We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in Vancouver ....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Ranked #18 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Gem in Vancouver ....”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The hotel met and exceeded expectations ... check in went smooth , friendly staff who hilited things to do , places to go on a map ... we had adjoining rooms to accommodate a family visit.
Rooms are "huge" and recently redone/upgraded with a full fridge , electric stove top if you wanted to cook something up in your room... location is pretty central for sight seeing within the city centre ... lots of places to eat nearby on Davie and Granville Streets ... a nice complimentary breakfast is included ... try to go early to avoid the last 15 min rush :) Will certainly stay at this location again when in Vancouver ...

Room Tip: The hotel has 3 elevators ... however even on the 8th floor we had to wait from time to time ... gue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    363
    33
    5
    9
See reviews for
342
381
51
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
zman319
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Met expectations, would recommend, would stay again.

Single nite stay, redeemed our Chase credit card free night for a 2 queen room. Holy super value, Batman: paid $79 annual fee, used it for a hotel room that retailed at about $140+.
-One semi-confusing aspect of an award redemption is that the website mentions a fee of $20 per person for 3rd and 4th persons in room, but we were not charged that for the award... so yeah for the consumer!

Overall, this was a great stay; all aspects met Marriott standards. Room was clean and reasonably spacious.

Breakfast was fine, buffet was always well supplied with continuous attention by the staff. Great selection of choices, with enough tables available; never had to wait.

Didn't try the pool or spa facilities.

Parking was fine; as you enter, the first two levels aren't Residence parking, you keep going down and down... but it's fine.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zman319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
What a great deal! Thanks so much for choosing to use it staying with us! Hope to see you again.

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Great staff, they were very knowledgeable. Nicely laid out rooms. Very clean. Location in nice proximity to things to do. Great price for this brand and location. Free breakfast in the morning with great choices for food.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank sheila w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Magnificent review! :) Thank you!

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

What a nice place. Clean, well run, Eco-friendly, free breakfast, and with the online deal I found - free parking. Our room was queen high floor view balcony. Sofa and reading lamps, little movable end-tables etc made for great relaxing reading time. Watched a game on the big tv. Loved walking the waterfront trail & Granville island.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JWesterbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thanks for the 5 star review! We hope you'll stay with us again on your next visit.

Kind Regards, Suzanne Alemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Stay at the Marriott for 2 nights mid January and we had a absolutely fantastic stay! The hotel is in a great location near Davies St, Yale Town and the sky train.

The lobby area is very welcoming and the staff are lovely. They made us feel very welcome when we arrived and were very helpful with any questions we had. The room with two queen beds was absolutely massive and done out so well. It really does feel like you are staying in a 5* hotel. I stay in a lot of top hotels with work and this was just like some of them around the world. The kitchen area is great too within the room.

It was also great having breakfast in the rate and there was plenty of selection and was seated straight away. My only minor complaint would be that the hot selection wasn't the greatest and was never really very hot but it is a tiny issue that could easily be addressed and improved.

I would defiantly stay again at the hotel in the future and will be recommending it to all my friends and family in the UK for the next time they are over in Vancouver. It was a big thumbs up from us!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank AdyHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thanks so much for the great review! I'm delighted we fit into "the best hotels in the world"!

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This hotel has it all...location, service, excellent food and perfectly appointed rooms. We enjoyed every aspect of our stay. We were able to walk to everything we wanted to see. The area was very safe to walk-even at night!
Will stay here again!!!

Room Tip: This hotel had a perfect kitchen for snacks and small meals. The breakfast buffet offered by the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay!

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed a couple nights for business, had a King suite room. From the incredibly friendly greeting at check-in thru the "good mornings" at breakfast, everything was perfect. Beautiful suite with awesome kitchen, amazingly comfortable king bed, great toiletries (paul mitchell shampoo/conditioner), robes provided, fantastic breakfast (lots of selection hot and cold), I loved my entire stay. I was on the 7th floor facing Hornby and didn't hear a thing - one of the l advantages to this hotel is that Hornby is a quieter street than Burrard or Robson. I ate at Cavino's (the restaurant inside) and it was also great. I really appreciated the recycling and composting bins, as well as the fact they used icestone for the countertops (recycled glass and concrete). Highly recommend!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank jo_VV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
... and WE love your entire review! Thanks for the great detail.

Kind Regards, Suzanne Alemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 90 in Vancouver
3,713 reviews
Robson Street
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 90 in Vancouver
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 90 in Vancouver
2,479 reviews
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 90 in Vancouver
2,066 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 90 in Vancouver
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Address: 1234 Hornby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1W2, Canada (Formerly Cascadia Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#15 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#16 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn(R) by Marriott Vancouver Downtown, located on Hornby Street, is the only branded all-suite hotel in Downtown Vancouver. The Residence Inn by Marriott is designed to provide travelers with everything they need to thrive on longer stays with special features including enhanced work desks, ergonomically designed chairs and luxury bedding. Hotel amenities include an indoor heated pool and an outdoor terrace garden equipped with a BBQ grill and fire pit. This extended stay hotel offers spacious suites ranging from 420 sq ft to over 800 sq ft with fully equipped kitchens, free WiFi and in-room high-speed internet access, and complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascadia Hotel And Suites
Cascadia Hotel Vancouver
Residence Inn Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing