We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Comfort, Fantastic Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have stayed at this budget friendly hotel several times in the past, both with family and for business meetings in downtown Vancouver. My daughter and I had the pleasure of returning to this clean, comfortable hotel again in the last week of January 2013. We have never been disappointed with either our rooms or the lovely staff.

Location:
The hotel is in a great location in downtown Vancouver, a few steps to BC Place and a very short (2 min) walk to Rogers Arena (which was visible from our hotel room window). False Creek Ferries pick up at the Yaletown dock, which is a 5 minute walk down Beatty Street from the hotel - great for crossing over to Science World or Granville Island as well as several other major attractions/destinations. There is no restaurant in the hotel but Moxie's is just around the corner and there is a Ricky's family restaurant a block away.They have a little cafe just off the lobby where you can get your morning latte and a snack. There are several other restaurants/cafes within easy walking distance of the hotel.

Room:
This time we booked the double/double room with a private bathroom. We arrived early (1pm) and were fortunate to be able to check in right away as there was a room available. The room was tidy and basic, (main floor area is about 14ft x 14ft) with dated but clean floral bedspreads and a good sized flat screen tv. The double beds are a bit on the firm side, perfect for me and anyone else with a bad back! The pillows are quite skimpy, so if you have neck problems you might wants to bring your own, or double them up (I put a rolled bath towel under mine for extra neck support - worked great). There is a complimentary hair dryer and a small fridge which we stocked with our own snacks. The bathroom has a simple stand up shower stall and toilet, and the sink is located outside the bathroom - a bonus with two women getting ready - one can shower while the other is doing hair/makeup etc. Very handy.

Parking:
Parking was available for $13 a day in a gated underground garage. We parked our SUV and walked and used public transport to get around town. On check out day the lot was not full so the very accommodating staff allowed us to keep our car there while we spent a few more hours exploring the city on foot.

In General: This is a fantastic little budget hotel in a great location. It's clean and comfortable, the staff are first rate, friendly, helpful and accommodating. We have recommended the YWCA to dozens of our friends, family members, and colleagues and none have ever been disappointed. It's perfectly located if you are attending an event at either Rogers Arena or BC Place. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We have found all the rooms we've stayed in to be reasonably quiet. This hotel has shared bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lex333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,044)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,585 - 1,591 of 2,044 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. It has a great location. Close to almost everything in downtown Vancouver. Cons: paid 6cad for an average speed internet which I think is too much. The room was very small and the shower is a funny one. Noisy shower and the water does not even flow well.

Thank felixausbasel
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Perfect for our stay because we were out and about everyday. The room was clean and modern and had a great view of BC stadium's beautiful blue lights at night. The TV in front of our bed was perfect for relaxing after a busy day. The staff were very helpful and did everything they could to accommodate us. The location was perfect and handy in downtown Vancouver. It was an easy train ride from and to the airport (Waterfront then transfer to Millenium/Expo line to Chinatown-Stadium). The shared kitchens were useful. If you're a sensitive sleeper (to sound and temperature) you may find it hard to sleep with the heat turning on and off. I'm not, so all was good. The room was small but just what we needed. If you're staying more than a week it might get too small. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Cate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

When in Vancouver this is the place to stay if you value your money but still want to stay in a safe and clean place which is close to everything. We always come back to this hotel and we are always satisfied with our stay. With three adults travelling together is not very easy to find a place that offer a room where all of us will get our own bed, but that is not a problem in this hotel. We love that you can use the laundry and the kitchen whenever needed. The receptionists are always very nice and helpful. There is walking distance to the city centre (takes about 5–10 minutes). Close to a supermarket and a Sky Train station (also takes about 5-10 minutes). There are several good restaurants and fast food places nearby. Why stay somewhere else when this place got all you need? Would be nice if they did not charge for internet though...

Room Tip: The higher up the better. You get better views and you get away from the noice from the street. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Isgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I am an older female solo traveller and stayed several days at the start and end of my Canada holiday. This hotel was great value.
My room was quite adequate and comfortable. Shared bathroom with adjacent room - worked well. I cooked most of my evening meals in the kitchen on alternate floor - box of crockery, cutlery and cooking utensils supplied. Used internet access computers in the lobby but found the free computer use at the wonderful Vancouver Library a block away was a pleasure.
I felt very safe at the hotel, and walking around the district during the day and early evenings. Public transport excellent. Walking distance to downtown Vancouver, Chinatown, Robson Street, False Creek with its beautiful little water ferries. I hired a bicycle nearby and rode to Stanley Park along the waterfront trail.
If you are the slightest bit independent, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

It was great. Room was very clean, not cramped. NIce mini fridge, big t.v., comfy bed and not stuffy. Price was great. Staff very friendly and helpful. Cheap overnight gated parking garage. If you want fancy, or a great view find somewhere else. It had everything we need. It was like finding a diamond in the rough.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathy8992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

If you`re heading to Vancouver then this hotel comes highly recommended by my wife and I. Situated on Beatty and just 5mins walk from the Canucks Rogers arena and BC Place the YWCA is a cheap, clean and safe base to explore this city from.
You can book rooms for a day or a month at a great rate. Lots of rooming options available and you have access to a shared kitchen area if you want to save money and eat in.
Its central to down town, a few skytrain stops from the bus/train station and an ideal location to explore the jewel of British Columbia from.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,529 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,952 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,760 reviews
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#56 of 92 in Vancouver
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YWCA Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YWCA Hotel Vancouver

Address: 733 Beatty St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2M4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#16 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $78 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — YWCA Hotel Vancouver 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YWCA Hotel Vancouver offers a warm welcome to all travellers and is a comfortable, safe and affordable place to stay at the heart of downtown's arts and entertainment scene. All rooms are private and there’s a choice to suit your needs and budget - from single rooms to quints. The modern 155 room facility has air-conditioning, mini-fridges, telephones, TVs, guest area kitchens, wireless Internet access, laundry rooms, a coffee bar in our lobby and meeting rooms! The YWCA Hotel is just a stroll away from Robson Street, the city's shopping and restaurant mecca. Other nearby neighbourhoods worth exploring include Historic Gastown, Chinatown and trendy Yaletown. The YWCA Hotel was the recipient of the Best Bargain hotel in the 2009 TripAdvisor Travellers’ Choice Awards and recently received TripAdvisor 2011 Certificate of Excellence. Come and discover for yourself why YWCA Hotel is worth checking into! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your YWCA Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Ywca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing