We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location with reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #18 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“good location with reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2008

I agree most of the reviews which said the hotel is good. But I think they should call themselve YWCA hostel rather than hotel.

The room is easy to book by www.hostelworld.com. Location is great as it is just 2 blocks away from the Sky Train Station (Stadium - Chinatown). And I just took about 10 minutes to walk to the shopping area at Robson Street. 7-eleven, supermarket, McDonald is just at the corner around.

But if u need internet access, make sure you bring your own notebook. The wireless fee is CAD$10/week, but it charge CAD$8/hour if use their laptop at the lobby. Parking is CAD$9/24 hours. Landury is CAD$2/wash or dry + CAD$1.25/wash powder.

The only drawback is the share bathroom. Even the bathroom / Toilet is very clean, but you will not enjoy the shower as the water spray is not wide enough to cover your whole body.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Bathroom
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank alvinlausp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    955
    619
    100
    11
    6
See reviews for
365
443
377
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2008

I stayed here recently when going to a concert. The hotel is directly across from BC Place, so it was a great location to stay.
I was pleasantly surprised by how much I liked it! The rooms were clean, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend it to anyone staying in Vancouver who isn't concerned with frills, and just wants a good place to stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rooms were a bit small
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Aradia76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingen, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2008

We stayed at the Y for four nights late in September .The room was clean and comfortable . The staff were friendly, helpful and had lots of local knowledge . And it is great value . It cost us for four nights what we spent for one night at another downtown hotel earlier in the month. It made us realise we don't need to spend the big bucks to have a great experience. Infact we enjoyed the Y because it is more real and connected to the life of the city than a regular tourist hotel.

Had some problems with the wireless provider but after help from reception the owner of the company ended up calling me directly to sort it out. So can't ask for better problem solving than that!

All in all a really great place to stay and good value too,

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellogirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2008

My sister and I stayed here for a week, and I really have nothing negative to say about this hotel!
We chose the YWCA because the room value is SO much better than any other hotel in the city. At first, this made us a little nervous, but after arriving at the hotel all our worries disappeared. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. They were quick to offer suggestions for good places to eat in the area right when we checked in, and gave us a map, highlighting the way to get to many of the attractions in the area we were interested in seeing!
Our room had two double beds and since no private bathroom was available, we shared a bathroom with the neighboring room. This was never a problem, and I never felt like I was going to get walked in on. The locking system for the shared bathrooms is very secure. The room itself is very basic. There is a desk, a small tv, a closet, a sink, and some shelving. The pictures on the website are very accurate. Each room also has a mini-fridge and its own sink and mirrors, so you don't need to spend time in the shared bathroom getting ready. The rooms are kept clean, just as clean as any other more expensive hotel I have stayed in, and we had a lovely view of science world from the 9th floor. There is also a little coffee shop connected to the hotel where you can buy beverages and baked goods on your way out in the morning. The hotel has a 'quiet time' (for rooms with shared bathrooms at least) of 11pm, so we were never disturbed during the night by noise. As well, the front doors are locked at 11pm, so you have to buzz in to get inside. There are also keys for the elevator and you turn your room keys in to the front desk every time you leave the hotel, so I felt very safe staying there.
By far my favorite thing about this hotel was the location! It is within walking distance to almost anything you could need. Chinatown, Gastown, Yaletown, and Granville Street are just a quick walk away. If you want to go to Granville Market it is a short walk to the seabus terminal, which takes you directly there and the ride is beautiful. It is also two blocks away from the chinatown skytrain station which will get you where you need to go in no time. When we booked the hotel we had no idea how close to everything we would be, so it was a pleasant surprise to see how much money we saved on transportation!
Overall, I was EXTREMELY impressed with the YWCA hotel! If you are a budget traveller in Vancouver, especially if you will not be driving in the city, this hotel is perfect. I will definitely be back next time I visit Vancouver!

  • Liked — Location, Value
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank redbluegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2008

This place is much better value than anywhere else I found in Vancouver. It is basic, but good and clean. We stayed in 3 different rooms - no problems in the private and the semi-private bathrooms. The 'hall bathroom' had a plastic wrapped very noisy bed.
The location was decent, walking distance to everything relevant. Not too dodgy area (there are very scary areas in Vancouver). Staff were helpful. Kitchen and laundry facilities were fine. Good views from the rooms up high (third floor room had views of some druggies in the alley though). I stayed here on 3 separate occasions so obviously would happily stay again.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hels_belsMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2008

We enjoyed our stay at the YWCA. We had a room with private bath, and it was cheaper than the other hotels I looked at, especially when I was able to use the student discount. Our room was up on one of higher floors and it was very quiet. The front desk staff is courteous and knowledgeable. The hotel is within walking distance of various neighborhoods, restaurants, bus routes, and a Skytrain stop. My only complaint is that the beds were a bit creaky, and the wi-fi is not complementary (you must pay extra). However, there is a lovely cafe close by (Cafe des Artes) with free wi-fi and nice breakfasts. Overall a good choice.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — wi-fi not free
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank djflowerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2008

Stayed here based on the reviews. It was easy to find, we caught the bus from the airport to Vancouver and walked to the YWCA. Were accosted for money en-route, but generally felt quite safe. Check-in was easy and security was good. The room was quite small and the bed uncomfortable, but it was clean and communal facilities looked good. There was a secure luggage store which we used after we checked out so we could explore the city without our luggage. There was also internet facilities which was useful.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — Uncomfortable bed
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lautin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,603 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YWCA Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YWCA Hotel Vancouver

Property: YWCA Hotel Vancouver
Address: 733 Beatty Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2M4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#16 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — YWCA Hotel Vancouver 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YWCA Hotel Vancouver offers a warm welcome to all travellers and is a comfortable, safe and affordable place to stay at the heart of downtown's arts and entertainment scene. All rooms are private and there’s a choice to suit your needs and budget - from single rooms to quints. The modern 155 room facility has air-conditioning, mini-fridges, telephones, TVs, guest area kitchens, wireless Internet access, laundry rooms, a coffee bar in our lobby and meeting rooms! The YWCA Hotel is just a stroll away from Robson Street, the city's shopping and restaurant mecca. Other nearby neighbourhoods worth exploring include Historic Gastown, Chinatown and trendy Yaletown. The YWCA Hotel was the recipient of the Best Bargain hotel in the 2009 TripAdvisor Travellers’ Choice Awards and recently received TripAdvisor 2011 Certificate of Excellence. Come and discover for yourself why YWCA Hotel is worth checking into! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your YWCA Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Ywca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing