely a favourite, and having it stop on our doorstep is great. So glad you enjoyed Vancouver.

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    363
    33
    5
    9
See reviews for
342
381
51
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2014

This is a great hotel for a Vancouver stay. My daughter and I were very well treated and enjoyed our stay tremendously. The room had every feature we needed and the area is perfect. We walked to the Granville Island SeaBus, to the Yaletown Canada Line station and to every other downtown location we wanted to visit. Can't think of a better place to stay in downtown Vancouver.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
We're all about making great memories! Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We had a large, beautiful, modern room that was very clean and had a comfortable bed. It felt more like a luxury apartment than a hotel room. The location is convenient and the staff are efficient, friendly and helpful. We will stay here the next time we visit Vancouver.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit - in a "luxury apartment"!

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

convenient location, awesome staff, recently renovated rooms with high end finishes! It's like a super cool bachelor apartment in downtown Vancouver!

The staff are great, they always go the extra mile to help you out.

Room Tip: the higher the floor the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cvinzenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
You nailed it! We offer upscale "bachelor condo" style studio suites with 24/7 hotel services! Thanks for the great review.

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

My mother & I stayed here recently based on a recommendation by a friend (who actually arranged the trip for us), and we were both supremely impressed by the accommodations. The room was HUGE, and I simply could not believe the plethora of power outlets that were available. I wish more hotels would be as helpful as this, especially since I have a unique need for outlets placed convenient to the bed. Complimentary breakfast is included in a huge space on the 2nd floor, and the wine bar on the ground floor is super convenient, with an excellent selection. The hotel also offers fast Wi-Fi and even makes it super-easy to access it! Finally, it is located very close to the Granville Island Autobus and is within walking distance of Davie Street. If I ever come back to Vancouver (and I do want to!), I will seriously consider staying here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay! Thanks very much for pointing out the state-of-the-art technology in the hotel. We DO have outlets EVERYWHERE because we know how important connectivity is these days, and we have massive bandwidth available in the hotel so that your connections are fast and easy, and YES - we DO have connections in the wine bar too - so that you can relax and stay in touch at the same time!

Kind Regards,

Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for two nights before we went to Whistler and then for two nights when we returned from Whistler and we were extremely impressed on both occasions. This hotel was quite perfect really - it was a really good location as it was near the Aquabus for Granville Island and also had great bars and restaurants a few blocks away. In addition, the hop-on, hop-off bus stopped outside. There was a 7/11 opposite and lots of other shops around. As mentioned previously by other reviewers, the rooms are huge - with a superking size bed, large bathroom, a big fridge/freezer, cupboards and drawers stocked with lots of cutlery and crockery and even a microwave complete with a grill! Breakfast had lots of choice and we had no problem getting a table for four even though it was extremely busy on one of the days. The Front Desk staff were really helpful and friendly and gave us lots of good information about where to go and how to get to places. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms as we went to Whistler for a few days in between - the first room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satch1SouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Fabulous review - very impressed! :) Thanks for the great information on our location too.

Kind Regards,

Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We recently spent 4 nights at this hotel and absolutely loved it. The room was excellent, very clean,quiet and comfortable it was a lovely place to come back to after a long day exploring Vancouver.
I note that previous reviews mentioned that it was in a "sketchy" area which I disagree as the location of the hotel is excellent. We walked further downtown along Hornby Street day and night and never experienced any problem. It is also so convenient for the Aquabus to Granville and for walking along the creek or beach/ Stanley Park.
If you visit on a Tuesday you can join the Wine tasting evening in the bar which was great. Erick was very knowledgable and it was a lovely social event as well as tasting some very nice BC wines.
Breakfast can get a bit busy towards the end of service but it was very enjoyable. All staff members we encountered were very helpful and friendly. If I am lucky enough to visit Vancouver again I would not hesitate to stay at The Residence Inn.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TartanD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
What a lovely snapshot of our hotel - makes me want to stay here too!

Please do come back!

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 90 in Vancouver
3,713 reviews
Robson Street
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 90 in Vancouver
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 90 in Vancouver
2,477 reviews
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 90 in Vancouver
2,062 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 90 in Vancouver
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Address: 1234 Hornby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1W2, Canada (Formerly Cascadia Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#15 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#16 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn(R) by Marriott Vancouver Downtown, located on Hornby Street, is the only branded all-suite hotel in Downtown Vancouver. The Residence Inn by Marriott is designed to provide travelers with everything they need to thrive on longer stays with special features including enhanced work desks, ergonomically designed chairs and luxury bedding. Hotel amenities include an indoor heated pool and an outdoor terrace garden equipped with a BBQ grill and fire pit. This extended stay hotel offers spacious suites ranging from 420 sq ft to over 800 sq ft with fully equipped kitchens, free WiFi and in-room high-speed internet access, and complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascadia Hotel And Suites
Cascadia Hotel Vancouver
Residence Inn Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing