We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting and fun”

Tour Guys Vancouver
Ranked #8 of 165 Tours in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Tour Guys are a collective of guides - passionate history junkies, pop culture buffs and dynamic storytellers - who have their finger on the pulse of what makes Vancouver tick. As one of the top rated tourist attractions in both Vancouver and Toronto on the world's most popular travel review site the Tour Guys guide hundreds of people per month on walking tours of their cities. Check out the famous FREE TOURS or explore a bit deeper by booking a private tour.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interesting and fun”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The Downtown and Waterfront tour is a great way to see some of Vancouver and learn along the way. Lauren was a great guide - friendly, helpful and knows a lot about the city. I'd definitely recommend this tour!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Samantha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    713
    83
    10
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great intro to downtown Vancouver and Gastown!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Our guide, Lauren, was very knowledgeable and entertaining. This was a really interesting (and cheap) way to get an understanding of Vancouver's history and culture.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank OzWandererMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Vancouver's many downtowns”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Thank you Lauren for a wonderful tour! Your knowledge of our great city was exceptional and enhanced our "tourist in your own town" weekend. We loved learning about our history and the changing face of Vancouver and its moving downtown cores. We look forward to the summer where we can participate in the other tours being offered.
Lauren was fun, engaging and very knowledgable! Thank you!
Jessica & Jeff

Helpful?
Thank JessicaOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“entertaining and informative tours”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My friend and I did the free 90 minute tour of downtown with Lauren. We liked it so much that we decided to do the Granville Street / Gastown tour the next day as well. I'm a tourist in Vancouver, but my friend had already been living in Vancouver for a year and knew a lot about the city. But she still learned quite a bit of new information. Lauren did a great job of keeping the tour interesting for everyone. She made history come alive and also recommended some great foodie stops along the way (e.g., a donut shop that sells Earl Grey and Mexican mole flavored donuts!). I never had to force myself to pay attention, as it was all fascinating stuff. I especially enjoyed the Marine Building and Christ Church stops on the downtown tour.

By the way, the tours are described as "free tours", but as the guides work for tips, you should come prepared with cash. The guide will pass around a hat at the end of the tour.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nlgenxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Professional, informative and interesting”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was a great tour that covered a broad range of topics. I was particularly keen on particulars on how the cit has been developed and the discussions on the buildings. Lauren was a great tour guide who was enthusiastic and keen throughout. I would recommend this as the first tour you do when in the city to assist in getting your bearings.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tour Guys Vancouver also viewed

 

Been to Tour Guys Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing