We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Budget Option” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of YWCA Hotel Vancouver

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #18 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Budget Option”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

We were extremely pleased with our stay.

The hotel is located just a few blocks from the Metro. You can take the train from the airport to the hotel. There is also a very reasonable airport shuttle ($12/person, $19/couple) that leaves the YWCA 3 times per day.

We stayed in a room with a semi-private bath. We never had a problem using the bathroom at any time. It is very nice because there is still a sink in the room. If you stay here, don't forget to bring shampoo. There is also a small TV and a fridge in the room. That was very convenient as we tired of eating out every day. The rooms are very clean. The beds are a little firm, but the room is comfortable and we could regulate the temperature in the room.

There is a full-sized kitchen on several floors for cooking. There are also laundry facilities with reasonable prices. While we didn't use the parking garage, there was parking that cost less than other nearby lots. While not close to the hotel, adults staying here can use the YMCA across town for swimming and working out.

For people on a budget who want to spend money on activities rather than rooms, this is a great budget option, with rooms almost half the price (after taxes) of other nearby hotels. The location is very convenient. The staff were very friendly and helpful for giving directions and ideas for places to go.

There is internet available for a fee (both on lobby computers and through wi-fi). However, if you want to access free internet, you can get a free temporary internet access card at the Vancouver Public Library just 2 blocks away. They have computers available, or you can use their wi-fi. Plus, they have a beautiful entrance that is a worth a visit in and of itself.

In addition to saving money staying here, I felt good knowing that our hotel stay would help benefit the Y's social services efforts in the area. Overall, we were pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelAddict1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    933
    604
    100
    11
    6
See reviews for
354
437
369
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

As a 22 year old traveling alone to Vancouver for the first time I found the YWCA a wonderful surprise. I had stayed their location in Montreal earlier this year and found it get, but I was worried about the location because it is closer to Chinatown, which I had been advised to stay away from. The room was so nice and comfortable. It was within walking distance of everything downtown, even walking to Stanley Park wasn't very far. The woman at the front desk gave me the student discount even though I forgot my student card halfway across the country. I had a great stay. The only drawback were the concerts across the streets which unleashed some loud revelers, but I travel with earplugs so it didn't really both me.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StevieMacDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

I recently stayed at the YWCA and was impressed with the convenient location just two blocks from Skytrain, reasonable rates, courteous service at the front desk, clean room with a fridge, sink and central air conditioning. I had wondered about the shared toilet and bath down the hall, but that turned out not to be a problem: everything was clean and, best yet, no line-ups! I will definitely return. Thank you YWCA!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justfiddling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

Found this hostel to be very good. It was more like a hotel really. The rooms were clean and big enough for us, we had a sink and TV in the room and a place to hang our clothes. The shared bathrooms were always kept clean and there were always ones available to use. The staff were really friendly also. The hostel was in a great location too.

The only downsides were that it didn't include breakfast and you had to pay $2.50 a day to use pots, pans and plates etc. They said this was due to things going missing but surely a deposit would suffice and encourage people to return things. There also wan't free internet.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank salbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

Nice facility with great staff / clean cozy rooms. Unfortunately, I was very unimpressed with the shower and bedding. The shower couldn't get the shampoo out of my hair. The bedding / blankets were too thin for Vancouver weather.

Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank taipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2010

reasonable value for money - clean, small rooms with almost all great staff except one. wish internet access in rooms is included in the payment though - still need to pay for it separately.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cyrillota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2010

we wanted a centrally located hotel for one night before we left on our cruise and this hotel was great. the price was right. there is a resturant next door and the library stop for the trolley tour of the city is just a couple of blocks away. we enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,515 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#38 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YWCA Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YWCA Hotel Vancouver

Property: YWCA Hotel Vancouver
Address: 733 Beatty Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2M4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#16 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — YWCA Hotel Vancouver 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YWCA Hotel Vancouver offers a warm welcome to all travellers and is a comfortable, safe and affordable place to stay at the heart of downtown's arts and entertainment scene. All rooms are private and there’s a choice to suit your needs and budget - from single rooms to quints. The modern 155 room facility has air-conditioning, mini-fridges, telephones, TVs, guest area kitchens, wireless Internet access, laundry rooms, a coffee bar in our lobby and meeting rooms! The YWCA Hotel is just a stroll away from Robson Street, the city's shopping and restaurant mecca. Other nearby neighbourhoods worth exploring include Historic Gastown, Chinatown and trendy Yaletown. The YWCA Hotel was the recipient of the Best Bargain hotel in the 2009 TripAdvisor Travellers’ Choice Awards and recently received TripAdvisor 2011 Certificate of Excellence. Come and discover for yourself why YWCA Hotel is worth checking into! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your YWCA Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Ywca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing