We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #14 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2009

we only stayed one night, but wished I had booked for longer. Very clean rooms and well equipped for budget accomodation. If you are thinking of getting a private room in a hostel, this is the best option. We had stayed previously in HI Vancouver Downtown, and this was a much nicer room. We were really high up and got great views of the city, plus hotel extras like towels, bathroom, and tv.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,091)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,769 - 1,775 of 2,091 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2009

When returning to the hotel in the evening, as soon as my friends and I walked into the lobby the front desk lady rudely yelled out at us asking if we were checking in. She then also bluntly asked what room we were staying in and then proceeded to ask us if we were all staying in the room together. It was just my friend and I staying in the hotel room and the other friend who was with us was just grabbing some items from us that were in the room. The front desk clerk very rudley asked us if my friend was also staying with us. When my friend replied that she was not staying in the hotel room the front desk clerk asked how long she was planning on staying up in the room for and that if it was for very long then she was going to charge her for it. My friend told the front desk clerk very calmy that she did not intend on staying for very long. The front desk lady then yelled out very impoilitely to "give me your i.d". There were no manners used, no courteousy. It was the most awful customer service I had ever seen. My friend then gave the lady her driver's liscence and as we were waiting for the elevator to reach the lobby, my friend made us laugh (may I point out that it was not loud whatsoever) and the front desk clerk once again barked at us that they have a NO NOISE policy. My friend and I turned towards the front desk clerk and told her that we had no intention on causing any problems at all, we just wanted to go to our room for the night. Her last comment to us was that she could "call the cops on us!" The hotel still has my friend's i.d, they never gave it back to her.
This was by far the most disgusting service I have ever experienced at a hotel. I would never expect anyone to speak to me the way that the front desk clerk did that night, especially not someone who works in a customer service industry. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I would highly discourage people from using the YWCA of Vancouver.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VancouverLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

My partner and I stayed here for one night before our road trip to the Rockies. This place was excellent value, clean and with friendly and helpful staff. For the price, the rooms were fine, with lots of space. The bathroom on our floor was nice and clean and never busy.

This place is in a good location and close to everything. For the one fantastic summer day we had in Vancouver we walked from the hotel through the city and down to Stanley Park, exploring everyhting on offer. This day was one of the highlights of our trip.

The hotel reception staff are very helpful and there's lots of information available. There's two computers as well with internet access (you have to pay) although they can get a little busy. In the hotel is a small coffee shop and next door is a pub where you can get a drink and where we had a nice lunch.

And also, Vancouver is a fantastic city so get out there and see it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teamgraffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

This place was perfect for us. Yes, not luxurious by any means, but for the price and the location I don't think anyone could argue with it.

We had a room with a shared bathroom, which was a little odd, and if I went again I'd probably spend the extra and get the ensuite. I found it a little frustrating sometimes when the room next door decided to shower at 5 am - it was a noisy shower and inevitably woke us up.

The cafe downstairs had nice coffee and muffins etc, which was a nice and cheap way to start the morning. I walk a lot so found most places easily accessible on foot, although less energetic folk may prefer to use the buses/taxis were are both very reasonably priced and efficient.

The front desk staff were wonderful and couldn't have been more helpful - especially when the padlock on our case broke and they helped us to remove it!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twinkly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

Vancouver is faubulous! I was considering moving there, but didn't. The relationship I had there ended. I was actually there in the early 90's I think it was.

Anyway, if you don't like rain--it was the rainy season when I was there. Don't remember when exactly that was, but probably can find out for anyone interested. Vancouver IS the rainforest. So it rains quite a lot. The city is right on the Pacific with a mountain range lining just above the ocean. Breathtaking scenery cause you have the mountains and the ocean, obviously. (I will never be a travel writer!)

The people are so friendly and helpful. Canada is bigger than the US as a land mass; and there is a much more sparse population. So plenty of land for everyone. It doesn't feel as crowded as the US would seem. And everyone says, "ay?" at the end of their sentances. So cute.

So, GO, GO, GO to Vancouver! Also a ton of Sushi restaurants because it is close to Asia. Was the place to go for sushi in the 90's. Now Boston seems to rival my memory of how very many sushi spots there were there.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicat009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

If you are looking for a great budget hotel, this is a great place to stay. Very friendly staff, clean hotel. Six of us stayed in one room with 5 beds, a private bath. Good location, a little far from the HOHO stops. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
Thank ike2012016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

Stayed here after dropping off rental car, so we were delighted at how easy it was to get around from the YWCA to see so much of central Vancouver - Downtown, Yaletown, Gastown, Chinatown, Granville Island, Stanley Park, etc. Room was compact, but clean and well serviced. Staff were always friendly and helpful. Only quibble with room was that we'd opted for a shared bathroom (between us and next room). Next time I'd go for a bathroom down the hall - more to choose from if someone's in one, and less noisy when your neighbours are having an early shower, etc.! Alternatively, you can pay more and get an ensuite, but I think I'd be happy with the shared one down the hall just as much, and a lot less cost.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faganj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,784 reviews
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#58 of 92 in Vancouver
428 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#38 of 92 in Vancouver
824 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,007 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YWCA Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YWCA Hotel Vancouver

Address: 733 Beatty St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2M4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#16 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $76 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — YWCA Hotel Vancouver 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YWCA Hotel Vancouver offers a warm welcome to all travellers and is a comfortable, safe and affordable place to stay at the heart of downtown's arts and entertainment scene. All rooms are private and there’s a choice to suit your needs and budget - from single rooms to quints. The modern 155 room facility has air-conditioning, mini-fridges, telephones, TVs, guest area kitchens, wireless Internet access, laundry rooms, a coffee bar in our lobby and meeting rooms! The YWCA Hotel is just a stroll away from Robson Street, the city's shopping and restaurant mecca. Other nearby neighbourhoods worth exploring include Historic Gastown, Chinatown and trendy Yaletown. The YWCA Hotel was the recipient of the Best Bargain hotel in the 2009 TripAdvisor Travellers’ Choice Awards and recently received TripAdvisor 2011 Certificate of Excellence. Come and discover for yourself why YWCA Hotel is worth checking into! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your YWCA Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Ywca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing