We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good bargain and Comfy hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Ranked #16 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A good bargain and Comfy hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

The hotel is located in downtown within walking distance to restaurants. The rooms are clean and comfy. Bathroom, kitchen and room are all newly renovated. Connected rooms are also available upon request. Breakfast was nice and has a good variety of food. Hotel staff are friendly. Would definitely come back or recommend the hotel to friends!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaryNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thanks for the review. So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    344
    32
    5
    8
See reviews for
331
360
49
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stay at this hotel every few months for business, and always enjoy my time. Friendly staff, comfortable beds. Room includes a kitchen. Location is excellent. Right downtown, close to everything. This hotel does offer a breakfast buffet which is included. Food is excellent and is located on the 2nd floor of the hotel.

Room Tip: I have requested a room with balcony in the past. The lower floors have large balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drossjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you so much for the great 5 star review, and for your loyalty!

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed two nights with two adjoining rooms. Having stayed more than 500+ nights in different Marriott properties this was the nicest Residence Inn I have discovered. Convenient access to prime Vancouver sites. Easy access to Granville bridge. Very clean. NIce beds for a Residence Inn. Only negative is the property isn't designed like most RI's in that you don't have one or two bedroom options. We managed by booking two rooms and were sure that they were adjoining.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Nicest Review I have seen! Love that you love our hotel. It is designed differently from a lot of rural/traditional Residence Inn's and is an all-studio property due to the downtown location and high-rise building. Hope to see you again on your next visit.

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Pros....Overall a good hotel. Front desk staff very welcoming and obliging. Rooms large, well presented and very quiet, mostly. Breakfast excellent for family and the hotel is well situated.
Cons....Did not get the rooms we booked. Room wasn't cleaned on the second day, even after two phone calls. Finally came and took the trash away and offered us fresh sheets, towels etc to change ourselves. Two staff members spoke outside our door at 6.30 in the morning for half an hour discussing work.
Seems like a new hotel with teething pa

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paynesville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
I'm always pleased to hear that our guests have enjoyed the hotel, benefits and facilities during their stay. That's what we're here for.

I'm not pleased to hear about concerns with room assignments, noise and cleaning. I have contacted this guest directly for more information to ensure that everything is reviewed internally.

Kind Regards,

Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
437 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

This hotel was well located for downtown and for going to Granville Island. Because it was so cold (everyone kept telling us it hardly ever got that cold in December), we took the bus or train everywhere we wanted to go. They were fairly easy to navigate, though it would have been nicer to have a schedule for the bus. The staff was superb--always willing to help find a restaurant or suggest an activity for the day, especially Bruno and Jason. The breakfast was decent, though I wouldn't recommend their restaurant for anything but snacks in the afternoon or evening. The rooms were a very nice size, with a kitchen, though no oven except a microwave (not that we wanted to cook). We had no problems with noise.

Room Tip: We always like a high floor away from an ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myrna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thanks for the great 5 star review! Sorry to hear you were here during the cold snap - but great to hear you had a good time exploring the city!

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Loved this hotel, the room was very big with a kitchen area and was very quite. We had a great view of the city and the free hot breakfast in the morning was great. The lobby is cozy with a big fireplace. It is central to many attractions that are within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachresorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for the great review. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
213 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

We loved this hotel, the rooms are big and have great kitchens. Great views and a very nice free hot breakfast in the morning. Pool was ok with a nice hit tub. Workout room was above average for a hotel workout room. Lobby is very comfortable with big fireplace. You can head out in any direction for downtown Vancouver FUN. Great central location. Within walking distance to everything great about Vancouver. Lastly the staff is very friendly and helpful. Would stay there again for sure.

Room Tip: obviously the higher you are the better the views. We had good city view with some water views. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne A, General Manager at Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. The hotel's location is perfect for exploring Vancouver. Hope to see you on your next trip to Vancouver.

Kind Regards, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,524 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,302 reviews
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#13 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
Robson Street
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Address: 1234 Hornby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1W5, Canada (Formerly Cascadia Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Davie Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#15 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#16 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn(R) by Marriott Vancouver Downtown, located on Hornby Street, is the only branded all-suite hotel in Downtown Vancouver. The Residence Inn by Marriott is designed to provide travelers with everything they need to thrive on longer stays with special features including enhanced work desks, ergonomically designed chairs and luxury bedding. Hotel amenities include an indoor heated pool and an outdoor terrace garden equipped with a BBQ grill and fire pit. This extended stay hotel offers spacious suites ranging from 420 sq ft to over 800 sq ft with fully equipped kitchens, free WiFi and in-room high-speed internet access, and complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Marriott so you can book your Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascadia Hotel And Suites
Cascadia Hotel Vancouver
Residence Inn Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing