We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private tour with Emma”

Tour Guys Vancouver
Ranked #22 of 191 Tours in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Tour Guys are a collective of guides - passionate history junkies, pop culture buffs and dynamic storytellers - who have their finger on the pulse of what makes Vancouver tick. As one of the top rated tourist attractions in both Vancouver and Toronto on the world's most popular travel review site the Tour Guys guide hundreds of people per month on walking tours of their cities. Check out the famous FREE TOURS or explore a bit deeper by booking a private tour.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Reviewed August 3, 2017

We spent a full day with Emma on our first day in Vancouver. It was a great way to get oriented, learn about the history and highlights of Vancouver, and get tips on other things to do/where to eat. We highly recommend Emma - she has a great sense of humor and a knack for telling stories. She kept our group of parents and teens entertained for the whole tour.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank dcStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,072)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"downtown waterfront"
in 49 reviews
"free walking"
in 37 reviews
"granville island"
in 200 reviews
"these guys"
in 36 reviews
"fun facts"
in 16 reviews
"great guide"
in 26 reviews
"marine building"
in 12 reviews
"gas town"
in 30 reviews
"two hours"
in 17 reviews
"stanley park"
in 11 reviews
"emma"
in 170 reviews
"chinatown"
in 172 reviews
"history"
in 336 reviews
"knowledge"
in 59 reviews
"pace"
in 44 reviews
"architecture"
in 48 reviews
"humour"
in 24 reviews
Filter

256 - 260 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2017 via mobile

We made the Chinatown Walking Tour in Vancouver and really enjoyed it!
Our tour guide Emma was extremely well informed and knew the area by heart. Additionally she has a great sense of humour which made the tour worthwhile! :)
Highly recommendable!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank annkaths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I have been on many free walking tours around the world. We are not locals to the city. We did 2 tours with this company. The downtown walking tour was just OK. My main issue was that there were 87 of us and only one guide (not sure what happened there?). This made moving around downtown Van and actually listening to the guide VERY difficult. I realize this is a free tour, however being a visitor on limited time in the city we couldn't just do another one so we felt stuck on a sub-par tour. From the little bit that I was actually able to hear, the information seemed good. At the end I felt a bit brushed off by our guide. We paid her what I thought was way more than the tour actually deserved (because we're nice Canadians) and she left us feeling like she was in a rush to scoot off which was unfortunate as we had a few questions.

We also did the Granville island tour later on the same day. This one was MUCH better with only about 12-15 people. The guide (Kyle, I think?) went out of his way to provide a very detailed and more intimate feeling tour and we appreciated that - I only wish we had this same experience earlier on!

Overall, I would still suggest to give this company ago but compared to other free walking tours we've done around the world - our experience was just OK.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank Brandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petegas78, Manager at Tour Guys Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017

Hello and thanks for the feedback. On the day that you visited, we had a rather large unannounced group join us which left us a bit short staffed so apologies for that. We have started having more guides on standby during this busy summer season since this happened. Sometimes it's hard being so popular! Great to hear about your Granville Island experience.

Cheers and safe travels,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2017

Emma was great as our guide. She was well informed, guided us through huge crowds easily, and most of all entertaining and fun?

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Gloria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our tour on Granville island with Emma so much, that we joined the downtown tour the next day! Both tours were a lot of fun with a lot of insight and details that we would have missed otherwise! If today weren't our last day in Vancouver, we'd for sure be on another tour tomorrow!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank NoraBird27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tour Guys Vancouver also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Tour Guys Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing