We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really brilliant tour by Erik!”

Tour Guys Vancouver
Ranked #22 of 191 Tours in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Tour Guys are a collective of guides - passionate history junkies, pop culture buffs and dynamic storytellers - who have their finger on the pulse of what makes Vancouver tick. As one of the top rated tourist attractions in both Vancouver and Toronto on the world's most popular travel review site the Tour Guys guide hundreds of people per month on walking tours of their cities. Check out the famous FREE TOURS or explore a bit deeper by booking a private tour.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed March 5, 2018

This is a fantastic way to see parts of the city. We did the Waterfront + downtown tour, and it was a great mix of contemporary events in Vancouver city, with the First Nations history and the Gold Rush. As a 'new' city, compared with England and Europe, you cannot expect vast swathes of ancient monuments, but the indigenous and Gold Rush history is unique. It is well worth doing this tour to learn about it, if you like history. I highly recommend this tour. Also to his credit, Erik began the tour by explaining that the tour is free but he earns his bread by tips--"but I even accept payment in hugs if you are broke." He gave so much insight and so many tips even on places folks can buy souvenirs or grab their lunch after the tour, that we willingly gave him a $20 for all his hard work and a hug.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank JoshandCharlott... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,072)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"downtown waterfront"
in 49 reviews
"free walking"
in 37 reviews
"granville island"
in 200 reviews
"these guys"
in 36 reviews
"fun facts"
in 16 reviews
"great guide"
in 26 reviews
"marine building"
in 12 reviews
"gas town"
in 30 reviews
"two hours"
in 17 reviews
"stanley park"
in 11 reviews
"emma"
in 170 reviews
"chinatown"
in 172 reviews
"history"
in 336 reviews
"knowledge"
in 59 reviews
"pace"
in 44 reviews
"architecture"
in 48 reviews
"humour"
in 24 reviews
Filter

187 - 191 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2018

Landed in Vancouver, drove to Squamish for 1 night. Wonderful sights of the mountains and the area. Then stayed at Whistler in the Fairmont Hotel. Expensive, but nice. Wedding at Northwood Farms. Amazing scenery and loved the whole wedding.
7-day Alaska Cruise on Celebrity ship. Favourite part was the Hubbard Glacier, but our tour on a small plane out of Ketchikan was also fun.
We left our cruise ship and got onto a bus tour that we had booked from the ship. The tour lasted about 5 hours, including a stop where we bought lunch and enjoyed great scenery overlooking the water. The tour stopped or showed us all of the main sights of the city as well as explaining some economic situations, some history and other sites we would enjoy.
We were dropped off at our Hotel Soleil, a lovely Boutique Hotel in downtown Vancouver. The next day we caught the Skyway Train to the airport to go home.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Cosmoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2017

We took the "Downtown & Waterfront" free tour. It was fun and insightful. For whatever reason, our tour group was quite big (our tour guide told us normally the groups are not as big), so, it was difficult to hear our guide. Anyhow, our guy was passionate and cool. I highly recommend this to those who are visiting vancouver the first time.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank moumou199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2017

My experience with the Tour Guys Vancouver was great from start to finish. They were super accommodating for our special requests, organizing a tour just for our group that focused on our particular area of interest and working within our time schedule, all for a VERY reasonable price! Our guide was excellent; not only knowledgeable about the history and culture of the city, but also able to respond to our many and various questions. If anyone is traveling to Vancouver for the first time, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend that they do a tour with Tour Guys.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Rowan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2017

This was a pretty good walking tour. You do learn some things about Vancouver but I feel our tour guide knew more about random tidbits about Vancouver than the actual history, as this wasn't her full time job either, just a part time gig. I've done walking tours where the tour guide was obsessed with the city and was a walking history book but this wasn't it. Still a good tour though and you do learn a lot of things, I would take this walking tour if I were you, and tip!

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank XavierNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tour Guys Vancouver also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Tour Guys Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing