We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff, a very good budget option in Vancouver”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #14 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a private room with its own bathroom for two nights. The room was spacious and clean. The hotel was in an excellent location, within walking distance to everything we wanted to see, and close to the central train station (where the SkyTrain stops). Every staff member we interacted with was super friendly and helpful.

There were only two minor quibbles: the shower was on the weak side and the wifi was painfully slow at times. Other than that, a fantastic stay and would definitely recommend.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank jupey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,093)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,536 - 1,542 of 2,095 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

Perfect accommodations for a large group of 17 violinists. Quints available and shared cooking facilities made our stay budget friendly. The front desk cheerfully assisted all of our needs. This is a return trip for our group and would stay here a third time. Location, access to public transportation and building security were tops.

Room Tip: Many sleeping/bathroom options available: be sure to inquire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneeseV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Booked for 3 nights with student discount on Canada day. The hotel stuff was extremely friendly and pointed out the place for viewing firework. The room was clean and efficient. Air conditioning worked just fine but was a bit noisy so we turned it on during day time when we were out and came back cool. No meal was included but there were kitchen on different floors and the amenities were good and clean. This is actually the first review I border to write because I feel like more people need to know this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chewy892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

In a city where accommodation can be expensive the YWCA offers modern facilities at a reasonable price. Front desk service is very helpful-going the extra mile to look after valuables for us and providing useful information about local eateries. Rooms are modern and well laid out witha walk in shower on offer instead of a shower over bath which can be less easy to use.Coffee and tea in the room were however not provided, rather unusual in our experience but could be bought in the foyer at a cafe. Fid location the YWCA is just off Robson near the Sports stadium so about 10 minutes to Gastown/Chinatown and 10 mins to the main shops. Lots of choices for eating are round the corner so no problems there. As a stayover in Vancouver its well worth cinsidering with rates better if you deal with them directly.They have the facilty of free access to a swimming pool and sauna a few blocks away too which ia a bonus

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 611sunseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Last minute concert tickets had me scrambling to find a room downtown on short notice. Everything was booked. Never would I have considered YWCA as an option otherwise. I was not sure what I was getting us into...
The Good
Seriously an amazing location for events downtown. BC Place across the street, Rogers Arena 5 min walk. Parking was inexpensive at $13/nt. Staff were exceedingly friendly and helpful! Bedding was fantastic quality and beds were comfy.
The Bad
Very institutional like feel in the room. Nasty dirty carpet, hairy on the edges. Hospital like bathroom (private). Window faced a concrete wall. Price of $185 total seemed high. I can usually get much better deals on Hotwire when looking in advance. I would not choose YWCA if there were other nearby options such as Sandman available.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnowySunsets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yhotel, Director of Sales at YWCA Hotel Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Dear SnowySunsets, thank you for taking the time to review us, and I am sorry that your stay with us did not meet your needs. Being a not for profit organization, we do our best to offer reasonable rates to all travellers at all times, but in doing so, we are often unable to compete with those properties that can deep discount some of their rates in this current economic times.

Your other issues concern us. Our hotel continues to receive positive feedbacks from guests and your concerns are the opposite to any experience our guests had. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss the issues. Please contact Barbara Lane, our Associate Director at 1 800 663 1424 to discuss them. Sincerely, Arden Sutherland, Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I've stayed here several times and had consistently good experience. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the location is central, and the facilities more than adequate. And the price is unbeatable, especially for downtown Vancouver.

Room Tip: Save $ and get a room without a bathroom. Shared bathrooms are convenient and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Finding the YWCA was a life saver for me: I needed a place downtown with reasonable rates. My room was on an upper floor, immaculately clean with a nice bathroom containing the toiletries shown in the photos on this site. There was a lovely soaking tub/shower combination. Everything is very modern and nice here, and security is excellent: your key comes with a magnetic tag that you use in the elevator in order to get the elevator to move, so people can't just come in off the street and ride the elevator up. As a woman travelling alone, I felt more than safe. You can go to any floor you like, so the kitchens, laundry, and hall bathrooms (if you do not have an ensuite) on any floor are available. These are modern, upgraded facilities (washers and dryers are clean and in good operating condition; common spaces such as kitchens as clean and spacious). The YWCA is in a great location, as others have written. There is a coffee shop on the ground floor, but there is also a Waves coffee shop one block over on Robson, a Starbucks several blocks up from that, and, since it was summer, a nice cafe outdoors at the public library. There are so many restaurants and take out places close by that you will find just about anything you like. 24/7 Tim Horton's is also on Robson. There is also an IGA supermarket a few blocks away with an excellent selection of foods. There was a fridge in my room, so buying and keeping groceries is not a problem. The front desk was very helpful when I needed directions or just had a question.

I considered a room without an ensuite, but then before I arrived, decided to upgrade to one with an ensuite. So I have never experienced the type of washroom shared between rooms, but now would not hesistate to book a room where one uses the hall bathrooms. These are completely private, that is, not "stall" style, and if you need to use one on a different floor, you can. I can see where the rooms that share one bathroom between them (there is a locking mechanism: see other reviews) would be good for a larger group traveling together or for a larger family if they took the two rooms sharing the bathroom. It's a hostel and a hotel, and this is just, hands down, a great option in Vancouver. Pick the option that is right for you. People from all over, all sorts of travellers and ages, were staying here, so don't shy away. The business traveller, families, retired folk, backpackers, and solo travellers can all be very happy here.

Room Tip: Read the other reviews; I was high up and had a view, but this happened by chance. Ask quesitons whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2cats4tea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,786 reviews
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#57 of 92 in Vancouver
428 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#38 of 92 in Vancouver
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,563 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#51 of 92 in Vancouver
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YWCA Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YWCA Hotel Vancouver

Address: 733 Beatty St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2M4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#13 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $76 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — YWCA Hotel Vancouver 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YWCA Hotel Vancouver offers a warm welcome to all travellers and is a comfortable, safe and affordable place to stay at the heart of downtown's arts and entertainment scene. All rooms are private and there’s a choice to suit your needs and budget - from single rooms to quints. The modern 155 room facility has air-conditioning, mini-fridges, telephones, TVs, guest area kitchens, wireless Internet access, laundry rooms, a coffee bar in our lobby and meeting rooms! The YWCA Hotel is just a stroll away from Robson Street, the city's shopping and restaurant mecca. Other nearby neighbourhoods worth exploring include Historic Gastown, Chinatown and trendy Yaletown. The YWCA Hotel was the recipient of the Best Bargain hotel in the 2009 TripAdvisor Travellers’ Choice Awards and recently received TripAdvisor 2011 Certificate of Excellence. Come and discover for yourself why YWCA Hotel is worth checking into! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your YWCA Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Ywca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing